We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect low key break”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect low key break”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

From the most we arrived and were offered cold towels and champagne/delicious rum punch by Charms we knew we were going to be looked after. All very friendly staff with good quality all inclusive catering. Unattended swim up bar is a great idea! Dinner entertainment every night and delicious fish nearly every day. We left feeling very relaxed and recharged. The deluxe suites with their own terrace overlooking the lovely landscaped gardens were a lovely way to relax in private in the or inks and early evening. I can see why there is so much repeat business.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank EC1ECON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    64
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
141
586
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our stay at the Eastwinds in March just reinforced all the great comments and personal recommendations we had received. Gareth and his whole team are friendly, helpful and professional. We made the mistake of going on a "Sunset Cruise" out of Rodney Bay which was just a waste of money and time. Huddled back at the Eastwinds we learned to sail the Hobby Cat and ate,drank (great wine selection) and relaxed to our hearts content. The staff are universally friendly and the accommodation (we had a garden room) is just right. We are certain to return to St Lucia and will be making a beeline for the Eastwinds!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

When we started looking for a place to stay on St. Lucia to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, our criteria was quite simple. We wanted to find a place that was small & intimate, well kept accommodations with a nice beach, offered an all-inclusive plan for exceptional food/cuisine and wine/drink, and was highly rated on TripAdvisor. After eliminating all of the typical "big box resorts" and other properties that did not meet our initial screening criteria, we were left with the East Winds Inn (EWI) and a couple other properties that were not as highly rated on TripAdvisor. As a result, we concentrated our research effort on the EWI. When we initially read the reviews on TripAdvisor (as well as some info we acquired from other sources), this place almost sounded too good to be true but we decided to give it a try because we could not find a good reason NOT TO go to this place as it met or exceeded all of our selection criteria. As a result, we booked a 7-day stay in a Deluxe Cottage for the last week in April 2014 and this turned out to be the best vacation related decision we have ever made. This place turned out to be EXACTLY what we had hoped and expected it would be. So much so, it redefined what tranquility meant to us. This place was so relaxing and tranquil, that we actually forgot what day of the week it was after only being there for a couple of days! When was the last time that happened to you? Here are some other comments that we hope will be helpful to anyone else who may be considering the EWI for their St. Lucia vacation.

Accommodations
The Deluxe Cottage we rented was great. It was nestled in the beautiful gardens on the property, was well appointed, air conditioned, and only a short walk (<100 yards) to the beach. The well stocked fridge on the terrace/patio was great for grabbing a cold drink at any time of the day or making a cup of coffee (via the provided coffee maker) if you are so inclined. The "grotto" style, open air shower in the bathroom was also very cool. Plenty of solar heated water and a high-volume shower head that we found particularly enjoyable. No problem getting a good nights sleep in this cottage as it was very quite and the sheets and bedding were very comfortable.

Food/Wine/Beverage
We wanted to stay at a place that had EXCEPTIONAL food, wine, and spirits and EWI hit it out of the park in this category. First of all, the open air dining room was right on the beach and was probably the most romantic dining room we had ever had the pleasure of eating in. They also had these cool beachfront gazebo's that could be used for special occasions such as celebrating an anniversary with an intimate dinner for two which is what they did for us without us even having to ask! The breakfast service was buffet style and included made to order eggs anyway you wanted them, pancakes, smoked salmon, bacon, sausages, cereals, fresh fruit, and a variety of fantastic fresh squeezed juices which we particularly liked. For lunch, the food was also buffet style and offered a variety of fresh salads, fruit, seafood, and other offerings that changed daily. We particular liked the BBQ style lunches they had a few times during our stay where a Chef would cook delicious seafood or other meats over a large charcoal fired kettle shaped grill. The fish choices in particular were fantastic as they were brought in fresh each day. For breakfast or lunch, you could simply put on a cover up and some sandals and walk into the dining room as it was casual and they had fresh water faucets and showers in various places near the beach so that you could wash off the salt water and sand if needed. Breakfast and lunch were always great but dinner was the main event. Dinner was a more formal affair with guests expected to dress accordingly for the occasion. For gents, this included some sort of collared shirt, closed toe shoes, and slacks of some sort. Dinner typically consisted of (4) courses with at least (3) choices in each course. Simply put, the food was just OUTSTANDING! This was the equivalent of 5-star dining every night on the beach in St. Lucia - you really have to experience it in order to believe it! There was not a single course of food at any sitting that we did not enjoy. In addition to the food, the champagne, wine, and spirits were all top shelf. They had at least (4) different wine pairings each night for dinner that were selected especially for the cuisine for that evening. Countries represented on the evening wine lists included France, Italy, Chile, Argentina, and Spain just to name a few. An afternoon cocktail (or two) was something we really enjoyed while we were watching these incredible sunsets from the comfort of our beach loungers. I would recommend the EWI Rum Punch as it is made from scratch by the staff bartenders and contains no citrus juice - just rum and spices - and it sits in a wooden keg on the bar top until poured to order. Hands down, it is one of the best beach cocktails I have ever had anywhere! The live music that they had during many of the lunch and dinner services was just exceptional. The music talent included a local jazz duo, a local steelpan band, a local folk band playing traditional St. Lucian instruments, and a pianist that knew just about every song ever written playing the only Steinway grand piano at a Caribbean resort. When you stay there, remember to ask Gareth (the GM) what it takes to maintain that piano in that climate. You will be amazed at what he tells you...

EWI Staff/Service
As the old saying goes, people are usually the most important dimension of any successful business and this is also the case for EWI. The staff there is just FANTASTIC! From the management (Gareth-GM) to the front desk staff (Rochelle, Charms, and Gwen), to the numerous waiters, Chefs, water sports coordinators, housekeepers, and gardeners, this staff is always there to make your stay at EWI a memorable one!. Many thanks to Wendell, Henry, Ellie, Titus, Lilia, Paula, Gurvey, Kensly, and the many other members of the staff that are just too many to name for making our stay at EWI so memorable!

Other Guests/Other Amenities
During our stay, we estimated that there were probably no more than 25-35 guests staying at the resort at any point in time. It is our understanding that their maximum capacity for EWI is somewhere around 60 guests. It was so tranquil and peaceful there that we felt like we had our own Caribbean beach cottage on our own private beach plantation with a staff dedicated to serving us. We have never been any place where we felt like this before. This is really something special but at the same time very hard to describe. This resort appears to be well known within the UK as many of the guests that were there were from the UK. We had the pleasure of meeting and hanging out with a few of them during our stay including Becca and Adele who were sisters visiting from the UK. They were great fun and I hope we get the chance to share a cocktail with them again sometime soon - perhaps when they come to visit the States? The same was true for a couple (Gary and Kelly) we met from Ottawa at the tail end of our stay at EWI. They were also great fun. Although we did not participate in any of the Yoga or Pilates sessions, the pavilion where these events are held is very nice as is the fitness trail through the gardens. The water sports options were just what we were looking for with no noisy boats or Jet Ski's coming and going from the beach every 5 minutes. Sailing on one of the two Hobie Cats was a lot of fun and they have people there who will take you sailing if you do not already know how to do it. The quality of snorkeling on either end of the beach was a pleasant surprise. Got some great underwater video of some really cool tropical fish and Sea Urchins. The Kayaking is also great fun and somewhat sheltered in the bay off the beach so you don't have to worry about big sea swells or surf to deal with when doing this activity. It is also important to note that unlike other resorts that tend to be located in densely populated and/or accessible areas, there was not a single vendor or panhandler on the beach at any time during our stay. The same can not be said about some other places in Gros Islet/Rodney Bay because we experienced it on a shopping trip to that area so do your homework on this particular item if you find this annoying and are considering resorts in that area.

Closing/Advice
Here is my bottom line advice...If you are a couple looking for romantic getaway to a St. Lucia all-inclusive resort where the food, wine, spirits, staff, accommodations, and overall ambience is focused on total relaxation, then EWI is something you should seriously consider. In my opinion, this is not a place for young kids, singles, young newlyweds, people who want to party all night long, or people who need to be constantly entertained. I would also suggest that sometime during your stay, you can go off of the resort to take in some activities like a day-long catamaran sail from Rodney Bay down to Soufrière to see the Piton's, Sulphur Springs, Waterfalls, and do some snorkeling. We did this because it was our first time to St. Lucia and we got to see a lot of the Island from both the land and the sea which was very cool.

Many thanks to Gareth and the rest of the staff at EWI for making our 30th wedding anniversary soooooo special. We will never forget it and we hope that we will have the opportunity to return there again in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe Cottage that was numbered in the mid-teens and it was a great room. It was cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank BigGCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed for 10 nights
The resort is exceptional right from the time we arrived till we left
Made life long friends
Cannot fault anything
We even had our own resident Thomas with us for the whole stay (only if u bring him fresh fish)
By the way Thomas is the cat and he is gorgeous
Gareth and his team have made this place magical so we have already booked to go back next April
All of the staff from front desk to the garden staff were fantastic
Special mention to Gwen ,Charms, Kerwin,Kurvy,Gurvy,Hanna,debie,Miriam,windell, Titus, Lilia,Simeon,sulvanus and Claudius
This is turning out to be an oscar speech lol!!!
Not to mention Eric and my main man in the sea Nassus !!!!
Can't wait to return xxxxx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I have recently returned from a wonderful holiday at the Inn. The reviews are very accurate the hotel is excellent,food amazing and I can only ditto what other guests have said, but we were bot disappointed with the beach it wasn't what you expect in the Caribbean. Having stayed in Antigua last year the beach was far better there. I appreciate that the beaches on the Caribbean are public but I think the hotel should take a tip from the staff in Antigua and get their staff to sweep the beach every morning, the water outlet is also an eye sore and if possible this should be diverted. I appreciate the hotel had no choice but you don't expect a JCB on the beaches when you are sunbathing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have spent a lovely week at East Winds, met with lots of lovely people (of all ages! I might add) Its a great place if you like intimate small and friendly which was just up our street. Lovely gardens, typically Caribbean which is why we choose this hotel.

The food was excellent as were the wine selections at night, good to try variations of what we would normally pick. Dont let the title "All Inclusive" put you off as it is nothing like the typical All Inclusive resort, no wrist bands etc. The Cocktails we enjoyed pre-dinner were excellent. The subtle entertainment we really enjoyed particularly the excellent Pianist who we sat right next to one evening and he is just such a wonderful guy.
Most of the staff were very friendly and extremely professional, always enjoyed a nice chat with Florias the gardener who was such a nice chap.

A few tweaks here and then would make this hotel even better, and I am being honest because we would love to come back to this hotel, and so the only point we would make is that more attention be spent to the beach and surroundings would do it for us. The beach is small and a few more sunbeds and maybe upgrading the sunbeds would be beneficial as we did find ourselves a few times without a bed on the side we liked to sit. Also just a general tidy up, the ugly fencing just gave the beach a scruffy appearance, maybe some new trees to act as a screen. We were aware it was a public beach but just little things would help.

The rooms were true Caribbean style, very clean and plenty of hot water. We were near reception and therefore some noise was evident, but in all fairness to the management they offered to move us, but we declined as we had settled in. Nicely stocked fridge was a treat to enjoy a drink on the patio.

To sum up we would definitely go back to this hotel as it has so much that is excellent and with a few tweaks as mentioned would be perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank phoenix201109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had a wonderful 10 night break in the East Winds Inn .The staff were fantastic, the food excellent with plenty of local produce particularly fish on the menu. The location is great providing the opportunity to have a truly relaxing break . Well done to Gareth and all his super staff.

Room Tip: Better views from higher up the resort but all are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 400PaulF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
937 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
7.0 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
911 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,259 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Property: East Winds
Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing