We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food, not the views”

Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #19 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Only Mediterranean Cuisine on Island with a Creole Touch. The Best Selection of Seafood, Meat and Authentic Fresh Pasta.
kent
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not the views”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I knew this restaurant was on the first floor of the shopping mall, but once we were seated inside, you'd never know it.
Beautifully laid tables which were well spaced apart, prompt and polite service, and best of all, really delicious imaginative food!
I had steak and lobster, and my friend had ribs. Both of us agreed the food was properly seasoned, melt in the mouth and ample portions. The presseco could have been chilled a bit cooler, but we couldn't have managed another bite of food. Highly recommened.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcpinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    181
    75
    26
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food, Weird Service”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food here was amazing, we had crab for starter, and for mains I had baracudda and hubby had Mackrel (Kingfish) the food was beautifully presented and the restaurant was very nice, although in the upstairs of a Mall, not so glam to get there but a nice little place.
The waiter was odd, flamboyant but in a slightly creepy and peculiar way but nevertheless was a nice place with good food :o) Reccommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BethR999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“French style restaurant”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Limited menu that was a bit overpriced. The staff were not as friendly as in most places and there wasn't much atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen21a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

AWESOME! Great atmosphere and great service...There was one young waiter in particular that was very engaging and pleasant. Besides that, the food couldn't have gotten any better!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 795Alicia_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't let the location fool you”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Don't let the location fool you. Once inside the restaurant, you will never remember you are in a mall. Lovely interior with outside balcony, inside overlooking the busy street and another room with ac if wanted. Food was delicious with seafood and/or meats with specialty sauces to choose from. It is always fun to see Xavier and he is a supreme host!! We went twice on our recent visit and enjoyed it both times. Hubby really enjoyed the duck also. I had pasta once and it was also good! A fun new place to go!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xsnowman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Blue Olive Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing