We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
Ranked #8 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a french Restaurant and we also have four rooms that guests are welcome to book.
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Not the best view of all the restaurants we had but the food is by far the best. We started off with a parm and sun dried tomatoe creme brulee. Awesome is all I can say. My wife had the red snapper with an olive tempanade. I had the strip steak and it was just the best meal we ever had. Service is awesome with the owners serving you and being courteous and joking around with us. Love this place!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    97
    33
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
142 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Absolutely delicious food - a cut above the rest without the premium price

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ian_the_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very sweet place, pretty atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Highly recommend for the food, but don't go if you are in a rush. The chef/ owner was all alone in the kitchen and dinner took a long time to be served (we were a group of 8).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsta, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok food, nothing more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We went there because some friends recommended the restaurant. The food was ok but the onion soup was not even close to a real franch onion soup! We had the striploin with potato gratin and the café de paris butter and it was nice, nothing special. We ordered for the kids and asked for a "small portion of fish and some potato". We ended up paying $24 per kid!!!! We mentioned for the owner that the kids only had a small piece of fish and asked her if they really charged that money for a child portion. She looked in to it and changed the price to $20!!!!! Still I found that we were over charged but the owner did not care and gave me all kinds of excuses about high price for fresh fish bla bla bla....... I don't mind paying for my food but I don't think you can charge $20 for a child portion, especially when you asked for it. Sorry but I will not go back to this restaurant because of that.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S4E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Great food, great people (hostess/owner is trilingual), and great atmosphere. It's very small so plan to get there early (before 8) or to make a reservation. Service is sometimes slow when they get busy since they have a very small staff. But you shouldn't be in a hurry when you're on vacation anyway!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ateedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing