We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timers but loved it”
Review of Spice Of India

Spice Of India
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a sophisticated Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Rodney Bay. Owner and Restaurateur Chef Adil has travelled across the Atlantic Ocean creating scintillating dishes to satisfy the palates of eager patrons throughout the Caribbean. Along with his sous chefs, Chef Adil has brought the modern Indian style of cooking based on ancient tandoor techniques to Saint Lucia. Get a feel for India in the uniquely designed restaurant, and succumb to the wiles of fine dining. Also newly opened waterfront restaurant at Capella Marina in Marigot Bay---MASALA BAY--serving Indian and Indo Chinese fusion cuisine.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and never really had Indian food before but so many people raved about this place so we just had to go. The owner greater us personally and when we told him we were first timers, he explained several things to us and helped us order. Everything tasted great and we had very good service!

Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear PaulR,

Thanks for a great review. We totally appreciate your feedback,specially coming from someone experiencing Indian cuisine for the first time.

We will see you again whenever you are in the area.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
There are newer reviews for Spice Of India
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,135 - 1,139 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We chose to eat at Spice of India due to Trip Advisor and our LOVE of Indian food. Superb restaurant with an owner who clearly cares 100% for his business - has experienced and chatty staff. Cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough - takes Indian food to a different level for sure. We were talked with and the food explained and also recommended to us...brilliant. The chicken liver starter and the cheese naan....mmm. Our next trip to St Lucia will start with a meal at this restaurant...continue during our stay...and possibly be the last meal there too. Well done Spice of India.

A & S MacKillop, Scotland

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TopCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear TopCar,

Thanks for letting us look after you when you dined with us more than once. It was great chatting with you and knowing your love for good food. I am pleased to know that we managed to satisfy your Indian food needs enough for you to categorize us as your best Indian food ever. One cannot get better compliment than that. Entire team at SOI is very proud to know this and will continue to do even better.

Many thanks,
Chef Adil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were very apprehensive to try Spice of India. Indian food in St. Luca didn't sound like the best idea, that coupled with the fact that we are not big Indian food fans. However, since it was rated #1 we had to at least see what the raves were about. Glad we did, as we were not disappointed. The service at the restaurant was excellent. All the servers were attentive and very knowledgeable. We had the opportunity to speak with the owner a few times during our visit. It is apparent he is very passionate about what he does. It not only showed in service but also in the food. Everything we put our lips to was fantastic. I ordered the Tikka Masala Chicken, my husband had the butter chicken, which was recommended by the owner. For dessert we had cardamom and honey infused pastry balls (not sure the name of the dish) and they were really good. It was hands down the best meal I had on the island and in the running for one of the best meals I have ever eaten. It also wins the best Indian food I have experienced. Great job Spice of India. Thank you for a memorable meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RayMarie1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear RayMarie1908,

I am so glad that we pleased you since you are not such big Indian cuisine fans. It is always challenging to prove this cuisine to someone who is not familiar with it, but I am glad that you enjoyed your experience here with us. Thanks for posting a fab review and please visit us again whenever you are in the area,

Best regards,
Chef Adil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I were in St. Lucia for a business trip for my husband. We had the opportunity to go to Spice of India with business associates who were originally from India. They did all the ordering and so we knew we were in good hands. The restaurant is just wonderful. The owner came to our table and talked to us a few times as well as the chef! It was probably the best Indian food we've ever eaten. Just a wonderful experience from beginning to end!

Thank SPJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear SPJCM,

Thanks for enjoying your food and service at the restaurant and taking your time to write a great review.


Warm regards,
Chef Adil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Gorgeous foodand really good service. Really enjoyed it and rolled out the door home!! Got the lamb korma and my hhubby got thelamb rogan josh defo reccommend the korma.yummy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aughrimhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Aughrimhead,

Thank you for letting us look after you when you were here. We appreciate your visit and thanks for the lovely comment. The secret of our Korma (many types of Korma in India--different regions) is the use of creamy Cashewnut/Almond paste in the gravy. No Coconut in our Korma.Thanks for appreciating our efforts for producing the most authentic Indian cuisine.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Of India also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Spice Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing