We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive taster lunch menu”
Review of Spice Of India

Spice Of India
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a sophisticated Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Rodney Bay. Owner and Restaurateur Chef Adil has travelled across the Atlantic Ocean creating scintillating dishes to satisfy the palates of eager patrons throughout the Caribbean. Along with his sous chefs, Chef Adil has brought the modern Indian style of cooking based on ancient tandoor techniques to Saint Lucia. Get a feel for India in the uniquely designed restaurant, and succumb to the wiles of fine dining. Also newly opened waterfront restaurant at Capella Marina in Marigot Bay---MASALA BAY--serving Indian and Indo Chinese fusion cuisine.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The owner has a special taster lunch menu which proved great value. It came as five dishes plus bread and was spicy rather than hot as we like it. You can also share one between two and given the size of portions this is perfect as lunch for the over-60s.

Thank derrick_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hi Derrick,

Lovely review. Thanks for posting your comments about daily changing Chefs Tasting Menus which give our diners a taste of huge and vast Indian cuisine without emptying their pockets. These menus are designed everyday and several dishes from regional Indian cuisine are served in small portions as tasting menus should be, complete with an amazing dessert.

You must also try our extensive a la carte menu served at dinners which is an entirely different concept in the same restaurant.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
There are newer reviews for Spice Of India
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

944 - 948 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

I would never have pictured myself having Indian food in St Lucia, since we usually try to stick to the local food; now, however, I can't picture a trip to Gros Islet without stopping at Spice of India. I recommend trying their seafood dishes, which were spectacular. We had two incredible appetizers (Crab Meat Bonda and Tandoori Fish) followed by the flavorful Goan Fish Curry. All the dishes were very tender and had a wonderful range of spices, and their presentation was exquisite. We also had a Nimbu Pani, a refreshing non-alcoholic mint and lime drink that was perfect after a hot day on the beach. The owner and chef, Adil, came out to introduce himself and to make sure we were comfortable. It was clear how much everyone here takes pride in their work – and they should, Spice of India is truly wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi Jen,

Thanks for the lovely review of SOI. You are right. It happens to lots of our guest who come to St Lucia with local food in mind and not Indian. But they find their way to SOI one way or another and we are thrilled to see them coming in again during their short vacation on the island. I am proud of my team here at the restaurant to make this possible and we totally appreciate you taking your time to let us know all about it.
Looking forward to many more vists from you.

warm regards,
Chef Adil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent, prompt service and food at an affordable price. Some of the best Indian food I have had. Strongly recommend the Tandoori seafood kebab starter. The traffic noise can be distracting so a table inside is preferable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 7,531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear 7531,

Thanks for posting a short but effective great review of your experience with us at SOI. Your point about outside traffic is noted but our patrons love the newly added outdoor seating area with all the elements associated with seating outdoors. Thanks for enjoying other aspects of your dining experience with us.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We always make a point of going to the beat TA rated restaurants in cities we are in so this was a natural choice given we happen to quite like Indian food. This said, the food was good, tasty and came quickly but do not head here if looking for outdoor dining experience.

Food: scallops were great. Lovely and served with an aubergine side that was delectable. The butter chicken (my husband's fave) was also good. The pechewari naan was not the best we have had (apsara in Trinidad is the hands down pest for that) but it was tasty.

Ambiance: inside looked great with padded walls and an interesting finish over the bar. Appeared very elegant. Outside area though... Surrounded by lovely wooden Asian influenced fencing and lit with some lovely hanging lights however not even that could take away from the overall feel of being on someone's ground floor paved apartment porch in the middle of a city. Passers by could be heard from inside peddling goods/ shouting in creole. Car horns heard and engineers roared by. Not exactly island style.

If we eat inside, I would go again In a heartbeat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TTDiveDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear TTdive Diva,

Thanks for such a descriptive review of your experience with us at SOI. We appreciate your commenst about the food and service .Your point about outdoor dining experience is noted and we are in the process of changing many aspects of the dining outdoor area,one step at a time. SOI is always looking for changes to make it the best dining experience for our guest and one way to achieve that is the feedbacks we recieve from our patrons. Outdoor seating at SOI has become favourite with our overseas guest since they love to take in local culture as well while partially hidden from outside road and other elements. Since our guest wanted to dine outdoor without air conditioned we created this beautiful looking semi partition to make you dine in privacy and still maintain the exotic ambiance of SOI. I apologise for you not enjoying our outdoor dining ambiance but that remains the fact that most of the restaurants in Rodney bay are all on the road side and cannot escape from the daily hustle bustle of that aspect.

I hope we will see you again at SOI soon in our air conditioned indoor seating this time with the same food and service we have become synonymous with.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Extremely delicious veggie korma, palak paneer, cheese naan, and coconut-saffron cheesecake! The staff are very friendly. We met both the owner and a manager who are clearly very invested in the business and the food, and take great pride in their work. Prices were very reasonable compared to other restaurants nearby. Definitely the best meal I have eaten so far in Grow Islet, and we will be back before the end of our trip for sure! An excellent vegetarian option, but there are many options for meat-lovers as well. Thanks for the great meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KevinA569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi kevin,

Thanks for an amzing review of SOI. You are right about vegetarian options in Indian cuisine. It is endless as long as the ingredients are available. We import many speciality ingredients and our chefs create amazing vegetarian dishes incorporating locally sourced vegetables and authentic fresh and clean Indian flavours.

We will also look forward to seeing you again soon at SOI.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Of India also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Spice Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing