We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Wedding Paradise after 15 Years!”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After a long flight and exciting road trip from the airport back to Le Brellotte Bay, our long anticipated wait was over. We arrived back at East Winds Inn in the early evening, and opened our mini bus doors to the most wonderful sound of tree frogs, the sound of the tropics! We were greeted warmly by Charms on Reception to a lovely cooling towel and a much needed glass of rum punch. We had returned to our wedding paradise. Charms informed us we were booked into our wedding/honeymoon cottage, as we had requested, how wonderful. We were married on the beach here 15 years ago and had returned to celebrate our 15th Wedding Anniversary and my 50th Birthday. We brought our 13 year old daughter with us as we had longed to return and let her experience the holiday of a lifetime, and it was!

Nothing much has changed, in the way the resort is run. Gareth Leach, the GM is still there and is doing an amazing job. It was a joy to meet with him again and chat like old times. The new room furnishings inside and out, the sun loungers and lovely furnishings in the Bamboo lounge, and Flamboyant Restaurant are beautifully appointed and have improved the resort. The gardens have matured to the most magnificent lush tropical paradise; only visiting here can you really appreciate the beauty of East Winds Inn. The gardeners, headed up by Sylvanus are kept impeccably clean and tidy, and the team are so friendly.

We want to say a very special thank you to all the Staff, and all the gardeners and maintenance team. Thank you to Mr Reynolds and the security team. There was always someone around at night, which was a really nice comfort. It was like one big happy family and nothing was too much trouble. Paula, your breakfast corner was the highlight of my daughter’s day. The first thing I did on returning home was make your banana pancakes with syrup for Lily as she was heartbroken to leave, as we all were. Thank you to Henry, Elie, Miriam, Debbie, Fina, Lilia, Mavis, and Maggie. You all worked so hard and created a light feel at breakfast and lunch, and a lovely formal feel to the special evening meals, in the elegant way only all of you can do. The bar, and wine waiters, the wonderful Hanna, who made my 50th Mango Birthday cocktail, you were amazing! Windell, Haige, Kirby, Simeon, Kerwin, what fantastic people you are. Always had a smile and made our day. The most delicious cocktails we have ever tasted. The rum punch…..divine. Elie, thank you for the wonderful refresher drinks every morning. A big thank you to Nisha, who found our daughter’s teddy that had been left in the bamboo lounge. What would we have done without you? A thank you to Juliana who runs the boutique. Juliana went to the trouble to order in a special colour of butterfly cushion cover for my daughter to match her bedroom.

Also a huge thank you to all the staff behind the scenes that helped my husband arrange my surprise 50th Birthday meal on the Pagoda overlooking the restaurant. It was decorated in flowers and the table had personalised menus wrapped in ribbons. I was overjoyed to have my special Birthday here in paradise and to top it off a gorgeous birthday cake and the pianist playing “Happy Birthday” was the perfect end to a perfect day.

Tomislav Cukman and his team of chefs cooked us the most outstanding food. Local produce, mentioned in the last review below, wonderful steaks, fresh fish every night. The red snapper was delicious, as were the other fish dishes on the menu. Our daughter enjoyed every meal and the ambience in the restaurant every evening was magical. My husband loves to cook and absolutely loved trying to figure out how the chefs did what they did. BBQ sauce was to die for, as was the orange sauce on the Banana Flambés! We especially loved the creative risottos and incredible desserts, not to mention the fine wines and strawberry champagne. The entertainment was spot on. We loved the Shak-shak band, still here after all these years. The steel band were a highlight during Saturday lunch. We especially loved “Intense Heat” the two man band who play at The Manager’s Cocktail party every Monday evening, and we purchased CD’s from them (thanks to Hanna) and the Pitons Steel Band to keep that St. Lucian vibe going at home (along with the cocktails)!

Thank you to Kensley and Nasis for your help with the hobbie cats and taking us out to experience the wonderful Caribbean sea. It was reassuring to know you were always there keeping a watchful eye on the children as they snorkelled and used the viewing boards in the sea. The resort is small and intimate and a dream for older children who enjoy nature, exploring and the sea and spending endless hours chatting to Eric the wonderful parrot who is still there after all these years. Our daughter met some lovely children and they all had a wonderful time. My daughter would like to return with us as soon as we can and said she would like to have her own honeymoon at East Winds Inn, what a wonderful compliment to the hotel. The children loved crab hunting, bird watching, spotting little geckos in the grounds and finding the tiny night frogs after dark. It is a natural paradise. We also did the garden tour, which we thoroughly enjoyed and I participated in yoga with Gill in the beautifully appointed yoga pavilion set amongst outstanding beauty. The pool has a wonderful swim up bar where you can mix your own cocktails, and there is a non-alcoholic list for the children to enjoy. There were always plenty of sun beds at the pool and beach.

My husband went to watch the cricket at the local stadium, the St Lucian Zouks vs Jamaica Tallawahs. He went with a father and son who were also staying with their family and they had a huge ice box of food to take put together by the hotel as it was a night game. Plenty of food for all and they had an enjoyable evening with the local crowd.

Take time to enjoy the time between 7 and 9pm to watch the schools of fish jump out of the ocean together, it is an amazing sight. Try, if you can to steel yourself away for a half day or a day to explore beautiful St. Lucia, it is a treasure waiting to be discovered. Take comfort in knowing you will be back in time for a wonderful sumptuous supper, lovingly prepared at East Winds Inn.

Lastly, we have never been to a hotel where after dinner, the majority of the guests retired to the Bamboo Lounge Bar and had a few drinks together with a chat. Normally, you may become friendly with one or two couples, but the evenings in the bar were a warm and friendly (and funny) end to the day. It was brilliant to catch up with the other residents and I must admit Hanna coped fabulously.

I could go on, but looking at the reviews of the people who were also holidaying at the same time as us below I will finish by saying East Winds Inn surpassed all our expectations and more on our long awaited return. To have photos between the palm trees where we married on the beach, to experience cocktails at the amazing sunsets and eat divinely prepared food, and sleep to the sounds of the tropics in our little deluxe cottage No. 23 was the best experience of our lives. We can’t thank everyone at East Winds enough for making our stay with you unforgettable. It was so worth the wait, we will return, how could we not?

Room Tip: Deluxe cottages 23 and 25 and in a great location up in the main garden. A short, but beautiful wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kamikazebingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

THANK YOU FOR THE INCREDIBLE REVIEW AFTER 15 YEARS OF WAITING

Every hotel dreams of receiving a review like this one. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for taking the time to author such a wonderfully detailed and complimentary posting related to your 15th anniversary of being married at East Winds Inn. And to add the special element of your husband’s 50th birthday to be celebrated with your 13 year old daughter and all the East Winds family – who you have recognized both individually and as the excellent team they are – made your holiday all that much more memorable.

It was interesting to read all the lead up to your holiday on our Facebook page, which my wife Marilyn looks at religiously. Frankly, I too was counting the days to the point of your arrival, and we waited with bated breath to hear of your initial impressions, experiences and comments. You can imagine the pressure on the entire staff to ensure that all of the fond memories you would have experienced during your wedding would be relived, but they clearly performed as expected in the most natural of ways. As you candidly stated,” East Winds Inn surpassed all our expectations and more on our long awaited return” – that is a true compliment for which we and all the lovely staff thank you again and again.

Reading how you found many of the desirable elements of East Winds unchanged was rewarding, as was your mention of all the newer aspects of the resort, including all the new furnishings in the guest rooms and common areas, the Steinway concert grand piano, the yoga pavilion, activities pavilion, expanded watersports and greater attention to the botanical gardens including the new garden walk. These are only some of the more obvious areas which the public notices, and behind the scenes, there has been so much more to ensure total guest satisfaction and a genuinely happy staff.

The true purpose of this website is to assist potential travelers to St. Lucia in making an informed and comfortable decision about where they might like to stay for their holiday. In that regard, I would encourage all would-be guests to read this review very carefully and take in all the detail which has been so carefully provided by these satisfied guests. From a hotel’s perspective, it doesn’t get much better than this. A review of this quality must be earned, as it is written from the heart. Any seasoned follower of this board will immediately recognize the sincerity and genuine enthusiasm expressed by these visitors. We couldn’t be more pleased ourselves – reading your review was well worth the wait. Furthermore, we can’t wait to have you back again. But please, don't wait another 15 years!

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 881 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited The East Winds Inn for 2 weeks on 4th August. Having been to hotels previously with glowing reviews that failed to deliver – we were pleased to find that the good reviews are much deserved.
We arrived mid-afternoon, missing lunch, but our first dinner experience was very good. Chef Tomislav Cukman (trained at Le Cordon Bleu) & the rest of the team produce a great menu choice.

We retired to bed early after dinner on our first night, tired due to all the travelling. However, we were awakened at 06:10 am by a cockerel crowing to the new day right outside our hotel room! (see photo). We got back to sleep ignoring the crowing – we were then awakened at 08:45 by reception calling checking all is OK and that we were enjoying our stay; I told them we didn’t appreciate the cockerel wake-up call!.

The following 2 mornings were the same, so we reported our displeasure to reception. This resulted in the offending chicken being captured and taken away to pastures new. The hotel does not supply wildlife to annoy their guests – it turns out feral birds have been introduced to the island from elsewhere. There are also local goats which roam around – they make no disturbance & like to eat the fallen mangos, which also lured the chickens!

Room 17 has a mango tree right next to it, fruit can drop at any time – the first time we heard a mango drop off the tree and onto the roof & then roll off was during the night – we didn’t half jump!

Room Facilities – we had a Deluxe room which includes a flat screen TV and Blu-ray player – it turns out ALL rooms in the hotel have been upgraded to include air conditioning but a Superior room has no TV. I connected our MP3 player to the TV to enjoy my music – contact me if you’d like to know to do this. TV & Blu-ray player have USB connections if you have a flash drive to play music / film files.
There is a clock radio / iPod / iPhone 4 dock with USB connection. This charged a Kindle OK. All power sockets in our room were the UK type with an adapter provided for non UK guests. Hairdryer is provided in the bathroom plugged into a RCD sockets – hair straighteners can also be used here. Iron & Ironing board is also supplied (in wardrobe) as is a digital safe (no charge). Tea & coffee making facilities are provided, as is a refrigerator containing beer, water, Sprite & Coca-Cola but not wine – if you prefer diet soft drinks this can be accommodated – just ask reception.
The general standard of the room was good – kept spotless by the housekeeping staff – they also supply pool / beach towels daily to your room.

Wi-Fi – there are around 4 different East Winds Wi-Fi sources – In the beach / pool area you’ll need to log in via a browser before your apps will work – get the user name / password from reception. The strongest signal was in the wooden gazebo outside room 17 – its right below a large tree with an antenna half way up. You’ll need to go here if you need to upload a file (e.g. photo etc) – the other Wi-Fi sources around are not as strong as this one.

Pool / Beach facilities – the pool area has plenty of quality padded sunbeds and some umbrellas, there were always empty beds available. Pool bar is very well stocked – it’s a serve yourself scenario. Plenty of spirits & juices are provided, as is ice & a cocktail shaker and everything you’ll need (Inc. cocktail recipes) An excellent choice of spirits are available – including Smirnoff, Absolut, Gordon’s, Bombay Sapphire, Tanqueray , JD, Baileys, Bacardi and many others. No wine at this bar. The pool is 2.3m deep at its deepest point.
The pool bar can flood after very heavy rain; it was closed for 2 days (twice) during our stay. The bar is a swim-up type, but you can obviously access it from the pool area as well.

The Beach has plenty of sunbeds & fixed umbrellas – a shower is to be found next to Eric the parrot. There is a sign warning you about sea urchins – I only found spiny urchins on the large rocks, not the sand. Snorkelling here is ok, but book a boat trip including a snorkelling stop for a better experience. Local people (non-guests) also seem to use the beach and foreshore too (not the sunbeds). A roped off area stops boats & jet-skis coming too close.

Breakfast – this is a buffet in the only restaurant, you’ll find pretty much all you can think of for breakfast here. The fresh fruit choice is excellent, as are the juices. You’ll be asked if you’d like to try the therapy of the day – a freshly squeezed combination of juices, some were very good. I also liked the Quaker Oats, but all the usual stuff like eggs, pancakes, salmon, bacon & sausages etc are here. Marmite is available for your toast! Butter is unsalted.

Lunch – buffet again, sometimes a barbeque is available the steaks and pork are from Texas so are very good. Plenty of fish available including Dorada, King Fish, Barracuda, Blue Marlin ,Mahi Mahi & Tuna as well as sushi. Lots of local vegetables including Christophine, Dasheen, Breadfruit & Papaya – all were excellent. Soup available sometimes. Curries were very good, as were the carved meats. There was always plenty of salad available too. The paella was served cold, so was a disappointment. All wines of every type are served at the correct temperature – wines available are from lots of countries and were very good. Saturday lunch was accompanied by a steel band – although it was a bit hard to hear them due to local youths (not guests) sat on the sea wall outside the restaurant making noise & fooling around. Lunch was completed by ice-cream – coffee, coconut, rum n raisin & orange/pineapple were our favourite, but others like peanut or pistachio were nice
.
Dinner – the great service somehow gets even better – this is an a la carte service. Dress code is smart casual – Gentlemen must wear long pants, no flip-flops, however my leather Clarks sandals were ok. After you have chosen your wine, you’ll be presented with an Amuse-bouche. This is a small hors d'œuvre type experience & very nice. Then you select your next 3 courses, choices are wide and varied (see photos). Chef Tomislav Cukman is a Serbian who has trained in London. Dinner is like dining at the finest restaurant, and you have to do it every night! Entertainment is usually provided; the pianist was excellent, also the various musicians who attended were all very good, playing an extensive & varied selection of music. Round off your dinner with a liqueur coffee or brandy – it’s just awesome. Ice cream available too.

Water sports: Snorkeling gear is available, as are kayaks & Hobbie cats etc.

Grounds – The grounds are laid out like a mature botanical garden – there is a 100 tree trail (Brochure in your room) – we spent a nice 90 minutes on an overcast morning finding all the trees and shrubs.

Sunset Bar – only bottled beer, Piton beer is very good, champagnes always on ice ready. A great selection of top brand spirits are also available. Bar closes 21:00

Bamboo lounge – contains the library, and a bar – again the bar serves all the top spirits as mentioned. Open until late.

Towards the end of our stay another cockerel appeared, but he didn’t rise so early so wasn’t so much of a problem. Surrounding properties obviously keep many large dogs – their barking is very annoying – especially at night and in the early hours. It seems to be unending at times.

I can see why this hotel gets so much repeat business – all the staff are a credit to the hotel, they’re very friendly – the girls on reception are just so accommodating. Would I return? Well maybe, one day.

I hope you’ve found the information in this review helpful.

Room Tip: Room 17 has good Wi-Fi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank GarySkuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

GREAT REVIEW TO CROW ABOUT – THANK YOU!

At first glance, I honestly thought you were writing about a two week holiday at a game and nature reserve, but it soon became apparent that you were in fact, praising many of the interesting attributes of East Winds Inn. Thank you ever so much for the positive, highly informative and detailed review of your holiday with us. You make an interesting point about expectations based on posted reviews, and we are extremely pleased that unlike your experience at other facilities, with 60 reviews under your belt and being relatively sparing with awarding the highly coveted five star rating, you chose to not only give one to East Winds, but went on to explain why in such detail. As you say, “the good reviews are much deserved” – we like that comment. Thanks also for all the informative photos – especially of the cuisine – a real mainstay of East Winds Inn.

Staying at the same resort for two weeks, one gets a pretty good appreciation of what makes a property tick. In our view, that is the real length of time a person needs to take in order to properly unwind and get into a true holiday rhythm. That is why our average stay is for 11 nights, as most repeat guests realize this is a good length of time to savour all that East Winds has to offer. In fact, there seems to be a pretty strong correlation between length of stay and quality of review, so with the benefit of two weeks to look at all the detail you have outlined, it would be fair to suggest that yours is a particularly accurate and in depth review which we encourage all would-be visitors to East Winds Inn to read very carefully. You clearly enjoyed the food and drink, making special effort to find out who was responsible in citing out Tomislav Cukman, our Head Chef, who we hired personally in London, England after graduating with top marks in his Le Cordon Bleu class. There are so many other people on the East Winds team whom you obviously met and enjoyed. As you say, they are a credit to the hotel and the true strength of the resort.

We could go on and on about your review and all the little nuances it contains – everything from hot spots on the WiFi to all the flavours of ice cream. But in the end, the main aspect to note is your charged enthusiasm for the place and all the positives you found during your two week stay. We sincerely thank you for your genuine posting, and look forward to that one day when you do decide to return to “the Small Resort with a Big Heart”.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

East Winds Inn is a unique resort on the stunning island of St Lucia. We arrived after an hour and a quarter transfer from the airport at Vieux Fort and the first thing we noticed was the location. Sitting right next to the shore, the buildings and grounds have been designed to complement the surroundings, giving the resort a charming and rather rustic feel.

On arrival, we were met with a welcome drink and cold towel before being shown through the beautiful gardens to our Ocean View room. The gardens really are wonderful, with a variety of trees and plants which are tended to daily by a dedicated team of gardeners. It is this attention to detail which sets East Winds apart from other hotels.

Our room (29) was situated in a small building close to both the restaurant and bar (this was never a disturbance - it was rather nice going to sleep listening to the pianist finishing off his set in the restaurant). At night, the tree frogs do make a noise, but you soon get used to this, although you can also occasionally hear loud music from the nearby Windjammer Landings, so we were glad to have held onto our earplugs from our flight over. We had a magnificent view of the ocean and sunsets and sunrises were truly spectacular. The room was sympathetically furnished and had a range of soft drinks and beers available in the fridge. We also had access to the Ocean View card room next door which contained additional seating, board games and books (which came in handy on the one day during our visit when it rained for most of the morning).

Our days were mostly spent lying on the stunning beach or taking part in the complimentary water sports. Both the bar staff who made the excellent beach cocktails and the water sports staff were excellent - they were knowledgeable, courteous and friendly. The same can be said of all staff at East Winds. Everyone we encountered, from the maintenance staff to the restaurant servers, was brilliant. Service was given with a smile and as we got to know the individual members of the team, they would always remember us and a number of small details about our visit which we would chat about.

For us, it was this service and the food which really stood out. Breakfast and lunch are buffet-style, with a variety of meats, fish and vegetable dishes, both hot and cold for lunch and continental and cooked breakfasts (try Paula's banana pancakes at breakfast and the pistachio ice cream at lunch - yum!) A barbeque is served on alternate days for lunch and we always looked forward to this. Afternoon tea is then served at around 4.30 next to the pool.

Dinner is, quite frankly, spectacular. We always began with a cold glass of champagne in the Bamboo Lounge prior to our meal and then wandered in to be seated next to the ocean (the restaurant is open air and it really is magical to be able to listen to the waves as you dine). Dinner is four courses, and the chef is to be commended on the quality of the dishes. We've eaten in many excellent restaurants back home and abroad which haven't even come close to matching what we ate while at East Winds. A particular highlight was our champagne, honeymoon dinner which we took on the pagoda set out over the beach and waves. Exquisite food and attentive service made it an evening to remember.

All in all, a holiday at East Winds means amazing food, incredible staff and spectacular views. There really aren't enough superlatives. It's the best resort we've visited in the Caribbean and we cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ticklex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

THANK YOU FOR THE PERFECT HONEYMOON POSTING

This truly is an excellent review with a great deal of detail and packed with superlatives. We are so pleased to see that you recognized East Winds Inn is a unique resort on a stunning island like St. Lucia. The authenticity which you enjoyed is what we are continually attempting to preserve – we thank you for noticing all of its elements. As you say, it is the attention to detail which sets East Winds Inn apart from other hotels.

We are happy that you liked the staff, including the water sports team, the bartenders, maintenance, restaurant servers – “they were knowledgeable, courteous, friendly and brilliant”. These terms of endearment were most kind of you to report. Referring to dinner as “spectacular” just about says everything, and you obviously enjoyed your special champagne dinner on the seaside, listening to the waves as you dined that evening and all the others. As you sum up – “ It's the best resort we've visited in the Caribbean and we cannot wait to come back” – what more could we ask for than that?

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of your honeymoon time at East Winds Inn, and we wish you a life of true happiness together. We look forward to welcoming you back on subsequent anniversaries or simply when you need to slow down a bit and truly relax – that is what we do best and wish to share with all our wonderful guests.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We first visited Eastwinds in 1995, and we have wanted to return ever since. We have since got married and had children, and have waited 18 years to return as we wanted our youngest (now 8) to be old enough to appreciate this amazing hotel. And it was worth every second of that 18 year wait. From the moment we walked into Eastwinds after a very long and tiring journey, we felt like we had been transported to paradise. The hotel was as wonderful as we had remembered, the food is second to none and meals in the Flamboyant restaurant were a real highlight with wonderful live music. The accommodation was spacious and comfortable (even with 2 extra childrens beds in our room), and the setting is amazing. But above all else it is the wonderful staff that made our holiday so much better than any other, nothing was too much trouble and they made us all feel like part of the family. Our children have both said that they would like to bring their children to Eastwinds, and I think that is the biggest compliment a hotel can get. Thank you to everyone at Eastwinds for a truly perfect holiday, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

THANKS FOR YOUR VALIDATION OF THE 18 YEAR WAIT

Eighteen years is a long time in anyone’s books – a great deal can happen over that period. Other than a good bottle of wine or a finely planted garden, not much else gets better over 18 years. However, you took the chance of returning to relive an obvious fond memory, and your choice was rewarding through the clearly wonderful repeat experience you recently had at East Winds Inn. “The hotel was as wonderful as we had remembered” – which in itself is a very flattering statement considering your stage in life when you first visited. Confirming that “the food is second to none, the accommodation was spacious and comfortable, and the setting is amazing” is rewarding to read – thank you for all of these positive comments.

You kindly extend your most heartwarming remarks to the staff who made your holiday so special – “so much better than any other” – making you all feel like part of the East Winds family. After all, you already were – even if it was 18 years since you visited, you likely remembered a lot of the same faces. We are happy that your children already want to bring their future children to East Winds – what better testimonial is there than that?

Thank you for your continued support and perfect review. We look forward to welcoming you back – hopefully in a much shorter time than 18 years!

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from 10 wonderful days at East Winds. After a long flight and a winding transfer we arrived at this Caribbean paradise . We were delighted with our ocean front room which truly was ocean front and metres from the inviting Caribbean Sea . As I opened the doors onto our balcony I was greeted by a beautiful hummingbird flitting in and out of the flowers surrounding our room , our holiday had begun .
We were very well looked after by the wonderful staff who all made us feel so welcome and are an asset to this hotel.
Meals are served in the restaurant on the beach. Beginning with breakfast where I was unable to resist the freshly cooked banana pancakes and wonderful array of tropical fruits. Lunch - buffet of BBQ meats and fish and delicious salads ,breads and cheeses. Following champagne cocktails , dinner was a four course menu , beautifully presented and absolutely delicious and accompanied by an excellent selection of wines . Entertainment was very low key and added to the ambience , steel band , saxophonist , piano and local musicians.
We finished our evenings in the Bamboo Lounge enjoying premium drinks served by premium staff and chatting to other guests who shared our impressions of East Winds .
I could go on and on praising this hotel but I won't . All I will say is that if you want karaoke , kids clubs, non stop entertainment and crowded beaches then please do not go here but if you want to experience the real Caribbean and find total relaxation then you will not be disappointed.
I hope that East Winds retains it uniqueness and we will return .

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank jayjaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

THANKS FOR THE REALLY GREAT CARIBBEAN REVIEW

We truly appreciate your enthusiastic review of the recent 10 day, wonderful stay you had at East Winds Inn. What is particularly refreshing in your posting is the obvious fact that you understand what a real Caribbean experience is….total relaxation in a paradise like setting. Your kind and generous comments about the wonderful and premium staff were graciously received by all, as was your indication that you would return for another authentic Caribbean vacation. We are pleased that you enjoyed the cuisine and the entertainment – two of the mainstays of the East Winds experience.

The closing line stating that you could go on praising the hotel, but instead chose to focus on what it isn’t, is of great assistance to would-be guests. Sometimes, clearly stating what not to expect is just as effective as pointing out all the positives relating to what you enjoyed during your stay. We promise to keep the East Winds “uniqueness” as it has been for decades, and if that means your guaranteed return, please start booking your flights. We'll be waiting for you with real smiles.

Thank you for your support of the “Small Resort with a Big Heart” – East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our first visit to East Winds Inn, I had done a lot of research and was confident that we had made the right choice! Our expectations were surpassed and East Winds delivered in 'spade fulls'!
i had e-mailed Glenda,prior to our arrival, to ask if a bottle of champagne could be arrange for our room as we just wished to 'crash' after the 18 hour trip! I had said, 'tongue in cheek', that I wished to sit outside my room, sip a glass of champagne and hopefully see a hummingbird sip nectar from a flower! With my first sip the Hummingbird duly arrived and I smiled and thought 'now that's service'!
Staying at East Winds was a pleasure, that gardens are truly stunning and in my opinion are the backbone of the East winds experience! Beautifully landscaped, exquisitely planted with a layout around each cottage to provide each resident with privacy and their own little vista!
Congratulations to Sylvanus and his staff, you should be proud! I recommend that at some point on you stay that you take the garden tour with Sylvanus. A soft spoken, modest man with a great knowledge of the whole garden!
I have never stayed at a resort or hotel where we felt like part of a family and this was made possible by the fabulous staff! Maggie, 'The Lovely' Hannah, Fina, Debbie, Miriam , Lilia, 'Titanic' Titus, Simeone, Windell, Kurby , Elie etc etc made our stay a holiday we will cherish the memories of forever!
The food was really very good, freshly cooked and plentiful ! Lunch every other day was a grill with fresh barricuda, dorado etc. Evening meal consised of a 4 course , silver service, with various accompanying musicians (all of which were superb)!
Thanks to the water sports 'Guys' , Kensly and Nasis ! Really nice guys to chill on the beach with, very helpful and nothing is to much attitude! We regularly went fishing with 'Captain Nasis' off the back of the big Hobbie cat with catches of Big Snapper, Jack and Grouper which were freshly cooked by the Chef
My heartfelt thanks to all at East winds who made our holiday 'Epically good' ! I don't recall ever having checked out of a hotel/resort with a lump in my throat and a tear in my eye!
Would I recommend East winds - in a heartbeat! Would you enjoy it? Well if you wish to stay in a concrete edifice adorned in marble, load music, 24hour room service, noisy pools, etc, East winds is not for you! If you wish to reside in beautiful gardens, enjoy wonderful food, take a snorkle, take a sail,take a stroll in the gardens, read a book, listen to the birds, sip a cocktail of two and feel part of the family then East winds is well worth a go! Yes it is a 4 star hotel, go there with that in mind and you will be pleasantly surprised when you receive a 5 star experience!

Room Tip: Room 4, a superior, close enough to the beach, pool, restaurant but set back so nice and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stephen070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

WITH LUMPS IN OUR THROATS AND TEARS IN OUR EYES, WE THANK YOU

What an incredibly sensitive and thoughtful review you have provided on your recent, first visit to East Winds Inn. Suggesting that you did plenty of research in your selection of resort before choosing East Winds, and that all your “expectations were surpassed”, is a very strong statement of affirmation for which we are truly grateful. It is obvious you quickly grasped the essence of the place – beautiful botanical gardens dotted with intimate cottages leading down to a pristine beach – all of which are tended to by a wonderful and devoted staff whose only concern is your relaxation with a “nothing is too much attitude”.

You were obviously excellent guests, as you quickly came to know the names of so many of our remarkable team, easily integrating into the interesting fabric which makes up the heart of the resort. And to think you were even taken fishing off our hobby cats and caught your own fish which were prepared by our chefs for your evening meal – what a wonderful experience that must have been. Even our food was “really very good, freshly cooked and plentiful” – which is a true compliment when considering it was measured against your own catch of the day.

To mention that you have never checked out of a hotel with a lump in your throat and a tear in your eye speaks to your sensitivity and the obvious bonding experience you had with the lovely people of St. Lucia and East Winds Inn. Like the fish you caught, you are now hooked and there is no going back – welcome to the East Winds family and hope to see you again very soon for another holiday you will cherish the memories of forever.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

From the second we arrived to the last second that we left we felt part of an extremely fortunate few, who have had the pleasure of not only enjoying and idillic location, but wonderful accommodation, amazing foods and outstanding staff. Thanks to everyone from the bottom of our hearts we will be back x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Goldfish30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

WE LOVE THIS PERFECT REVIEW – THANK YOU

When a guest begins to time their stay at an “idyllic” resort by the second, you know they have enjoyed themselves. That seems to clearly be the case with your recent visit to East Winds Inn, as you remark so favourably about the wonderful accommodation, amazing foods and outstanding staff.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for being such great guests and recognizing that in some aspects of life, “an extremely fortunate few” is better – particularly when numbers are offset by the quality of those you are trying so hard to please. We are extremely happy to know that you will be back to the "Small Resort with a Big Heart".

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
981 reviews
7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
16.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
773 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
14.9 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $592 - $1,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing