We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Caribbean under the stress free tree!”

Somewhere Special Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Caribbean under the stress free tree!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Claudia and PJ have definitely lived up to the name of their place, I spent hours there with my friend soaking up the atmosphere of Gros Islet, eating the great food, and leaning from the wisdom of PJ.... Do yourself a favor!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beanotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Under the stress-free tree”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We first met PJ, co-owner of Somewhere Special, under his stress-free tree. We enjoyed the chat and were intrigued by that breadfruit soup on the menu, a specialty of Claudia, his wife. We came back the following day for a spiced rum and dinner. We weren't disappointed. Great conversations, fabulous food, fair prices and... the stress-free tree. If you're looking for a quiet place where you'll eat divine food and wish to get to know fascinating people, you should go to Somewhere Special...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eclectic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
1 review
“Fanastic”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here, service was excellant, food was really good and would recommend it to all our family and friends both here in St lucia and those visiting as well

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
“Authentically awesome St. Lucian experience.”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

If you are looking for a truly authentic and rewarding dining experience you simply have to visit "Somewhere Special" restaurant in the village of Gros Islet. We had outstanding food for a very reasonalbe price. The owners are extremely friendly, give insightful information about the local area, and are very hospitable. It was one of the highlights of our trip to St. Lucia. Check this place out...you will be glad that you did!

Geoff and Tanya Manning
Vancouver Island, BC

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manningsTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Unassuming "hole in the wall" type of place but where the food is so good you have to come back. That's what we did tonight to get the fabulous fried fish and its mustard sauce. Say hi or bonjour or guten tacht or hola to PJ for us! And make sure to ask for breadfruit as well :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elmarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somewhere Special Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing