We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst trip of my Life”
Review of Gateway Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gateway Villas
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I was one the family members along with my teenage daughter who stayed at the Gateway Villa Maja MC#5. When we arrived at the Villa, we were greeted by the CLEANING LADY who told us the alarm DID NOT WORK. The next day we were ROBBED. Before we left the villa that night, we made sure all the doors were locked. After management arrived, we were informed that the alarm did work and was given a remote that operated the gate outside. 1 - Why were we greeted by the cleaning lady who was no where to be found when the police and her employer tried to contract her. 2 - Why didn't they give us the remote to the gate when we arrived. The next day the other Villa owned by Gateway around the corner from us that our family was staying in was ROBBED. My nephew walked in on a man wearing a mask. They had their alarm set and gate locked. IT WAS AN INSIDE JOB.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayVillas, General Manager at Gateway Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2010

Dear Etine4,
We can assure you that this incident has really brought ALOT to light. Again, we are apologizing immensely about the incident. As we've stated before in our letter to one of your family members, 'sadly, nothing we do can reverse this'. There are a few incorrect details in your review, but nonetheless alot of drastic measures have been implemented. The employee you are referring to was at the hospital at the time and proved difficult to reach. That does not mean that she should be held liable for the incident. The alarm company indicated that their system proved the alarm was not set. When an alarm is set and unset by anyone, this detail information is recorded at the alarm company. To eliminate uncertainty in this area, the alarm company now calls our guests directly after a certain time to ensure that the appropriate procedure is followed. More than careful instructions are demonstrated on making sure windows and doors are locked properly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

I was one of the victims robbed in St. Lucia. The manager wrote "the doors and windows were left unlocked". She goes on to say, "the family just wanted to relocate to another hotel". The implication is that noting happened, the family just wanted to relocate and if something did happened, it was the families fault because the doors and windows were left unlocked. Thank you for that professional assessment. If I was reading reviews on this business to determine if I was going to stay with them, let me tell you I would not think twice about this Villa. Do you really think it's "OK" to be robbed because the doors and windows were unlocked? How do you know the doors and windows were unlocked? These are just a few questions I would be asking as I read the Managers response to the many post on this matter.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hurtinstlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayVillas, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Hello,
Alot of anger has been expressed. And once again we wish we can turn back the time on this incident. What has come to light is the fact that the beachfront three bedroom with pool is no longer on our management portfolio since we believe after your incident, this property was in too much of a remote location. We thank you for enabling us to restructure our portfolio of properties to better serve our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I had a horrible experience at this villa and the other villa my family stayed in. Besides the fact that both of our villas was robbed in back to back days but there was numerous things not working most importantly the alarm, air, telephones. Eventhough we had a 6' high gate in front of the house the staff could still walk from the yard next door right into our villa. The manager and staff wasnt much help and the director of the premises wasnt nowhere to be found thru this whole 2 day diaster. I will never i repeat never recommend staying at any of there properties

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank secondtonone24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayVillas, Owner at Gateway Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2010

We have NEVER had any incidences such as these. The family is also taking the opportunity to exaggerate on this situation. The properties are of 5 star finish quality and every facility was working. Not telling the truth tells people the kind of character people are. Though we may not be entirely capable of controlling such incidences, we need to add here that windows and doors were left open while the guests were out!!! The alarm was working but was never set by the family. Our staff offered great empathy and comfort to the guests well into the wee hours of the morning. We have had guests in those villas since and have not had any incidences. We feel the guests wanted to transfer their holiday to another resort and were not sure how to go about doing this without losing their deposits. They were rewarded nonetheless, we value our reputation. In as much as we aim to set a high standard of service, this incident was well beyond our control, but was handled skillfully by management. At the same time, if we lived in a safe world, hotel rooms and accommodations would be door less and window less.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This place is the spot to be at.The room was very clean and the staff were very courteous and helpful.Visited st.lucia for the carnival which was great.The people on the island are very friendly.Furthermore this place is just mins away from the beach,clubs and hot spots in the country. Will come back next year for sure.Great job guys!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo2498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Caribbean is just great - GATEWAY VILLAS have always looked after me and the family brilliantly, I love the random roads that sometimes have the odd pothole and the fact that the locals are friendly - quite frankly a breath of fresh air compared to the fast paced city life. Gateway surpassed all my expectations and the staff are always ready to help, making the holiday relaxed and stress free.

St. Lucia is second to none for the environment, it really is simply beautiful and I would recommend staying at Gateway as you get to experience the REAL St. Lucian life, away from the main drag and hustle and bustle. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My wife and i stayed at Gateway villas and we had a great time. Staff members we very helpful and made our stay very pleasant.
They were very specific about being safe in a foreign country and gave great tips on great party spots.

All in all our stay was one to remember and we will recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian-Cayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I stayed at one of the smaller villas at Gatepark, from my pick up at the airport to my check out was the best . Johnson the taxi driver was more than helpful on our way down, i had to double check that he was not a tour guide and a taxi driver. I got in a bit late and was greeted by Cheli who was more than nice. Anytime i needed something i called the office and the staff were very helpful . I would definitely recommend Gateway Villas to my friends and spread the word around.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gros Islet hotels
0.0 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
944 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
0.0 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
864 reviews
0.0 mi away
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
#1 of 18 in Gros Islet
608 reviews
0.0 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Villas

Address: Cap Estate | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range: $45 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 7 acre of tranquil, prime property is to the north of the island in a hotel residential area called Cap Estate. 5 minutes drive away is Rodney Bay, the real life of the north. Gateway Villas, gatepark hosts studio apartments, one, two and three bedroom villas with plunge pools. A mile long beach is 2 minutes drive away, we offer great deals on villas with jeep specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Villas Hotel Gros Islet
Gateway Villas St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing