We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful service and food”
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
Ranked #9 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a french Restaurant and we also have four rooms that guests are welcome to book.
Canadian, Texas
1 review
“wonderful service and food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

i was welcomed and seated by a well mannered young beauty who i think goes by the name nicka.good at what she does and would make you purchase anything even if youre full.keep doing what you do best.The food was the best i have had on the island and the chef and his wife is so very nice.i would highly recomend the creme brulee which i enjoyed the most and i also had a goat cheese salad.couldnt resist by the way it was explained to me by the well trained waitress.if going to st.lucia be sure to visit la terrasse.Its worth it!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTerrasseRodneyBay, Directeur général at La Terrasse, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Hannah M,

Thank you so much for your kind review! we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and the food and hope to see you again if you come back on the island.
Kind Regards, Claudia & Thomas Ebbesen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    97
    33
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middx London
Level Contributor
201 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Booked as were going on a Saturday night however not necessary as only 2 other tables taken all evening!
Food fairly ordinary .As it was our last night in St Lucia we had a bottle of wine + 3 courses but to our cost as very expensive meal and not good value.
They are trying hard but their waiting staff need to be able to understand what their diners actually want!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth the money”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went to a different restaurant for 7 nights. Had excellent range of dishes all week. Thought we would try this French cuisine but was thoroughly disappointed. It started by the miscommunication of our server who asked if we wanted " still" water. Not being as worldly as some, we took this to mean out of the pitcher. Not so, it was from a bottle with a charge attached. Just be ware, we had 7 people so the cost for water was outrageous. Anyways, the food was tasty, however we all left feeling very hungry. We certainly didn't want a huge portion. But for the price of the dishes we expected a little more. They came out with some bread to compliment the meal ( 3 pieces for 7 people). The final bill was the highest we paid on the island and so not worth it!! Also be aware of the 10% service charge ( we never did get a clear answer if this was a tip or not)
So many other restaurant options. Think before you choose this one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTerrasseRodneyBay, Directeur général at La Terrasse, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry to read that you had a disappointed experience at La Terrasse. However there are a few points we need to clarify here:
1. Concerning the water, we are very carefull and our staff or my wife will always ask first if you wish a bottle of flat water, sparkling water OR just tap water(still water). We still show it to the table for confirmation before we open it so you know exactly what you are drinking and if you are paying or no. We would never force our guests to have something they did not ask for! who does that?! I remember you were surprised to realize you had to pay for the water when you asked a 2nd bottle. You said to my wife: " It is incredible, I was never charged for a bottle of water in a restaurant" well...you have always been lucky!
2. Thank you for enjoying the quality of food. The portions we serve are more than correct and are a standard of any restaurant. Some of our regular guests even tell me sometimes that we are too generous when others will finish their food later at home for being full before the end of the meal. All depend on your appetite and also your choice on the menu. I remember you "only" had one course each, 2 of your members (2 teenagers I think) only had an appetizer goat cheese salad.
3. For the bread, how would we give only 3 pieces for 7 people? I understand you were disappointed with your evening there but please stay honest. We always give some complimentary bread and butter (very appreciated home-made seasonning butter, or any other preparations we decide to make this day...) just AFTER you placed your order and BEFORE your food comes. Usually people ask for more bread if it was not enough to finish the butter, what we do without any problem and with pleasure! Having more bread then with your meals is not a problem neither and we always give what our costumers ask for...
4. Concerning the final price and "the highest bill you paid on the island", we are totally in the same range of prices as any other restaurants in the area, actually even cheaper than others. Let me remind you that many products in St-Lucia are imported and we all try to offer the best food at the most reasonnable prices possible.
5. Since the VAT has been introduced in St-Lucia in October 2012, we never charged
10% service charge! We used to charge 8% in November when we re-opened and finally even put it down to 5% since the beginning of February. We want to stay competitive too but it is a great help for the employees at the end of the month. Therefore it is clearly NOT a tip but it is part of the salaries. Extra tips stay to your discretion if you wish to leave some.
We hope these clarifications help our futurs costumers to get a more precised idea on what to expect at La Terrasse, generosity and quality of food in a cosy and friendly outdoor atmosphere. Hope you can try our restaurant again in a next visit on the island and we will do our best to ensure you have a great evening!
Kind Regards, Claudia and Thomas Ebbesen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bucks. UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meals.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We were advised to visit this restaurant and were pleased we did. The food was delicious and superbly cooked. The service too was excellent. The setting of this restaurant is quite delightful and well worth seeking out. We returned a second evening and met a couple we had recommended to this restaurant they too had thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Thomas and Claudia deserve to succeed.

Helpful?
Thank PandJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTerrasseRodneyBay, Directeur général at La Terrasse, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear PandJ8,
Thank you very much for your nice review! We are glad that you appreciated the food and enjoyed having you here twice at the restaurant! We hope to see you again on your next visit in St-Lucia...
Thank you again for your support.
Kind Regards, Claudia and Thomas Ebbesen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Horrible dinner”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had dinner here our first night in St Lucia. The cocktails were horrible, taste like cheap syrup. The waitress even mixed up our drinks, leading to my 10 yr old child getting his first taste of rum! The savory parmesan creme brulee was ok. The octopus with garlic bread was horrible and fishy, not sure why they tossed in some pepperoni and sausage. The short ribs was tough and the sauce was bad. My red snapper was dry...that lump of quiche? was disgusting. The best part of the meal was the home fries. It seems like the husband chef wasnt there so maybe that's why they had an off night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aznfayeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTerrasseRodneyBay, Directeur général at La Terrasse, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Gloria W,
We are very sorry about your "horrible dinner" at La Terrasse and our deep apologies for the cocktail given to your child by mistake!
Concerning the food and the calamaris in particular, it is precised on the menu that it is cooked with chorizo. Cold meats (charcuterie) and seafood is a great mix of flavours, appreciated by many people and prepared in lots of restaurants. The fish you had was mahi-mahi (dorado) and not red snapper. My mistake if you found it dry, I am the Chef and I was the one cooking that night like every night. My wife is always there also, checking on every table if everything is allright and no complains had been made at all. We can always prepare something more to your liking if you are disappointed with some dishes.
Anyway, seeing your different reviews on your profile, it seems that you are difficult to please. The food YOU don't like is not necessarily "horrible".
Best Regards, Claudia and Thomas Ebbesen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing