We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Guesthouse”
Review of La Terrasse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Terrasse Inn
Ranked #13 of 14 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Roseau, Dominica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guesthouse”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you're looking for an affordable guesthouse in the heart of Rodney Bay this place is for you. We found the owners to be exceptionally helpful and friendly, and the room to be neat and comfortable. The beach is about five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at La Terrasse with my sister and parents, in rooms 4 and 1. Thomas and Claudia were nothing but helpful and kind during our week-long stay. Upon arrival, Claudia brought us homemade sorrel drink. A few days later, when the Inn's hair dryer could not be found, Thomas bought a new one. Better service than a five-star hotel!

The Inn is very picturesque; like staying in your very own tropical villa. Everything is clean and cozy. We ate breakfast and a light supper on the veranda every day. One evening, we had a delicious dinner at the attached French restaurant, but that's a separate review. On weekend nights it does get noisy (the nightclub, Delirius, is a few doors down), but earplugs solve the problem.

The Inn is perfectly situated at the halfway point between the two Rodney Bay malls and Reduit Beach. Both less then 5 minutes walk. Each mall has a large supermarket and, most mornings/afternoons, there's a local fruit and vegetable stand across the road from the bus stop near the mall where we picked up spices and fruit. If you just want to lay in the sun or swim, the south end of the beach is shaded and largely unbothered by vendors and boats. We spent several days completely on the beach, eating freshly grilled fish for lunch at Marie’s.

Overall, a most relaxing and enjoyable stay, thanks in large part to Claudia and Thomas!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the largest and has a lot of storage/closet space. Room 4 is next largest and has a chest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bas_olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location is intimate and cozy but the food and service were far from it. The food was not worth the price, adequate but not great. Although the staff were warm and friendly, I felt they were too attentive at times. I drunk so much water, I felt I was drowning. I would not return there when Chef Xavier, a few blocks away was Amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came across this quaint restaurant while walking around St. Lucia, charmed by it's character, we inquired about having dinner there Christmas Day. The meal was incredible, the owners were amazing - so down to earth and you can just tell there are there because they love what they do - pure passion. We were staying the week at the nearby Harbour Villas, which we rented versus staying in a hotel. While our experience at the Harbour was fine, it lacked the charm of La Terrasee so we inquired about the inn. With just 4 rooms the experience might not be for everyone, but I can assure you the next time we visit St. Lucia we will only stay at La Terrasse. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Terrasse Inn. Claudia was very warm, friendly and helpful during our stay. Upon our arrival she brought us welcome drinks, a local sorrel fruit beverage which was refreshing! Room 3 was quite cozy, but we enjoyed the amenities like the amply-sized mini fridge, kettle, cutlery, plates and bowsl. We absolutely loved our patio where we enjoyed our breakfasts and snacks. Room 3 has a shared bathroom with Room 4. Overall it was a nice stay in a basic, clean room. Especially on weekends, nightclub noise could be heard, but it wasn't really a big issue for us. Very close to the Baywalk Mall, supermarkets, restaurants and Reduit Beach. Very good value for location, we just didn't have a chance to try their restaurant, which was very popular each night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerlily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

very nice rooms in a nice garden with palms in a quiet street but in walking distance from the mall of rodney mall and near the marina. the room is tastefully furnished and the couple who runs it is nice and helpful. enjoy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

La Terrasse is a small guesthouse in the heart of Rodney Bay. Its located a short walking distance from the beach, shops and restaurants. The restaurant attached to the Inn is very good. We stayed in the larger room which was simple, clean and comfortable with a small sitting area. Being centrally located, you can hear the music at the night clubs which could be a problem for light sleepers. It was not a problem for my wife and I. The Inn is managed along with the restaurant by Claudia and Thomas. They do a great job at making you feel welcome and ensuring you have a good time. They will help you arrange tours or taxis and will even provide good advice on the other restaurants in town. They make this place special. So with La Terrasse, you get a comfortable room, in a good location, at a great price that is well managed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goneaway50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.5 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 12 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#5 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay Gardens Inn
Bay Gardens Inn
#1 of 14 in Gros Islet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papillon by Rex Resorts
Papillon by Rex Resorts
#5 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terrasse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terrasse Inn

Property: La Terrasse Inn
Address: Seagrape Avenue | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet 758, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terrasse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Terrasse Inn will be your home far home it is charming and colorful house ideally located in the heart of Rodney Bay, St Lucia, 30km south of Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Terrasse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terrasse Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing