We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Holiday”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2007

East Winds Inn is a fabulous and charming resort!
My husband and I married at East Winds Inn in July and both agree it was the perfect wedding and holiday for us and our family.
The minute we arrived we were welcomed by the friendly staff who ultimately made our stay very special indeed. We were upgraded to a pretty ocean view room which has a fabulous view of the beach and sea.
The food was very good and of course there was plenty of champagne! (Just be careful as it is very easy to gain several pounds in weight - not a good idea when you have a wedding dress to squeeze into!)
The 'help yourself' swim up pool bar was excellent for trying out every cocktail under the sun although they were never as good as the ones from the actual bar staff!
If you want to see the island, book a speed boat trip (from reception) where you will enjoy the sights, snorkelling and drinks for a reasonable cost.
Finally, if you are willing to enjoy yourself and meet some fabulous and friendly people in a relaxed and delightful resort then this is the place for you. If however you are miserable and aloof then you will no doubt share a different view to all of the other positive reviews about East Winds Inn!!!
We will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank honeymooners070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 870 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2007

On arrival at East Winds ( up a bumpy road ) , we were at first welcomed into the resort by the manager and the reception staff, who were all very welcoming. A security/ porter then welcomed us to our room and walked my partner around the gardens/ hotel to show him the facilities available.
This resort is not a place for somone looking for an active holiday its for those people who are looking for relaxation, superb food and drink and to meet good new friends( guests { Ian, Janet, Steph and Chris} and staff).
Could not understand some previous comments made about the staff in the hotel. We found them extremely helpful, polite and always looking for ways to make youir holiday feel that little extra special - from the gardeners through to the chefs ( who i must say were absolutely wonderful!!).
The cottages / huts were of extremley high quality, massive , massive bed, large patio with small kitchen / fridge / coffeemaker / sink. There was more than needed hanging and drawer space as well as a large bathroom with double sinks, strong hairdryer,robes, beach and bath towels, a sunken stone shower area, which does open to the outdoors put is still very private.
The beach and pool area are very attractive with a swim up bar where you can happily mix your own cocktails!!!
The beach is a gem with pretty , natural sun shades and brushes to sweep the sand from the beds.
Food - well what can be said- amazing every day - a buffet breakfast ( egg chef, fruit, cereal,breads etc), lunch was sometimes buffet but they do offer a bbq which is amazing especially when the steel band is playing , dinner is out of this world, great french chefs that produce great food - fish, shellfish,steaks,vegatables,puddings,cheeses there is something for everyone. Entertainment every night with pianists,steel bands, shaker bands, trad. and caribbean music The chefs were quite happy to accommodate dietry needs if given notice.( I must say ,that the food ans entertainment does not lend itself towards childrens tastes).
All of the staff were brilliant, yes, they do work at a slower pace but wouldnt you if you lived in a place close to paradise. Whats the rush, its great to get away from the rat race and enjoy a piece of luxury (the slower the better for me)
Overall this has been one of our greatest holidays, the people, the resort, the wild life( hummingbirds, finches, crabs all come to your porch area to be fed but are certainly not a nuisence), the seas, the trips available, and the walk back from the next resort The Windjammer hotel!!
A lovely walk along the bay to the Windjammer hotel but you will soon return to the East Winds and appreciate its serenity and luxury.
Remember you are in the tropics so there are mosquitos but with precautions of deet and the sprays pprovided by the hotel we both had a couple of bites, had many more when been to Europe.
Again i must praise the staff ( Hannah , Pasha, Chrysanthasus, Kerwin, Richard and of course Gareth the mananger who was always visible and approachable ) for making our holiday suh a memorable time.
We were made to feel as individual guests rather than a room number.
Hilary and John

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank lovetotravelwedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

I don't know where the last reviewer stayed but it can't have been East Winds, or for that matter anywhere on St Lucia! For as start yes there are shanty towns but that is to be expected. However, everyone of the people we met inside and outside the hotel could not have been friendlier. Tourism is their number one trade now so it is in their interest to be friendly. Right, lets get back to the subject of the wonderful East Winds. We stayed there for 2 weeks in July (myself, wife and two children - 3 and 5). It was our first family holiday together and I wanted somewhere special and I found it thanks to the reviews on Tripadvisor. it is tranquil, clean, food is superb with a great wine selection. Raymund (the f&b manager) kindly took it on himself to offer me a tour of the wine cellar and I was most impressed (it can hold 10,000 bottles). The gardens are wonderful and the rooms excellent. We stayed in a deluxe room which was large, clean and had a great bathroom with a wonderful shower and circular bath beneath. The main thing is its quiet with not too many people. We more or less had the pool to ourselves for the first week. There are no kids clubs and that is one of the reasons I chose it. My kids just loved swimming in the pool and sea, using the kayaks and generally exploring for lizards and crabs. The staff were wonderful with my kids. They all knew their names and would greet them whenever they saw them. In fact all the staff were wonderful. Even the garden staff were friendly and the garden manager got someone to climb a coconut tree and get us some nuts. When he saw my youngest trying to catch a crab he later came up to us and presented him with a crab that he had caught for him! I cannot praise all the staff enough and they took great care of us. I don't know what the last reviewer meant by criticising the waiting staff as they were all great (thanks Debbie and Christine). My kids made friends with everyone especially Sebastian and Wendel (always had a great big grin on his face). If you want paradise East Winds is it. I would certainly go back. The problem now is finding somewhere as good for my next holiday. One thing - don't bother with the Rainforest Gondola trip.Too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank devsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

St. Lucia is beautiful in some spots (rainforest), ugly in others (the shanti's along the main roads) , but downright scary still in other areas (the locals in the shanti's).
My wife and I honeymooned at East Winds in St. Lucia for a week in late July. We came upon St. Lucia because we desired a very remote, very quiet, very tranquil beach and secluded island and we thought St. Lucia was it. We were wrong. We also came upon East Winds Inn because we desired one of the best-reviewed yet still secluded and private hotels on the island. We were wrong about that as well.
First off I will say that St. Lucian residents (mainly the banana farmers on the South end of the island) do not seem to like tourists as evidenced by the fact that we were flipped off on 5 separate occasions by pedestrians whilst taking the taxi ride from the airport (on the south end) to East Winds (on the northwest edge). We were also glared at by just about every local we drove by. Basically it was so bad that if the taxi happened to get a flat tire I would hope the driver was armed in some way because the people around were showing us that we were definitely not welcome there.
On the plus side, once we got to East Winds the first thing we came upon was the huge security gate at the entrance and 2 'guards' standing there. And something these other reviewers failed to say is that security guards are constantly walking around the property and just keeping an overall watch. I guess that's the price you pay for having such a luxurious property (in comparison to the rest of the island) be placed on an island like St. Lucia and have it open to a public beach where the locals use the beach regularly. Luckily these locals were nicer than the farmers we encountered on our way in.
Speaking of the beach, it was beautiful. The sand was typical brown, grainy and by no means sugary-soft but still soothing to walk on. The water was the perfect temperature however it was pretty silty and so while snorkeling you could only see about 5 feet in front of you. Also, there is a water runoff canal running through East Winds which brings excess water to the sea from the higher-elevated part of East Winds and we wouldn't have minded it (unlike other reviewers apparently) had it not been worked in by East Winds workers every other day we were there. We understood that the ditch served a good purpose and that it had standing water in it which causes more bugs, but it just kind of takes away from the peaceful/careless ambience when there's a guy working in a ditch with high-water boots on nearby every other day. But still the wife and I wanted to have a good time so we turned a blind eye to this.
We also turned a blind eye to the fact that our ocean view room was very small and had many wood shutters (ie no glass windows). We were told we'd be in an ocean view suite however a booking error put us in the ocean view room; a nice East Winds manager explained it to us and offered to move us to a suite, however we would lose our ocean view. We declined the offer and kept the ocean view along with the small room (which by American standards would be a VERY small room). And as an aside, had we known that the ocean view rooms at East Winds had wood shutters instead of glass windows we probably wouldn't have stayed at East Winds at all. I'm sure the designer's thought was that the occupants would get to hear the ocean at night (which we did 1 night) as well as the plethora of bugs/frogs/birds, however the tradeoff is that anyone outside and near your room can hear pretty much everything going on inside your room (ie there's no privacy). So all you other newlyweds out there might want to steer far away from the ocean view rooms here.
Lastly, 'steer far away' is something we wish we did for this reason: the wait staff at the East Winds were rude, unprofessional, very bitter and sometimes downright mean to my wife and I. Out of the dozen or so wait staff, only 2 of them were consistently nice and smiling and welcoming to my wife and I. The exception was our first night; every one of the waitstaff were helpful, smiling and caitered to our needs the first night and we were very happy to be there. But for some reason by the second day the wait staff turned rude and were no longer helpful. We don't know what turned them around and we're pretty sure we didn't insult them, but suddenly our finished dishes were taking forever to get picked up and the smiles quickly vanished (except for 2 of them) and on one occasion the somelier for the night straight up missed the wineglass on a pour and poured wine on my plate and even though she saw what she did she said and did nothing about it except have a bitter-looking face (luckily I had just finished the dish on the plate).
Anyhow, if not for the 2 waitstaff who were consistently happy to see us and serve us, and if not for the great bartenders (every one of them), who were always happy to make a drink for us, we would have asked East Winds management to move us.

Overall we wish we had gone to a secluded resort in Hawaii (the lack of customs would have made things a lot easier for us), because we do know that there wouldn't have been such a negative stigma hanging over us for being American tourists like there was in St. Lucia. If we can help it we're never going back to St. Lucia nor East Winds Inn and would never recommend the place to friends or family.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank StapletonCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, President/Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2007

Two Too Harsh To Be True

Recognizing that everyone is entitled to their own opinion about a holiday experience, we read this uncharacteristically negative review of our hotel with surprise and disappointment, as there was absolutely no indication that these guests were anything but satisfied with their stay at East Winds Inn. In keeping with our policy of following through on all reviews, we contacted all departments and our General Manager for their input about this couple’s experience, which provided some interesting results.

We discovered that the booking error was on the part of their agent (who readily admitted to their mistake), and while we were not obligated to do so, we offered several alternatives even though the hotel was fully booked. As the review states, “ a nice East Winds manager…offered to move us to a suite. We declined the offer..”

Other positive comments from the review make it difficult for us to understand such a harsh position. Examples include: “a luxurious property (in comparison to the rest of the island)”, “Speaking of the beach, it was beautiful”, ‘The sand was soothing to walk on”, “The water was the perfect temperature” “no glass windows…occupants would get to hear the ocean as well as the plethora of bugs/frogs/birds” “bartenders (every one of them) who were always happy to make a drink for us”

It seems that the majority of their grievance was with the island of St. Lucia itself, and they state that they wished they had gone to Hawaii instead. Clearly, we cannot comment on that, other than to state that anyone who has ever traveled to the Caribbean will be quick to point out that St. Lucia has a reputation of not only being one of the most beautiful islands in the world, but also inhabited by some of the friendliest people. In this regard, our service staff is well known for their hospitality and accommodating attitude, as reported in virtually all reviews of East Winds Inn.

In the end, we would encourage potential guests of East Winds Inn to take comfort in the fact that at the time of this writing, we have a total of 74 posted reviews on our resort…. 64 of which, or over 85% are rated 5 out of 5, and another 6 are rated 4 out of 5. This represents a total of 70 out of 74, or some 95% with a very high customer satisfaction rating. We understand that as much as we are constantly trying and would like to, we cannot make 100% of the people happy all of the time, but in the same light, we should not be unduly criticized and penalized for aspects we have no control over. Perhaps these guests simply lacked travel experience and had unrealistic expectations of an understated, authentic Caribbean resort, which the bulk of our guests clearly enjoy.

Thank you for your support and considering East Winds Inn in your travel plans.

Yours very truly,

George J. Reti
President/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Eastwinds Inn is a very unique and wonderful place to stay. It is quiet, intimate, refined, relaxing, and a perfect getaway destination. We stayed in a deluxe room - your own small semi detached cottage set in beautiful tropical gardens. The room consists of a large bedroom with a ceiling fan and air conditioning, plenty of hanging space and storage. The bathroom is large with his and hers sinks and the most fantastic stone walled shower, some guests were uncomfortable that the showers did not have blinds but there is a degree of privacy as the window area is quite high up. There is a lovely outside seating area with a well stocked fridge. The pool is quiet with a swim up self service bar and there is a lovely quiet beach with plenty of seating areas and shady areas if required. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel were the food reviews and East Winds certainly lives up to its reputation, the food is amazing, first class, freshly cooked and the menus thoughtfully produced. As I wrote before this is a very quiet property and is not for those who are looking for a wild party time, entertainment is very low key but perfect for the hotel. The drink is all premium branded with champagne there for the asking. A special mention should be made about the staff who were wonderful and made you feel like you were at home away from home. Gareth the hotel manager runs the hotel superbly. St Lucia is a gorgeous Caribbean island and we went on many trips. We will definitely return to St Lucia and would only stay in East Winds Inn.

Stayed: July 2007
10  Thank PaulaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We had read all the reviews before we booked this holiday and they are all accurrate whether glowing or moderate review.

This hotel is unique in it's calm unintrusive style of service.
Simple yet elegant. In a beautiful setting.

Watersports and activities are easily booked/paid for locally at Windjammer resort which is acrross the bay. You can swim , Kayak or walk over there, and at $20 dollar half day which includes one motorised and one sail sport it repesents good vaue. NB Banana boat cannot be booked it is exclusive to Windjammer....

Main points to add to previous comments/reviews:-

Very child friendly but for wholesome family persuits only,
No organised activities of any nature.
Entertainment is only during dinner as background music.
Food is excellently prepared, very fresh and includes French and Caribbean dishes. Good selection of wines that compliment each course of the meal are offered.
Food choice and style is varied over your holiday yet each meal is subtly different. A la carte at most sittings except the BBQ meals.
Saturday lunchtime BBQ with Paella and Steel band is not to be missed.
Food and relaxation would be the main reason to stay here.
Colonial feel ,very clean everywhere, with high quality sunbeds etc.
Beach is NOT the powder soft white sand, it is rough golden sand
Sea is NOT the aqua blue that you might imagine. Clear sometimes but NOT a snorkel paradise.

This hotel is the place to relax, with attentive and mostly friendly Staff .The bar staff are particually friendly and always courtious

Guests are all equally charming and he atmosphere promotes convivial chat and friend making.
We loved our holiday here and would return, with or without the children. Although perhaps away from the rainy season, the sea would be better. Also the nights are quite noisy in the rain, you would think you are in the middle of a rain forest with all the garden noise added in.

The hotel is a good 1.5 hours from the airport and we would recomend the heicopter transfer on arrival. Not necessary perhaps on the journey home as you will be so relaxed !!!
We booked through our operator but next time I would book with confidence direct with St Lucia helicopters, it's sligtly cheaper.

Thank you to all at East Winds for letting us live the caribbean dream.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Coppya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Surely the title of my review says it all...

But for those of you who want to know more, please read on.

Firstly I'd like to say how wonderful all of the staff at East Winds are, they honestly seem like they want to make your say as special as possible, and they certainly did.

Myself and my new hubby have just returned from East Winds after spending a week there for our Honeymoon. I'd like to have gone for longer but we have a little boy who we left with grandparent so didnt want to be away from him for too long. The setting is just paradise, beautiful gardens, beautiful rooms, beautiful views etc. We stayed in a beach front room, which was just perfect.

We stayed in the resort for most of the week enjoying the peace and tranquility it offers, our only outing was on the Brig Unicorn, sail day (on a ship used in the filming of The Pirates of the Caribbean 1 and 2). This was definately worth doing as you get to see a lot of the islands coast line. We enjoyed seeing the Pitons (two pointy mountains that emerge from the sea). Dinner was also good on the ship, and unlimited drinks are included in the price you've paid so thats always good. It was a really good day out, just dont forget to take your suncream and a towel, as you get the chance to have a dip under a waterfall and a swim later in the trip. The resort is only 5 minutes away from the harbour by taxi (which is included in the price of the sail) so that was handy too.

Anyway back to East Winds...If you like lazy days, sipping cocktails, sunbathing, relaxing in the pool (with a cocktail in hand obviously) then this is the place for you. Myself and my hubby both lead quite busy lives, and I cannot believe how relaxed I was during our stay, it was just perfect. The only thing i would say is if you're the sort of person who isnt happy unless you're active, then this may not be for you...it is very quiet. That said there is another resort just around the beach (which you can easily walk to in about 2 minutes along the beach) called the Windjammer, there are water sports like windsurfing, jet ski-ing etc which you are able to hire. We enjoyed the relaxation so didnt enquire about costs for this.

The food at East Winds is amazing. Most of the chef's are French so dinner (at 7.30pm onwards) is a la carte, very posh. We enjoyed trying some things which you normally wouldnt even get to try, not sure what all of it was, but it was all good and lots of it. Dinner was 4 (sometimes 5) courses so most nights we struggled to eat our deserts, which was a shame. Breakfast and lunch were also very tasty too, they were served buffet style so again you could eat all you wanted, there was always lots of fresh fish and meats to try and plenty of salad or pasta etc. Barbeques were very good!

The entertainment during dinner (7.30pm onwards) was daily and consisted of local musicians, pianist, bands, steel drum band etc. The entertainment did however finish at 10pm (the cocktail bar didnt close until 12pm) so there were a couple of hours where there wasnt any entertainment to accompany your late night cocktail drinking. The staff did put on a CD so this didnt bother me at all. I really liked the low key local entertainment, it all added to the relaxed atmosphere at East Winds.

The airport is in the south of St Lucia and East winds is in the North so you have a hour and a half drive through the inner parts of the island to get to the resort. We've never been to the Caribbean before and i was quite suprised by how local people live over there. So just a note to expect to see a lot of run down, very poor villages on the drive to the resort. This didnt put us off being there as the resort was beautiful and so very different to the inner parts of the island. Just suprising thats all, it would not have suprised me had i been expecting it so thats why i've written it in my review. Please dont be put off.

Overall, I think if you're looking for a relaxing, quiet, tropical paradise with good food, fantastic staff and lovely cocktails, this is the place for you...It really was pure Honeymoon heaven!!!

I'd love to go back again

6  Thank Hollymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
970 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
16.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
3.5 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
14.9 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $661 - $1,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, West Indies, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing