We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not stellar”

Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #17 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $0 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Only Mediterranean Cuisine on Island with a Creole Touch. The Best Selection of Seafood, Meat and Authentic Fresh Pasta.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok but not stellar”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have eaten at Chef Xavier a few times. The service has either been extremely lacking (lots of staff but we were completely left alone and had to flag down a server) or they have been hovering over us. The food has been good. Probably the best pasta on the island.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitney V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    179
    72
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“tasty Jambalaya”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Restaurant was clean - nice atmosphere, servers friendly. No, not fast service - but why rush? We didn't have a problem with a small wait - it was only around 10 minutes or so anyway. We both ordered the Jambalaya, and although not like others we have tried, was very tasty, and would highly recommend. This was also the only restaurant that didn't charge a service charge on top of the bill. I think that when you tip, you should tip according to the service etc. etc. and i object to being charged service charge whether you want to tip or not. So even if you were not satisfied with the meal, you have to pay service charge. Not so with this restaurant. I was very pleased with it, and the meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sephora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“hands-down the best spicy pasta dish I've ever had in my life”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

we loved this place! I had the homemade spaghetti pasta with garlic and pepper spicy sauce with grilled shrimp over it, i'm a picky eater and a foodie-I kid you not this was the best spicy pasta shrimp plate I've ever had! my husband had the lasagna and he liked it very much, our friends had the Caesar salad which was perfect and stuffed crab. I would take a weekend trip to St. Lucia just to eat here again! Loved this restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank deeannjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great burger and fab chilli chocolate desert”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

came here for lunch on the last day in St Lucia, it was a lovely friendly service, great tasty burger very filling, but the best bit was the desert, which was a chilli chocolate pudding with rock salt, great combination & very warming

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Capricorn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location. good service, great food!!!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We arrived on a very stormy night, without having a reservation. The hostess was kind enough to seat us, and promptly took our drink order. Questions about the menu were answered which demonstrated very good product knowledge, and caring that each person received exactly what they wanted. Atmosphere is superb, contributing to an overall very satisfying experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAmb1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing