We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, quiet, romantic resraurant with skills to match”
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
Ranked #7 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a french Restaurant and we also have four rooms that guests are welcome to book.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A lovely, quiet, romantic resraurant with skills to match”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

A little bit tucked away this is worth searching for. A small husband and wife restaurant nicely presented and romantically lit, with French-based menu competently prepared and served. Friendly, delicious, skillful, attractive and memorable. Certainly worth a return visit. We will do so next week!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FussyBvggerBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    98
    33
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“A very good return visit”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went here twice over a period of two weeks, once on our own and the second time with local friends. The service and friendliness of this restaurant was very good indeed. The food is good quality and all my dishes were lovely. I like the savoury creme brulee starter, the local fish and the flambeed prawns in pernod. Unfortunately, on our second visit the chef had run out of the wonderful Dauphinnoise potatoes so I had fries instead which were good but not as good as the Dauphinoise! The restaurant was very busy on our second visit and food took a while to arrive but this was because it was all being freshly cooked. Claudia and Thomas run a lovely establishment. On my very first visit I commented on the limited wine list. This has been amended and we had a great bottle of Pouilly Fume. I look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food in a great setting”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were staying at the Inn and could not pass up the chance to eat at the restaurant.

Since we wanted to try a few things, we ordered several different courses and everyone had a taste. Chef Thomas' specialty, crème brûlée au parmesan, is amazing; very light and full of flavour. The pork was covered in delicious mushroom sauce and the gratin dauphinois (thinly sliced potatoes, lightly fried and soaked in sauce) was a perfect side dish. The shrimp were chewy and bathed in yet another savory sauce, with a slightly sharp ratatouille on the side. For dessert we split a plate of fresh profiteroles with homemade whipped cream and hot chocolate sauce, which was so good we didn't waste a drop. The house wine was fragrant and sweet.

It was a quiet evening, complemented by soft French music and good company.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bas_olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A must try! After dining at several restaurants on the island, the service at La Terrase was 4+ stars. After meeting the husband and wife team who run this cozy French restaurant which is nestled on a back street in the Rodney Bay area, it is clear that they take a lot of pride in making sure their guests have a wonderful dining experience. The courtyard setting is the perfect place to enjoy a romantic French meal or evening with friends. From the onion soup appetizer to our entrees, which included two fish dishes and ribs, everything was flavorful and cooked to perfection. Before dining at La Terrasse, we were warned to leave room for dessert. The banana crepes, profiteroles, and a caramel creme brulee were a wonderful way to end the evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarinaGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Trying to be French cuisine but fails”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant doesn't know what it is. The food is average (greasy fried chips with most main courses). The food was served luke warm. Not cheap either.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CanaryWharfSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

 
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing