We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, volatile service, average interior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ginger Lily Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent location, volatile service, average interior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Located minutes walk from main night life of the area. Rooms are spacious but outdated furniture and decor. If your sleep is sensitive to light, you will need eye mask as high ceilings on the top floor have roof windows with no blinds - 5am wake-up guaranteed!
HAs fan and AC. However, impossible to get temperature below +18C.
Showers, no bathtubs. You are in a 2 minutes walk to the beach.
Has a limit internal yard parking space for your car.
Has a safe-box, but you will need to find your own lock - see the posted photos to give you the idea why.
Younger staff's answer to everything was "i don't know", whereas more experienced staff were very helpful.
We stayed for two nights - hotel decided not to clean the room in between, saying they could not find the keys. Labour optimisation?
Overall, was ok as sleep pad between day and night outings.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage make sure to ask for the ground floor room as no bell boy service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    90
    23
    7
    10
See reviews for
36
132
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and we feel that we couldn't have chosen a better place. Our A/C was broken on arrival so it was pretty uncomfortable the first night but it was fixed the next day. The main desk clerk (the older middle-aged woman) was very hospitable and she always greeted us with a smile. (The other younger desk clerks weren't as pleasant or helpful.) The room was clean, spacious, and elegant. The hotel property was in great condition and always kept clean. The best part was that we were right across the street to the beach and walking distance to many great restaurants in Rodney Bay :). Make sure to go to these restaurants: Trios, Lime, and Hi Tide. Their english breakfast was also super delicious! Thanks Ginger Lily!

Room Tip: Ask for The Rose room. It's on 2nd floor so you get the high ceiling and offers more privacy as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColeValleyNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just stayed 4nights here and it is a lovely, quiet and nice hotel. The staff and the owners are very kind. They always had a smile on their face and asked us if we where ok. We had nothing to complain about, but a good hint is to upgrade the wi-fi, it gave some trouble in the room. But then again, there is no reason to complain, nobody really need Internet on vacation. Then you better stay at your home :-) so thank you for having us, hope to see you again. All the best to you all

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Morten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glstlucia, Owner at The Ginger Lily Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to report that since your stay we have fully upgraded the hotel's wifi system, providing a string throughout.
So now you just have to resist the urge to your check you work email while you stay with us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Upon our arrival we were given a room that was satisfactory in appearance except that when I took a shower there was no way to completely turn the water off. We immediately reported the continual leak and were moved to another room.

We left for lunch and visited the nearby beach. Upon our arrival I took a quick shower to rinse the sea salt off but my wife decided to take a quick nap. During her nap I went to a nearby bar and when I returned I was told that there was no water. While all nearby establishments seemed to continue serving customers without a hitch, the Ginger Lily hotel told us that they did not have their water tank connected and as such they were trying to find a plumber. There was absolutely no urgency in their response and in fact the owners by and large lounged poolside all day. They were lounging by the pool when we arrived and continued to relax for the remainder of the day despite this water shortage.

My wife is originally from St. Lucia and knows that it is customary that hotels are seldom affected by water shortages for a couple of reasons. First, virtually all businesses utilize water tanks which are attached to their plumbing system to accommodate the occasional water shortage. Second, the water authority goes to great pains to give establishments hours and sometimes days of advanced notice of a water shortage, even sending trucks of water directly to hotels so that the local tourism industry is not hampered by water outages. This therefore makes the idea of a hotel in the tourist centric, suburban, north of the island utterly absurd.

Despite this unacceptable situation, my wife attempted to rinse off in the drips of water that still trickled out of the shower head; we got dressed and went out for dinner. When we returned after 11p.m. that evening we were met with an asleep security guard (photo enclosed) who upon being roused offered us each a gallon of bottled water to use for baths and drink. We were both aghast. Every St. Lucian that we have shared this story with has laughed in disbelief at the “accommodations” that we received. My wife was born and raised on the island and never experienced having to bathe out of a cup and sit in a room with unflushed feces and certainly did not expect to have that experience on vacation. Moreover, we certainly expected that the hotel management would at least find a way to compensate us for our inconvenience. Instead the owner told a sloppy lie about the impending arrival of an imaginary large wedding party and no attempt was made to offer even a partial refund. The hotel clerk told me that they were only human and that my St. Lucian wife should understand this situation. Well she does not and neither do I. The laissez- faire attitude of the staff, the failure to be proactive in planning for water shortages, the complete lack of urgency to find a plumber and the complete refusal to compensate us for the inconvenience were baffling.

Upon our departure the desk clerk told my wife that a member of the “wedding party” was on standby and that if a room opened up she would call us. Well not only did that never happen but when we called from the contact number that we provided for them, they refused to answer the phone. We called from my mother in law’s cell phone and immediately received and answer and upon inquiring about roomavailability we were told that there were plenty of vacant rooms.

We are contacting Expedia to receive a full refund. Lack of access to water in the absence of any unexpected natural disaster is totally unacceptable and completely unsanitary. I don’t expect to book a 4.5 star hotel on Expedia and end up staying at an establishment with no running water and shoddy night time security that is literally asleep at the switch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DeShawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glstlucia, Manager at The Ginger Lily Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
The management, the staff and myself pride ourselves on our reputation. We therefore have to respond to this very unfair review.
During the time in question we were struck with some bad luck. The pump of our back up water reservoir broke down at the same as the St Lucian Water Company cut the water for maintenance.
This guest was only inconvenienced for just two hours while our plumber went to purchased a new part.
We provided him and all guests with large bottled waters during this time to allow them to brush teeth, wash face etc.
Upon check out the guest demanded that we compensated him for another complimentary night's stay just for being inconvenienced for those 2 hours.

What we are puzzled by is, if the guest had such a terrible time as they calmed to have had, why would they continue to telephone the next day enquiring about further availability?

In response to the security guard sleeping, we are presently in negotiations with a new Security company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tola
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Don't even know how to start this review, but i am going to start from the flight to st lucia wow!!!.
we landed, our flight was wonderful. We were greeted by our taxi driver to take us to the GINGER LILLY HOTEL with a grate porsonality he said welcome to st lucia the place were couples can ejoyed the world just by him saying that it made our trip wonderful.

THE HOTEL
the hotel is a lovely place the rooms are loverly, well clean. nice size, everthing worked at the time we were there. The only problem we had was the staff they dont seem to care much we stay in room 11 dowstairs orchid i think the room was call ps the garden and the pool is very lovely

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Would definitely recommend this place for others to stay. Very clean rooms and lovely pool area to sit and relax . Staff were very helpful to our family and made stay enjoyable . Our only suggestion would be to have a more active bar and maybe snacks during the day whilst sitting around the pool. Apart from these points, we really had a lovely stay at Ginger Lily!!!! And I'm sure you won't be disappointed it beats all the naff resorts and the beach is only across the street 2 mins away. Happy Hoildays !!!!

Room Tip: Have two rooms if you are family of four as the sofa bed in rooms 10 & 11 will probably be insuf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simplicity4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Pros: The rooms are very basic but large. Beds could be larger. They are clean and the showers have very good water pressure. We stayed in an upstairs room with a balcony with a hammock which we enjoyed very much. You are right across the street from the beach and walking distance to everywhere in Rodney bay. The ginger lily cats are adorable. The owner is terrific.

Cons: The service was horrific. Everyone in St. Lucia is so nice and friendly but somehow this hotel has found the only women in the whole island who are rude to be their reception desk/ general managers. The women who worked there (two that we saw) acted like every request was an annoyance (sighs and rolling eyes). I didn't ask for much... a corkscrew one night and a few taxis to be called. I was told there was no corkscrew until I saw the (very nice, personable, and helpful) owner enjoying a bottle of wine by the pool. We talked to him and had a corkscrew in under 5 minutes brought up by the reception woman. Not a big deal but annoying. The other con is the air conditioners. They are tiny and barely work. We were there in early march and although the room was cooler than outside, it was still uncomfortably hot. We addressed this with the front desk as women as well who told us there was nothing wrong and "we could leave if we wanted but we wouldn't get our money back." Who mentioned anything about leaving!? I generally don't care about service, but the treatment by the front desk staff here was unacceptable. Also, the room safes could use updating to modern hotel safes. I didn't feel completely okay leaving my valuables in them.

Overall, this place is very decent and priced right but it could be so much better with a staff that cares about the people staying there. It really is a shame because the owner is really nice and helpful. I am sure there are many other young ladies in St. Lucia who would be happy to provide efficient and friendly customer service. Until that time I would not return or and I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miranda32185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glstlucia, Public Relations Manager at The Ginger Lily Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
We appreciate and are grateful for any feedback whether good or bad from our guests to help us improve our hotel as best we can.

We were very sorry to hear about this incident and consequently, have amicably parted company with the particular staff member now.

On a side note, the owners have been staying at the hotel for a number of weeks ,which they do every 3 months or so. This enables them to ensure that the hotel is maintained to the highest possible standard and all rooms are checked and updated accordingly on a regular basis/as they see fit.

Thank you


We are very pleased to see so many great reviews of our hotel on TripAdvisor and hope to continue this trend, whilst dealing with the occasional issue as it arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#7 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
9.0 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
2.0 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ginger Lily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ginger Lily Hotel

Property: The Ginger Lily Hotel
Address: Rodney Bay | P.O. Box cp 6013, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ginger Lily Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel cushions the seafront of one of the island's most exotic beaches, Reduit Beach located within Rodney Bay Village. The hotel comprises of eleven luxury rooms. Four superior deluxe, four sea view rooms and three executive suites. Each are superbly furnished with fridge, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, ceiling fan and wall-to-wall shower, queen and sofa bed, clock radio and an in room safe. The executive rooms are fully furnished with separate dining and kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ginger Lily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Lily Hotel
Ginger Lily Gros Islet
The Ginger Lily Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing