We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food - if you can stomach the mysogeny and crazy wait”

Somewhere Special Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food - if you can stomach the mysogeny and crazy wait”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Went to this place in early April 2012. PJ, the owner, said they were renovating but we could sit on a picnic table outside. We ordered, and waited. And waited. And waited. As we waited, PJ took off several times: once to get smokes, then to get a rum and coke, and then for some mystery brown paper bag. We weren't offered a drink. Thankfully, someone on the street helped us out and brought us delicious rum punch. We kept waiting. For the better part of an hour, we were told the food was minutes away, and "good things come to those who wait." Nearly two hours after we ordered, we got ready to leave. Then they scrambled and had plates out. Thankfully, they delivered them to our hotel. And at the very end of it all, the food was delicious. But I wouldn't go back. Did I mention that PJ was either high, drunk or both - and reeked of stale urine? Mmmmmm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neoviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Caribbean under the stress free tree!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Claudia and PJ have definitely lived up to the name of their place, I spent hours there with my friend soaking up the atmosphere of Gros Islet, eating the great food, and leaning from the wisdom of PJ.... Do yourself a favor!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beanotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Under the stress-free tree”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We first met PJ, co-owner of Somewhere Special, under his stress-free tree. We enjoyed the chat and were intrigued by that breadfruit soup on the menu, a specialty of Claudia, his wife. We came back the following day for a spiced rum and dinner. We weren't disappointed. Great conversations, fabulous food, fair prices and... the stress-free tree. If you're looking for a quiet place where you'll eat divine food and wish to get to know fascinating people, you should go to Somewhere Special...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eclectic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
1 review
“Fanastic”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here, service was excellant, food was really good and would recommend it to all our family and friends both here in St lucia and those visiting as well

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
“Authentically awesome St. Lucian experience.”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

If you are looking for a truly authentic and rewarding dining experience you simply have to visit "Somewhere Special" restaurant in the village of Gros Islet. We had outstanding food for a very reasonalbe price. The owners are extremely friendly, give insightful information about the local area, and are very hospitable. It was one of the highlights of our trip to St. Lucia. Check this place out...you will be glad that you did!

Geoff and Tanya Manning
Vancouver Island, BC

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manningsTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somewhere Special Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing