We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent way to see the island and unusual”
Review of Jus' Sail

Jus' Sail
Book In Advance
More Info
$185.00*
and up
St Lucia Half-Day Sailing Charter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For those seeking a more intimate sailing and yacht charter experience, away from the hustle and bustle of larger boat tours Jus' Sail offers the very best laidback Caribbean Sailing along the stunning St Lucia coast aboard ~ Good Expectation ~ a lovingly restored wooden Carriacou Sloop, the traditional trading vessel of the West Indies with a cultural heritage dating back over 175 years. Learn to sail, chill out on our wide open decks lounging in oversized beanbags whilst the wind carries us along under sail, snuggle up on a romantic sunset cruise, or explore out of the way coral reefs & deserted beaches, Jus' Sail guarantee a fabulous sailing experience. Small groups & private sailing charters available.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A group of six of us hired Jus Sail on Wednesday 22 January. On board were James and Pepsi, the owners, and O’Brien, one of their recently-graduated trainees from their Sailing School. The yacht was lovely and very special. Sailing it was like sailing a very large dinghy with a tiller rather than a wheel. The boat had canvas sails and was very comfortable on board.

From the jetty in Rodney Bay, it is very easy to get on and off as the decking is practically level with that of the jetty, just a step-over. This is easier than your average yacht!

Hospitality was excellent with Pepsi keeping us supplied with drinks ranging from water, natural coconut water, beer, rum punch and snacks throughout the day. Lunch was very fresh and delicious. Wine was served as an option with lunch. Pepsi refused to give me the recipe for her salad dressing (boo!) The rum punch was excellent, although I prefer more nutmeg !)

The boat was kept very tidy with baskets for everything, from one to put shoes in, one for sunglasses, cream etc, some for food. Bags were kept below deck but Pepsi would fetch everything you needed. Shade was provided by the cover at the stern of the boat and the seating was clever. There was room for our four friends in the stern lwho were looking very comfortable on the sofa. The chairs were clever in that they had spring-up backs which supported the back. James kept a watchful eye on the helming of the guests and gave gentle guidance to both the guests and O’Brien when required. My husband had a ball helping to crew and, for once, we got a proper safety briefing prior to setting sail. We sailed rather than motored as much as possible and the boat was beautiful to handle.

James and Pepsi and O’Brien are all very knowledgeable both about the boat and St Lucia’s history, past and present. They are very dedicated to environmental protection and this extends to the way various things on the boat are handled. We dropped off at Anse Cochon for snorkeling. My only caveat is the steep (for me) ladder at the side which one has to climb up after snorkeling. I am not that fit and had two attempts. James and O’Brien were on hand to help me on the final stage of the “ascent” and, after that, no problems.

We had great weather, a mixture of sunshine and wind, around force 4-5/6 which got the boat moving nicely. We got back to Pigeon Island just in time for a great sunset at which point, shots of Admiral Rodney rum and black cake was served. Delicious!

Hiring Jus Sail is not that cheap, but I would highly recommend this day out as a relaxed and very interesting way to experience sailing in St Lucia. This day out is all about experiencing the boat rather than using it as a means to get somewhere. If all you care about is whooping down the coast as fast as possible and buzzing resorts and having an adrenalin shot, go for an operation like “Joe Knows” but for a true, classical and memorable sailing experience, - with speed dictated by the wind, this is hard to beat. I loved it!

Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribJDC, Owner at Jus' Sail, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear St Lucia Enthusiast! Wow thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your time aboard Good Expectation, we really appreciate any time taken to share us with Trip Advisor users, however, you have gone above and beyond with recounting such detail of your day. We are of course so happy that you had such a great time with us and as a regular visitor to the island we hope its not your one and only time out with us!
You will always be honourary shipmates with the Jus' Sail Crew!
Best wishes.
James, Pepsi and O'Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 237 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

About a week ago, I was in St Lucia with my Father and some friends on business. We had some free time and scheduled a full day of sailing with James at Jus' Sail. We had a great time on the island, but this trip was definitley the highlight for me. I don't know that I've ever been on a real sailing ship and thought that 8 hours might be a little too long. It turns out that I wish we had had more time. Our day was filled with snorkling, sight seeing, eating some delicious food and of course, sailing. The day ended with a perfect sunset and some rumcake. I would like to give a huge thank you to James, Pepsi and O'Brian for the perfect day at sea!

Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribJDC, Owner at Jus' Sail, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear David,
Thanks so much for taking time out to write us a review, we absolutely loved having your group aboard with us you were all so much fun and we felt that you all really made the most of every moment of the day, which ensured you got the most out of your time with us. Its easy for us when our guests are laidback and fun loving, so thanks again for coming out with us and being the perfect shipmates! If you ever come back to St Lucia we hope to welcome you aboard again...
Best wishes.
The Jus' Sail Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

When people love what they do, it is obvious. James and Pepsi clearly love what they do as it comes across in their gracious hospitality. While on board, you can get as involved as you like as James heads a tutoring program, teaching local youth how to sail. He's more than happy to teach you how to help or tell you the history of the Sloop. We choose to sit back, relax, and take in the amazing scenery over a few cocktails. The sailing was great- just a fantastic experience. We stopped off for a snorkle and to pactice our dives/cannonballs off the side of the boat. Pepsi, James, and crew just want to make sure you have a great time, which they definatly accomplished. The food that Pepsi prepared was 10 out of 10. This was our favorite experience while in St. Lucia. My wife and I could not recommend it enough- schedule it now.

Thank crc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribJDC, Owner at Jus' Sail, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear CRC123,
Thanks so much for taking time out to write us a review we really appreciate it! And thanks for bigging up Pepsi's food, she is very pleased that it was appreciated by you... We do hope to welcome you aboard again in the future should you ever return to St Lucia.
best wishes.
The Jus' Sail Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

While the weather in the a.m. wasn't the best, it's just sailin and yeah, you get wet!!! James and Pepsi and crew picked us up in Castries where our Seabourn Spirit was parked and took us down island to Soufriere and we had a great time. Some rain. Some heavy winds. But great island rum punch and delicious snacks and what a way to approach the Pitons!!!! Went up to a recommended restaurant for lunch and incredible views and the day was just idyllic. Thanks James and we happily give you 5 thumbs up :)

Thank ErnieB_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribJDC, Owner at Jus' Sail, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Ernie B,
Thank you so much for taking time out to write us a review, we really appreciate it. Yes the weather was not too kind to us that morning, but as you were on a cruise and only in for the day so we couldn't reschedule and you had bad weather all week your decision to go ahead with the charter and not to cancel did pay off in the end when the weather improved and we enjoyed the exhilarating sail in strong winds down the West Coast to Soufriere. It was a memorable day and your great humour and high spirits throughout made our jobs easy! If you ever come through St Lucia again we hope to welcome you aboard once more and will do our best to ensure the weather gods play their part too!
Thanks again.
The Jus' Sail Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

While we were in St. Lucia, a group of 4 of us decided take a short sailing adventure with Jus' Sail. it was a great time. James, the captain was great. He provide knowledge about sailing and also keep the food and drinks coming when needed. It was a very relaxing sail and we would definitely do it again. If you want a relaxing and personal sail this is it.

Thank jmancharlotte,nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribJDC, Owner at Jus' Sail, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time out to write us a review we REALLY appreciate it and do hope to welcome you aboard with us again in the future!
Best wishes.
The Jus' Sail Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jus' Sail also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Jus' Sail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing