We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING, PERFECT MEAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Of India

Spice Of India
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a sophisticated Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Rodney Bay. Owner and Restaurateur Chef Adil has travelled across the Atlantic Ocean creating scintillating dishes to satisfy the palates of eager patrons throughout the Caribbean. Along with his sous chefs, Chef Adil has brought the modern Indian style of cooking based on ancient tandoor techniques to Saint Lucia. Get a feel for India in the uniquely designed restaurant, and succumb to the wiles of fine dining. Also newly opened waterfront restaurant at Capella Marina in Marigot Bay---MASALA BAY--serving Indian and Indo Chinese fusion cuisine.
REDCAR
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING, PERFECT MEAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

You must visit The Spice of India, you will not be disappointed. From the moment we entered we were warmly welcomed, the staff were extremely polite. We were given an eggplant starter which was great, nicely spiced.

The main meal was superb ,as there was 4 of us we all got a diffrent meal and we did share and taste each others choice of food. It was perfectly presented and you were asked before your order was taking how mild or spicy did you want your meal to be.

We also got basmati and vegetable pilau rice which again was perfect and we also has plain naan and poori which was a thin flat bread, and the portion size was ideal for 1 person.

The manager came over to our table during and after the meal and he told us all about the spices and how the food was prepared and cooked ,and it was good to see a manager come over and present himself.

Overall it was a superb meal ,and there was no complaints from the 4 of us and we complimented the manager on the quality of the food and the presentation. The Spice of India is highly recommended ,and I would advise any person who is thinking of having a meal at The Spice of India to try it, you will not be disappointed.

I would definately have a meal again at The Spice of India if I return to St Lucia.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LONGHAULFLIERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Longhaulfliers,

What an amazing review. Thanks for taking your time to write such a descriptive review of your experience here wth us. I am glad that we made this SOI experience very personalised for you.

Thanks for the recommendations.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,266
    233
    67
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Every thing is wonderful breath taking the paintings the art the food the service the staffs manager owner need i Say more u guys are the number one rated restaurant congratulations well done will visit soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucianpride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear LucianPride,

Many thanks for not just enjoying the food here, but the art,staff,ambiance as well. It has taken a lot of effort and passion to create this restaurant and is always good to be appreciated. It seems that you live locally. We will be thrilled to serve you again during your other visits.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellant Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

There are two really good Indian places in Rodney Bay and Spice of India is a tad better of the two.We have been here twice this trip.
The atmosphere is elegant with both in and out door seating.
The staff is professional and helpful.
The food is excellant and the kitchen will "hotten""or cool the food to your particular taste.
It is surely worth a visit if you are on the island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaroleeSouthFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for two visits during a short time on the island. We value your patronage more than once considering that there are so many choices of restaurants in St Lucia.

Best regards,
Chef Adil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something Different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thanks to the owner for a fabulous dining experience. He takes the time to greet (and even get to know) all his customers. The food was excellent as well as the service. The breads were amazing too. No complaints! If you visit the island it's a wonderful place for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PortersKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for such great recommendations. It was good to chat with you guys that evening.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best indian in St Lucia or even the Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ate dinner during our stay 11-18 March. Had a mixed seafood kebab starter which was the best I have had. We then ate goat saag and a chicken madras. Madras was hot but full of flavour and the goat was to die for. Never eaten goat but can only recommend it! Staff very friendly and met the chef and owner who is very proud and quite rightly so. If I ever go back to St Lucia I would eat there every time. If this restaurant was in London I would eat there weekly. Go and try it out!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholasaldrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear NicholasAldrich,

Thanks for considering us as top notch. And yes, I am very proud of my team here at SOI who provide a great experience for our guest. We value your comments and always look forward to working even harder to ensure that you get to enjoy every experience with us whenever you visit.

Best regards and looking forward to future visits from you.

Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Of India also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Spice Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing