We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Lucian by Rex Resorts

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Great place , staff are amazing really good customer services by the beach massage , drinks , water sports etc . The rooms are amazing with amazing good touch , gym etc
Love the food , drinks , breakfast amazing with friendly staff . Lots with crew airlines staying over too what u make friends by the beach

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brustolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    625
    298
    157
    112
See reviews for
290
746
41
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited this resort a couple of weeks ago and frankly i wish i was back there now. Their reception to the resort was great and the floral display was warmly appreciate. Rooms were clean and comfy and the view of the beach was great. The food was great nice variety although one of the dinning places was under renovation i will most definitely be visiting this resort again. The ambiance of the beach front dinning area is great and the staff at this resort is great always willing to make your stay with them as pleasant as can be oh yes the bar staff... had some fun with them they had us and a few other couples enjoying ourselves.The settings is great for couples looking for a romantic change of scenery and i would recommend this resort to anyone oh and the sunset view is great........

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sheldon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had just come from Coconut Bay Beach and Spa Resort in the south on the Atlantic side and thought we should check out the action and beaches in the north....we wish we stayed at Coconut Bay. The Beach at this hotel and all of Rodney bay is amazing but this hotel is not worth it. Stay at the sister resort The Royal instead much nicer. This hotel is rundown, and looks like the Titanic which may have been the theme they were going for 40 years ago. The food was below average and even though we had paid for the all inclusive option, we were told that mimosas were not included due to the champagne in them. Ridiculous. The rooms are old but they have updated the bathroom which was the best part of the room. The pool area is decent as is the beachfront restaurant but not the food. The blended drinks are nice though. Bottled water is not included here either even on the all inclusive plan. Not worth it, pay a bit more and stay elswhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YYCHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gros Islet hotels

Castries, Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our Annual Baptist Ladies' three day Retreat was spent at St. Lucian by Rex Resorts. Welcoming atmosphere, friendly and efficient staff and pleasant ambience contributed to making it a great weekend. The Conference Room was tastefully and appropriately organized. Meals were great with lots of choices for healthy eating as well as for more indulgent appetites.
I will return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked a Ladies Retreat at The REX St. Lucian. for Three days It was the best choice we have made over the last five years. The conference Room Set-up up was excellent , our room location was well selected and very comfortable. The booking staff and Housekeeping was excellent with the delivery of their service. Our meals was beyond expectation and it was all very affordable. We had booked the Rex for our Retreat 2014.

Room Tip: Beach Front room where I stayed was quiet, the view was magnificent. The garden and pool view ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although the Rex Resorts is nearly more then half closed down and even though the rooms were pretty basic and in need of updating, you can't help but be a bit confused whilst slowly start to fall in love with the place (took me two days). So many things need doing... The bars need to be a highlighted feature not just a place to get a drink (in a plastic cup) but more a destination to meet other guests and socialise all night (if you so wish). There should be reggae or local music playing in the lobby and reception areas to highlight where you are (in the middle of the Caribbean) not Rod stewart and other major artists. There should be more evening entertainment...Don't give up yet, Read on...Despite all of this it's simply amazing and friendly. The chefs make the most amazing meals every day (so all inclusive is a must). The beach is different to other caribbean beaches. The locals mingle with you and the sea tends to be rough and can come right up to the hotel (which you learn to love too).
When you arrive you get a silver band to say that you are staying in the Rex. If you ever return again for another holiday you get given the Gold Band. About 70% of the guests I saw had the Gold on there wrists. I can see why in a rustic, simple no thrills way. I want the Gold Band Too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelflow-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent the holiday weekend at this hotel attending a ladies retreat. The staff I encountered were very friendly and warm, they made our weekend stay very comfortable , the rooms were always clean, towels were changed everyday, and the grounds of the resort were always clean and the flowers are beautiful. Tasty food and a variety of good drinks, especially the cocktails.

Room Tip: Poolside room, great view of the Ocean. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady3167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.3 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
2.5 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
23.0 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.6 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucian by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucian by Rex Resorts

Property: St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
Address: Rodney Bay, Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lucian by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by one of the most popular beaches in St Lucia and backed by charismatic Rodney Bay, the St Lucian by Rex Resorts has an unrivalled location on the Caribbean shore of this beautiful island. By day, the focus is on the stunning sandy beach where the glistening Caribbean waters tempt paddlers, swimmers and sporting enthusiasts from their sun-loungers. Enjoy international cuisine at the Mariners Restaurant which affords spectacular views across the sea. After dinner, experience the unique mix of local and cosmopolitan nightlife at a choice of atmospheric bars in Rodney Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your St. Lucian by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lucian By Rex Hotel Castries
St Lucian Rex Resorts
Rex St Lucian
St. Lucian By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing