We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rodney” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Lucian by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rodney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The many reviews of this hotel generally convey a fair impression. The best beach we saw in St. Lucia is a few steps from the front with views over the beautiful Rodney Bay looking out to Pigeon Island. The gardens are attractive and well maintained, although sadly the best area is in a part of the hotel complex which is currently largely unoccupied.

The rooms are perfectly respectable though parts of the hotel are somewhat faded in the old colonial style. The staff are mostly very friendly and helpful.

The food is presented buffet style and there is usually something tasty. It is great for breakfast overlooking the waves. The Oriental Restaurant in the hotel is advertised as available if booked before 3pm though we were then told it was full for the next two nights so if you want onsite variety you need book early.

The all inclusive style for food and drink has the benefit of not needing cash and a never ending supply of rum cocktails, at a cost of being tagged!

Economics has necessitated trawling a wider range of guests, which has led to the need to avoid a few ill-mannered elements around the hotel, though this has not discouraged returnees, UK and North American, many of whom have been coming back for 20 years. That is some compliment.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the beach - provided you are not a light sleeper likely to be disturbed by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardAHWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    622
    297
    155
    112
See reviews for
289
741
41
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel in need of refirbishment ,food not of a great standard considering price ,hit and miss if you would get a clean towel or if you get a towel at all ,may be due to lack of staff or starting to late as rooms still being cleaned as late as 1730 ,put up with cock roaches after all this could be due to age of hotel.Reception staff very freindly and obliging pool at hotel small ,but on the up side you can use the facilitys at the royal next door .On the whole I did not expect the Ritz but do expect a reasonable standard considering the price I payed for holiday I am glad to say I didnt go all inclusive as we dined out all nights except one ,hower this option is expensive as average meal approx 70 GBP .However after all said the hotel is in ideal localion

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Got a good deal with Virgin Holidays for 14 days Room only at the St Lucian by Rex in June 2012.
The hotel is in a perfect location on the beach and with restaurants nearby.

On arrival to the hotel, we were handed a cocktail, which was much needed after a long transfer of 1 1/2 hours from the airport in the South of the Island.

Reception staff was polite and friendly and any small problems were quickly dealt with.

Because it was low season, we were upgraded to a sea view room, with a view of Pigeon Island.
The room was Large, with a good size balcony and a fridge to put your beer and wine in.

The next day we has our meeting with the Virgin rep, she was very efficient and helpful and informed us of the free trip to pigeon island, offered to all virgin customers, just give her 24 hours notice and they arrange a mini bus to take you there and pick you up again, They also pay for the entrance fee.

We only drank at the bar a few times, but the service was good and the staff friendly.

Being room only, we travelled around a lot for meals and drinks.

Tequila Joes is close, and a good place to drink, Whiskey in the jar in Rodney Bay Village, is also a very good place to drink and we went their most lunchtimes.

Best restaurants were buzz, Razzmatazz and for local food, the food court above the supermarket is good and cheap.

Beer is cheap in the supermarket and we topped up our fridge and had drinks on the balcony early evenings.

Virgin also do a chill out and relax services on the way home, where you check in for your return flight at the hotel and then are taken to the airport just before your flight, so no queues.

The St Lucian is a great base for your holiday and we had a very enjoyable time in St Lucia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonMisterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

'Just returned from a week there. We stayed in an ocean-front room and don't regret it. Our room was OK, having been through a recent (1-2 yrs?) remodel. It was neat, clean and the staff took good care of us.

PRO: Spectacular, FANTASITC BEACH! Friendly, helpful staff. Remodeled room (3rd fl, north end, ocean side) was acceptable, not flashy.

CON: Too little lighting in bathroom. Sink didn't drain... ever... even after asking to have it fixed. Twice. Door lock was sketchy--use the in-room vault! Getting ice was a PITA--EVERY SINGLE time. Hotel "hosted" cruise ship passengers on the beach 5 of 7 days, which basically ruined the beach "experience". (Wish I'd known THAT in advance!)

Summary: The facility--especially the south end which is basically moth-balled because it's inhabitable--is pretty worn. OK... REALLY worn. The staff where friendly and helpful--well, except for getting ice. The beach is absolutely spectacular! So that's it. Aside from the ice and the rude/unwelcome cruise ship people it's a great beach destination and pretty good value. (BTW, the Royal Rex next door doesn't let the cruise ship people on THEIR beach... for my money, I'd spend the extra couple hundred $$ a day and stay there next time... it's not only much nicer/newer but they apparently share the same friendly staff).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from 3 weeks at the Rex St Lucia and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a Beachfront room which was very good, the all-inclusive food deal was good, the staff really friendly and the entertainment fun. It is more like a family hotel than a big resort hotel. The site of the hotel is perfect.

OK there are the odd items you can criticise but it is a 3 star hotel and an excellent 3 star hotel at that.

Recommended

Room Tip: Go for a Beachfront room with a wonderful view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forbes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for a birthday celebration in December - we were upgraded to first floor garden view room which was very nice.The view was beautiful - straight over the bay and the sunsets were amazing every night ! The hotel staff were all very nice - if sometimes a little slow in the restaurant. Cristalle on reception was one of the best we have ever come across - so friendly and helpful !! The room was comfortable and appeared to have been one of the better ones. Several guests had to be moved due to plumbing problems, but overall we were content. We travelled at the beginning of December and the hotel was fairly empty. The evenings were quiet despite some quite good entertainment. We felt that the staff did their best but the hotel definately needed refurbishment ....

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor garden view room and you get a seaview for free !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorryleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our first time on St Lucia and second visit to a Rex hotel. This is a 3 star hotel and absolutely delivers what it promises. We stayed on an all inclusive package and it was a tremendous 7 day bit of winter sunshine - Rodney Bay is probably the best beach on the island, great buffet style food, all drinks thrown in. The common parts and some things like beach showers need a bit of TLC but that said the rooms are very nice, the towels are fluffy, two clean pools and a great beach with safe bathing.

The only downside is that the beach is rightly public and when the cruise ships are in the boys with the chairs stake out their space very early... but a two minute walk up from the hotel means you are in a nice quiet space.

The hotel is a firm favourite with the Canadian 'snow geese' coming down to escape their severe winter weather - so as long as you can handle boisterous groups of Canadians and a lot of Québécois speaking loud accented French then you should be fine.

The staff are lovely - big thanks to Cherise on the front desk/customer relations side. I managed to rick my back and she was helpful and caring... and constantly asking after my health. The manager AJ (?) was also very accommodating when we found that our travel agent hadn't booked us the room we had been promised.

Overall we'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.3 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
2.5 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
1.6 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Papillon by Rex Resorts
Papillon by Rex Resorts
#5 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucian by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucian by Rex Resorts

Property: St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
Address: Rodney Bay, Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lucian by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by one of the most popular beaches in St Lucia and backed by charismatic Rodney Bay, the St Lucian by Rex Resorts has an unrivalled location on the Caribbean shore of this beautiful island. By day, the focus is on the stunning sandy beach where the glistening Caribbean waters tempt paddlers, swimmers and sporting enthusiasts from their sun-loungers. Enjoy international cuisine at the Mariners Restaurant which affords spectacular views across the sea. After dinner, experience the unique mix of local and cosmopolitan nightlife at a choice of atmospheric bars in Rodney Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, West Indies, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your St. Lucian by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lucian By Rex Hotel Castries
St Lucian Rex Resorts
Rex St Lucian
St. Lucian By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing