We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomidations with great location but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ginger Lily Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Pros: The rooms are very basic but large. Beds could be larger. They are clean and the showers have very good water pressure. We stayed in an upstairs room with a balcony with a hammock which we enjoyed very much. You are right across the street from the beach and walking distance to everywhere in Rodney bay. The ginger lily cats are adorable. The owner is terrific.

Cons: The service was horrific. Everyone in St. Lucia is so nice and friendly but somehow this hotel has found the only women in the whole island who are rude to be their reception desk/ general managers. The women who worked there (two that we saw) acted like every request was an annoyance (sighs and rolling eyes). I didn't ask for much... a corkscrew one night and a few taxis to be called. I was told there was no corkscrew until I saw the (very nice, personable, and helpful) owner enjoying a bottle of wine by the pool. We talked to him and had a corkscrew in under 5 minutes brought up by the reception woman. Not a big deal but annoying. The other con is the air conditioners. They are tiny and barely work. We were there in early march and although the room was cooler than outside, it was still uncomfortably hot. We addressed this with the front desk as women as well who told us there was nothing wrong and "we could leave if we wanted but we wouldn't get our money back." Who mentioned anything about leaving!? I generally don't care about service, but the treatment by the front desk staff here was unacceptable. Also, the room safes could use updating to modern hotel safes. I didn't feel completely okay leaving my valuables in them.

Overall, this place is very decent and priced right but it could be so much better with a staff that cares about the people staying there. It really is a shame because the owner is really nice and helpful. I am sure there are many other young ladies in St. Lucia who would be happy to provide efficient and friendly customer service. Until that time I would not return or and I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miranda32185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glstlucia, Public Relations Manager at The Ginger Lily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

We appreciate and are grateful for any feedback whether good or bad from our guests to help us improve our hotel as best we can.

We were very sorry to hear about this incident and consequently, have amicably parted company with the particular staff member now.

On a side note, the owners have been staying at the hotel for a number of weeks ,which they do every 3 months or so. This enables them to ensure that the hotel is maintained to the highest possible standard and all rooms are checked and updated accordingly on a regular basis/as they see fit.

Thank you


We are very pleased to see so many great reviews of our hotel on TripAdvisor and hope to continue this trend, whilst dealing with the occasional issue as it arises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for The Ginger Lily Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 252 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

I haven't reviewed the Ginger Lily before because I wanted to keep this little gem to ourselves - but I guess the secret is out!
My wife & I have stayed at the Ginger Lily on 7 different ocasions over the last 10 years.
We have never had anything to complain about.
The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean and extremely well maintained and is situated in the quieter end of Rodney Bay.
The staff are friendly & fun.
This really is a great place to relax.
Over the years we have done the various trips and enjoyed them all except the rainforest cable car ride. This was tediously boring as you see just about as much as you do on the taxi ride from the airport. It was also expensive at £110 for the 2 of us.
They wax lyrical about watching the wild life from the cable car and we saw one solitary humming bird and that was it.
You will see & enjoy much more bird life from the balcony of your room at the Ginfer Lily .
Others have mentioned problems with mosquitoes. Well this is the Carribean and the Carribean has mosqitoes. They have not been a problem for us. We use insect repellent for our skin and fly spray in the room before going to bed.
If you want a great relaxing holiday in St.Lucia without breaking the bank the Ginger Lily is tops.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pip268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Have just returned from two weeks at the Ginger Lily Hotel in Feb 2012. This is not our first stay at the hotel and it will not be our last. Hotel is ideally situated on the Rodney Bay strip, far enough from the noise, but near enough to everything.

The rooms are spacious, bathrooms are large with walk-in showers, and each room has a bar fridge and sink. If you are looking for all inclusive - go elsewhere, this is a small, peaceful hotel, with very well maintained grounds, and staff who care about the guests.

The Hotel is across the street from Reduit Beach and Spinnakers restaurant, while you can watch fantastic sunsets, we know, we have watched many.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineStR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Ginger Lily in Feb 2012. It is a small oasis of calm in the heart of the busy Rodney Bay strip. Across the road from a great beach and an excellent beach bar, there are dozens of restaurants within easy walking distance, and also a shopping mall, bank etc within easy reach. Don't come here if you are looking for a hotel with a wide range of facilities, a restaurant and in-house entertainment, or a sea view. Do come if you want peace and quiet, a homely atmosphere, and a comfortable base from which to enjoy the attractions of St Lucia. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable, although some of the furnishings were showing signs of wear and tear, and we shared the room with plenty of mosquitoes. Our main disappointment was the breakfast - which was neither good, nor good value for money. Very few guests seemed to have the hotel breakfast while we were there - there are plenty of other cheaper and better options nearby, or as rooms have kitchen facilities, we could make our own. Over all, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 10 and 11 which are at the front of the hotel, on the road side.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hmsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the Ginger Lily in May '11 and overall, we had a wonderful time. Upon arrival, we had to ask to change our room due to the fact that there was no hot water and the air conditioning wasn't working. However, we were given a much better room the following morning with high ceilings, a lovely balcony with hammock, a four poster bed and huge shower room.

The hotel was practically empty and so we had the pool to ourselves. The hotel was very clean. The only noises that disturbed our sleep were the occasional monsoon-like downpours and the rather excitable wildlife who live in the surrounding areas! Not a problem for us at all.

Location wise, this hotel was perfect. It's just across the road from Reduit Beach which was beautiful. It's situated at the end of a road which has numerous restaurants and supermarkets all within easy walking distance.

However, we found the staff to be a little disinterested and aloof. Requests for more towels and other sundries were not dealt with as quickly as we would have liked.

One of our biggest bugbears was the inadequate mosquito net that only covered part of our bed! We were eaten alive at night! You MUST bring mosquito repellent.

All in all, a wonderful holiday and we would stay again if we return to St. Lucia.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emeron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Ginger Lily at the beginning of 2012 and we really enjoyed it. The hotel was quiet and peaceful and had a great location close to the beach, and the restaurants and shopping in Rodney Bay.

If you do stay there be prepared to be on your own if your planning any activities, the staff will help you with calling a taxi, but that is about it.

On nights that it rained, which was pretty much every night, I usually woke up from the noise on the roof, but all in all I enjoyed it, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for a week in mid November 2011 and we had no complaints whatsoever.
It had a brilliant location just across from the best beach in the island and Spinnakers beach bar was tremendous.
Beach chairs, etc were numerous.
The hotel had very large rooms and enormous bathroom and shower.
Shampoo & gel were provided.
Great views from upstairs room balconies with good outdoor furnishings.
The room & hotel were both very quiet with no noise from the road or nearby bars, etc.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanhstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
471 reviews
9.0 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.2 mi away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ginger Lily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ginger Lily Hotel

Address: Rodney Bay | P.O. Box cp 6013, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $115 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ginger Lily Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel cushions the seafront of one of the island's most exotic beaches, Reduit Beach located within Rodney Bay Village. The hotel comprises of eleven luxury rooms. Four superior deluxe, four sea view rooms and three executive suites. Each are superbly furnished with fridge, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, ceiling fan and wall-to-wall shower, queen and sofa bed, clock radio and an in room safe. The executive rooms are fully furnished with separate dining and kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ginger Lily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Lily Hotel
Ginger Lily Gros Islet
The Ginger Lily Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing