We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful afternoon on the water”
Review of Jus' Sail

Jus' Sail
Book In Advance
More Info
$185.00*
and up
St Lucia Half-Day Sailing Charter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For those seeking a more intimate sailing and yacht charter experience, away from the hustle and bustle of larger boat tours Jus' Sail offers the very best laidback Caribbean Sailing along the stunning St Lucia coast aboard ~ Good Expectation ~ a lovingly restored wooden Carriacou Sloop, the traditional trading vessel of the West Indies with a cultural heritage dating back over 175 years. Learn to sail, chill out on our wide open decks lounging in oversized beanbags whilst the wind carries us along under sail, snuggle up on a romantic sunset cruise, or explore out of the way coral reefs & deserted beaches, Jus' Sail guarantee a fabulous sailing experience. Small groups & private sailing charters available.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time on the water, with James and Pepsi, in their beautiful traditional Caribbean sailing boat, which they have lovingly restored. They looked after us so well - there is definitely love and attention to detail in this business and it shows. Not only that, but their drive to maintain this aspect of Caribbean cultural heritage, to support local people in maintaining and developing traditional sailing skills, and do to it in an environmentally sensitive way, is truly infectious. Thank you for a fabulous afternoon.

Thank Emma2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribJDC, Owner at Jus' Sail, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Emma,
Thank you for your very positive review of your time with Jus' Sail, having such laidback and fun loving guests aboard makes our job so easy and pleasurable, we loved having you aboard with us and do hope that you come back to St Lucia again in the future and come aboard for some more sailing and chilling with the Jus' Sail Crew.
Thank you also for sharing your photos, they really help capture the essence of the afternoon on the water.
Thanks again.
James, Pepsi and Herbert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 219 of 237 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a wonderful afternoon on the water with James, Pepsi and Herbert and the gorgeous St Lucian sun/sunset. The boat is steeped in history and has been lovingly restored by the owners to it's former glory (probably better than it's former glory to be honest!) and it's fascinating to learn the history (if you choose).

We were fed and watered with a selection of delicious drinks and homemade food throughout the trip by Pepsi whilst James and Herbert took us down the coast to a lovely spot where we could cool off with a swim and a snorkel off the boat. The final cherry on the icing of our day was the trip back to the harbour where we were treated to the most amazing sunset, another cool Piton and a final treat (which I won't spoil for you)...

The final thing to mention is the social values that underpin this business. They have begun a program of training young locals in the art of sailing, boatmanship and personal development in order to provide the skills to help them develop and create a better life for themselves and their families. It was fascinating to hear their plans and I for one hope they succeed.

Thanks for the best days sailing ever, for looking after us so well and good luck with your plans for the future.

1  Thank newboldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribJDC, Owner at Jus' Sail, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Newboldi!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we know how hectic life can be once you get back home after a holiday and we really appreciate it when our guests make the effort to comment on Trip Advisor!
Yes, we shared a wonderful afternoon on the water, the conditions were fantastic for some really laidback sailing and a cool off swim. Plus you're right we were treated to a magical sunset... These are the moments that we always savour and we hope that you continue to have fond memories not only of your time with Jus' Sail but also your entire holiday on St Lucia. We sincerely hope you return again in the future!
Please keep an eye on our Facebook page for updates on our progress, especially in regards to our youth training program which we have big plans for next year!
With best wishes from the Jus' Sail Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After much wrangling with the weather....James and Pepsi made it happen for my husbands birthday sail. along with a few friends it turned out to be a glorious day! James, Pepsi and Herbert made us feel so comfortable. It was an honor to learn about the history of good expectations. we have been on alot of sailing trips but this time was something special ! the swim at cootie cove was awesome! and private.... doesn't get better than this folks! and the spread of food that Pepsi treated us to was very delicious! you have hooked us and we will definately be back.... remember! my Birthday is in march! LOL see you then!!

Kathy, Danny. :)

Thank kathyanddanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribJDC, Owner at Jus' Sail, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Kathy and Danny,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your afternoon with us. You were such fun guests and it was great meeting your friends! We loved having you all aboard Good Expectation and very much look forward to welcoming you back again on your birthday next year.

With our best wishes.

The Jus' Sail Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Unfortunately due to some 'technical issues' getting logged onto trip advisor this review is a little later than we might have hoped but we enjoyed our afternoon out on Good Expectation so much we simply had to write it up. Having booked from the UK, initially double booking ourselves which James sorted wonderfully for us with no complaints, we were a little worried to hear bad weather in the form of TS Issac might be approaching. James contacted us via the hotel and made arrangements to change the date as the storm neared and we are so glad he did - the day we went was perfect sailing weather.

We arrived on board a little 'stressed' having spent the morning in Rodeney Bay medical centre due to our 10 year old daughters ear infection but James, Pepsi and Herbert settled us in and we were soon totally relaxed. We sailed south, I tied a little sailing and after a spot of fishing with Herbert Pepsi set up a chair in the bow for our daughter Thea who promptly fell asleep.

Where to stop for our snacks, when offered the option of opposite our hotel, East Winds, Thea could not resist! She spotted her friends swimming out towards the bouys and, life jacket donned, Thea was off to me them while we all watched to ensure she was safe. Fabulous snacks eaten and we returned to Rodney Bay sorry to say goodbye. We would thoroughly record a sail with Jus Sail, they are a great set of people and are also doing some great work for the young people of St Lucia through their team building sailing experiences funded by charitable donations - just buy a T-shirt (we were to help having read about it but they are not pushy!)

Thanks James, Pepsi and Herbert for a great trip and to Pepsi for the lovely photos and comments about the mermaid Thea

Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribJDC, Owner at Jus' Sail, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Michelle G,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write up your comments about your time with Jus' Sail! We thoroughly enjoyed having you aboard and are so happy that you considered your experience with us to be perfect, especially after our having to dodge the weather for a couple of days, to ensure we got you the best possible conditions, and as you rightly say in the end we all enjoyed a perfect sail and a lovely afternoon anchored off your hotel ~ East Winds Inn. We must also thank you for sharing your experience with other guests, as after your time with us we enjoyed a number of other parties from East Winds who said they came on your recommendation. So thanks again for your positive words. Feedback like yours makes our job so easy to enjoy and we hope to see you again in the future!
Best wishes.
The Jus' Sail Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I, our son and daughter in law, and 5 year old granddaughter spent a half day sailing with the JusSail crew and had a wonderful time. We are not sailors and just enjoyed the sea, view of the island and the beach we visited. James, Pepsi, and Herbert were wonderful hosts and we would recommend them without reservation. Pepsi prepared a delicious snack with freshly squeezed juices. She also took photos of the trip and emailed them to us.

1  Thank lawman797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribJDC, Owner at Jus' Sail, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Lawman797, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your time aboard with us. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family spend the day with us.
We hope to see you back in St Lucia in the future for another sail!
With best wishes.
The Jus' Sail Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jus' Sail also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Jus' Sail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing