We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Of India

Spice Of India
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a sophisticated Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Rodney Bay. Owner and Restaurateur Chef Adil has travelled across the Atlantic Ocean creating scintillating dishes to satisfy the palates of eager patrons throughout the Caribbean. Along with his sous chefs, Chef Adil has brought the modern Indian style of cooking based on ancient tandoor techniques to Saint Lucia. Get a feel for India in the uniquely designed restaurant, and succumb to the wiles of fine dining. Also newly opened waterfront restaurant at Capella Marina in Marigot Bay---MASALA BAY--serving Indian and Indo Chinese fusion cuisine.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The welcome, food and service are all excellent, from the cold towels to wipe away the day's grime, a tasty spinach amuse bouche, and wide selection of scrumptious food. Our butter chicken and beef bhuna were both sufficiently spicy and piping hot. Having visited the restaurant once before, over three months ago, the owner recognized me and greeted me warmly again. Service was professional and we were never hurried. We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Nobby,

It was a pleasure to see you again and serve you some good Indian cuisine. Thanks for the visit and posting this comment of your experience with us. It seemed that you had a good time at SOI.

Looking forward to many more visits from you.

Warm regards,
chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,266
    233
    67
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

A great start to a great day! At the time they served this lunch-time-special.... I had the lamb and my mom had the chicken. We got this awesome refreshing drink to start and while we waited for our food we listened to some very relaxing Indian instrumentals.. Great place for lunch/dinner!! The prices are not too bad! Must return soon

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Rosa,

Thanks for the lovely comment about your lunch with us. We change the Tasting Lunch menus daily and have become quite popular with our patrons. It gives us an opportunity to showcase the other Indian cuisine which gets missed out in many restaurants.

Now you must try our extensive a la carte dinner menu as well, which is an entirely different experience than lunch.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Thank you for such a nice experience last night you managed to serve a large group of nine with no delays and separate bills was offered first for a convenience.. The meal was lovely starting with cold towels a tasty amuse bouche.. Nothing was a hassle.. Speedy service!! will recommend to others! Can't wait to come back again ;-)

Helpful?
Thank Vilegayhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A return experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

After 14 months away we returned to once again experience the wonderful food and service. As we sat at the table the Maitre'd asked us if we had been to the restaurant about a year ago. We were pleasantly surprised he remembered us. Our meal was very enjoyable in terms of the wonderful tastes and the service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merrin_Pearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Merrin,

It was wonderful to see and your wife again and yes, my staff are very good at recognizing repeat guest. I am please to know that you enjoyed your experience once again with us.Hope to see you once more before you go back from your vacation.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This might've been our favorite meal. Everything we ordered was delicious. Their fruit juice was out of this world and the staff here was so attentive. The owner was constantly around making sure we were catered too. We go back here in a second. Still dreaming of this meal!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank laurensc1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Laurensc,

Thanks for taking your time to write this review. Your feedback is extremely important to us and it motivates us even more to hear that you had a great time with us. Fruit juices are the best way to enjoy the abundance of local fruits in St Lucia. Thanks for mentioning that.

Best regards,
Chef Adil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Of India also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Spice Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing