We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of Spice Of India

Spice Of India
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a sophisticated Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Rodney Bay. Owner and Restaurateur Chef Adil has travelled across the Atlantic Ocean creating scintillating dishes to satisfy the palates of eager patrons throughout the Caribbean. Along with his sous chefs, Chef Adil has brought the modern Indian style of cooking based on ancient tandoor techniques to Saint Lucia. Get a feel for India in the uniquely designed restaurant, and succumb to the wiles of fine dining. Also newly opened waterfront restaurant at Capella Marina in Marigot Bay---MASALA BAY--serving Indian and Indo Chinese fusion cuisine.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The food was amazing, the décor divine and the service was on point. My group of friends had a great evening and I would definitely return!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Elle,

We also cannot wait to see you again at SOI. Your feedback matters a lot to us and we thank you for that.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,281
    235
    67
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lovely food. I was surprised to have such a great Indian meal in the Caribbean, great menu and service. Flawless.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveL1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Steve,

Thanks for an amazing review. Few words but very effective. Highly appreciated.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

It's odd to experience such authentic and delicious Indian food anywhere, let alone a tiny Island in the Caribbean. I had the biryani. You'll find much better in other big cities or in South Asia, this could hold its own amongst the better ones. Worth a visit if you want good food, period.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ContemputalArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for such high praises for our food at SOI. We also believe in the most authentic way of preparing Indian cuisine and thanks for enjoying your experience with us.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superb - try the goat”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Was dubious about going to an Indian restaurant on holiday but the excellent reviews posted are correct. On our first visit Anne had the Korma which she said was one of the nicest she had ever tasted . I had the lamb which was also good
On returning we were warmly greeted by Adil & his staff , almost as old friends.This time I had the Himalayan Goat & it was excellent ! Just the right amount of heat not overpowering the flavours.Scotland has some good Indian restaurants but have never seen goat on the menu.

Thanks Adil for your hospitality & the great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NijelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Nijels,

Many thanks for returning back to us and trying something new from our menu. I also appreciate your comments and recommendation.

Looking forward to more visits from you whenever you are in St Lucia.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cocktails”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely place services was fantastic they were very nice and friendly too . Had a korma and was beautiful lovely seating area and great air con very nicely presented dishes and very filling if you go you have to try a purple bay cocktail tastes just Iike skittles

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerryanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Kerryanne,

Thanks for your review of your experience with us at SOI. We appreciate your feedback.

Cheers,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Of India also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Spice Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing