We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly Food!!!”

Flavours of the Grill
Ranked #5 of 83 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heavenly Food!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have been going to St. Lucia every year for 19 years. We are foodies and go to a different restaurant every night. Flavours of the Grill is a local place with a Chef that is gifted in the art of preparing heavenly dishes! The sauces are to die for! The prices are half the cost of the other places and we fell in love with the Chef and the lovey Danette! Danette will charm you with her delightful stories and the Chef will make your taste buds melt! We would eat at this restaurant every night!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank junglepalm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    126
    24
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Absolutely eat here if you want a great meal and authentic St Lucian experience.”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is not your polished, touristy, resort like restaurant. But it is the sort of friendly place I would eat at regularly if I lived here. The atmosphere is inviting, the food is savory, delicious, and half the price of anywhere else. Bring cash as they don't take credit cards (typical for local places) but bring your appetite, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank bermuda_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best deal on food in St.Lucia!”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is the one Restaurant in all of Saint Lucia that customers can have a unique dining experience at a fraction of the price at others. This Restaurant is located in the heart of Gros Islet Town. The young, courteous and friendly owner / chef - O'Nell Daly is very passionate about delivering quality food and service to his customers. The experience was definitely beyond my expectatation. I highly recommend the Pork Chop, I will be a customer for life. My friends love eating at this retaurant.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank edharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Chef, Food, Value and Atmosphere - Flavour of St. Lucia”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I was down in St. Lucia for the annual jazz fes and got wind of this restaurant in Gros Islet well away from the festivities. I was sure glad I made it because I had to go back for one more plate of food. Chef O'Nell is hands down - a craftsman. Everything was made to order and I waited in eager anticipation everytime my server Esma or Danette (his fiancee) came out of the kitchen with plates of food. I truly got some good flavours/fusions at his tastefully decorated restaurant near the sea. The soups I tried (pumpkin and cream of vegetable) were nothing short of gourmet, and anything raw he puts on the grill comes off well seaonsed and melt in your mouth and leaving you begging to come back. Then those desserts are just off the chain, they are made fresh each day and totally seals the deal. What is most remarkable is being able to sit with O'Nell and hear his story and somehow identify with him - who would have thought he went to school to do business management and then came out and lived his dream to be a Chef. Well I am sure happy he ain't pushing paper in an office but instead is using his hands to bless others with that magic. I quite think these prices are a steal - this is EXTRA value for money! There should be no iffs/ ands/ or buts ..... just go!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Stoogie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not miss”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Flavours of the Grill, Ste Lucia.
We went to Flavours of the Grill on January 25, 2011 for a small wedding reception. We wanted something typically Caribbean but with quality and reasonable price. At Flavours of the Grill, we found all of that and more. First, when we arrived, they had a just married sign over the door. Nice touch. The restaurant is colourful and a good size accommodating many people and staying intimate at the same time. The service is personal and friendly. The most important, the food is delicious. The restaurant belongs to Chelf O”nell. We were a party of six, took each a different meal and everybody had one comment. DELICIOUS. There was none of the burning hot spices that kill the taste. One in the party thought that going to Flavours of the Grill was the best moment in our vacation. If you are looking to get out of the “ tourists “ restaurants and are looking for a real Caribbean feeling, don’t miss Flavours of the Grill. As for the price, you will be surprise that such delicious food cost so less. I reserved through internet and there was no problem. Do not miss.
Richard Lacombe, Canada

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank errel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavours of the Grill also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Flavours of the Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing