We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

A slightly delayed review of our stay here last October. We have always wanted to stay at East Winds mainly due to the glowing reviews it gets on TA and we were not disappointed. Our room was spotless - large and airy and the problems that we had with the air con were dealt with swiftly and with minimal disturbance. The complimentary welcome bowl of fruit and bottle of rum was a nice touch. The dining at night is a fairly formal affair; to be sitting listening to the waves lapping on the beach, whilst enjoying a 4 course dinner with a pianist playing the Steinway piano is a unique experience that we will both treasure.
East winds is a lovely resort, very quiet and intimate, with some of the friendliest and helpful staff that we have met. We will definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth L, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    63
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
135
575
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Have just returned after two weeks at East Winds. The resort was about 50% occupied so consequently there were only about 25-30 people around. This suited us perfectly and we were able to relax with only the sounds of the birds and frogs to disturb us. We were in one of the round garden cottages and it was all we needed, clean, spacious and cool. On our day of departure we were given a courtesy room which was an upgrade to the one we stayed in and unless you need a TV I would say don't bother, it had a step down shower but was a smaller room than ours! The food, as has been stated elsewhere is superb, different every day and plenty of choice. The BBQ, although delicious was a little slow at times but is worth waiting for. The staff are all extremely friendly and cannot do enough for you, it would be unfair to pick any individual out, they are all ambassadors for the resort and do a great job. My only criticism and it is minor is that the photographs of the beach are very cleverly done and it is not a perfect crescent of golden caribbean sand, however it is clean and the water is very clear and East Winds can do nothing about this. To end I would say that if you want a quiet, relaxing break with attentive staff and beautiful food then you will not go far wrong at East Winds!

Room Tip: The basic rooms are fine and are bigger than the next rooms up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth L, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review it is much appreciated.

Just a word on our barbeque, it may appear a little slow at times and that is simply because all the fish and meats are cooked to order in front of our guests ,as you will have experienced first hand.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a very well maintained resort with excellent rooms. We had a room near the pool which we could not fault, everything had been thought of including a kitchenette/extra dressing area. The beds were comfortable, great quality fittings and linen.

I can understand why this place has so many great reviews but we would probably not choose to stay here again. It is not really for us, although I can appreciate why the current clientele love it so much. If you like paper doilies then you will be in heaven! Just a few points really, like lack of table service when sunbathing ( a bit of a pain to get dressed to go to the bar - the beach bar was closed while we were there) also, bear in mind that low season there is a lot of maintenance work happening which is necessary but a chainsaw going for hours is not necessarily that relaxing.

Staff were friendly, especially Simeon who was great to chat to in the bar. Good location as near to Rodney Bay (great sailing with Just Sail here) but beach is small and not spectacular. Food was very good with good vegetarian choices daily and a choice of quality wine served with dinner.

Room Tip: We were offered a more expensive room but opted for the cheaper octagonal cottage, they are so lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
215 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

What a lovely week!

We stayed in peaceful East Winds during the last week of June. This time we were in one of the beach villas with a shared private sitting room with lovely through breeze and a small private sitting room.Thanks to Glenda and the front office team for making this possible. It was lovely to be able to walk across to the beach and swim early in the morning. This is always a magical time of day for me when St Lucia wakes up and I meet up with some of the locals I know in nearby Marisule.

Housekeeping in our little house was excellent and we were well looked after by Nathalie (Natty) our housekeeper. Carter kept our fridge stocked up and there was always plenty of water (and beer if we wanted it)

As usual all the staff were superb and we were looked after very well. The food – headed up by head chef, Tomislav, was even better than last year. A really good selection of starters and well-portioned main courses in the evening. Tomislav knows how to cook his meats and fish and nothing was overcooked and it was all prepared beautifully with interesting vegetables. The lunches were also very good and thanks Harry, Lindon, Aunty Paula and the team – especially for the Dasheen pie! I can think of no better All-inclusive on the island. There was a shortage of Bombay Sapphire at the beginning of the week #(imagine) – rectified by the ever-resourceful Karen Antoine! I hope we left some for the guests coming in the following week!

After a very busy 9 days on the island, I needed a rest – and East Winds proved the perfect place to be…. What also made this a special week this time were the other guests – a really interesting mix of people who were fun to be with but who also respected everyones’ personal space. Some were repeat guests from last year and it was great to meet up again. Hello Sandy and Clare, and Pauline and Robin, Graham and Pam etc. I hope very much to meet you again…. You all made the holiday for me…

I tried yoga for the first time – albeit with a broken toe, and the instructor took great care. I enjoyed it very much and relaxing in the lovely yoga pavilion listening to the birds and wind caressing the trees was great. I might try pilates next time. It was nice to have the privacy to set up some meetings with friends on the island and Francis Reynolds in Security did a good job.

Hobie cat sailing was great fun with Kensley and, as usual, I improved my sailing under his tuition.

Both my husband and a lovely young lady called Pippa played the Steinway and it was also good to renew our acquaintance with Dien – a very talented pianist. I loved the sax/trombone combo too.

As always, with an eye for detail (!), there were some very minor issues.

The cleaning of the communal areas was not quite as good as previously. We did notice some smeared table tops in the main lounge and also some untidiness in the pool area where stuff had not been cleared – an empty can on the ground occasionally for example. I would pick up the odd thing myself and put it in the bin!

Mosquitos around the bar area near the pool. This should have been sprayed, they were a nuisance!

One lunchtime the “Cabana service” was not quite as it should be due to a shortage of staff in the restaurant. I only noticed this because it was so unusual in that we practically had to beg for a second glass of wine. ... However, well done to Debbie, Mavis and Fina for their constant and attentive service, Hanna for her wonderful cocktails, Windel for” just being him” and having me in fits of laughter one night when we invited some local friends to dinner, Kirby, Kirwen, Jacob, Gurvy, Ellie, Henry and many others…

So, I am already planning another week at wonderful East Winds next year.

Last but not least, a special thank you to Mr Gareth Leach for care and kindness when we shared a flight back to the UK. It was very much appreciated…. x

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The cottage style layout with elegant features of East Winds Inn is charming and inviting. With the option of beautiful gardens or sandy beach on property it's an ideal choice for relaxation. Quiet and tucked away, there is a respect for conservation and preservation of resources. The grounds staff is extremely knowledgeable about the various flora found on property - providing a learning experience to guests. Yoga and garden trails are available for those who are into health and wellness. I enjoyed my short time while on property.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here with my parents (in their late 60s/early 70s) for 10 nights in May, and we absolutely loved it. I'd done a fair amount of online research before booking, and we were looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing, with great food and service, and East Winds Inn met every expectation. The staff were exceptional, so welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. And we loved the restaurant and all the food - breakfast and lunch were amazing, and the more formal atmosphere of dinner was a treat each day. A rum punch before dinner was a delightful way to kick off the evening, and days spent swimming and reading books made for a very relaxing holiday.
i agree with the other reviewers - if you're looking for a party this is not the place for you. But if you're after relaxation and a total break from the real world, you won't find much better.
Thank you to all at the East Winds Inn, and we hope to return soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in adjoining Deluxe room cottages and found them to be very comfortable. My aircon broke o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it is highly appreciated.

We agree entirely with your sentiments, total relaxation is the order of the day, and what better way to start the evening, an original recipe rum punch.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is one of the best hotel to stay in .it is so small that every body gets to know each other as there can only be 60people there at one time . The food and drinks are of first class all the time we loved it so much we have been twice

Room Tip: It not a problem what room you have as all are just great ether garden or beach front this hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at East Winds, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, we could not agree more, a unique house party atmosphere. The staff will look forward to welcoming you back to The Inn for a third visit sometime in the future.

Gareth Leach
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
7.1 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Property: East Winds
Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, West Indies, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing