We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
onlySaintlucia.com
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveler rating
967
81
24
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
967
81
24
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fitness trail bamboo lounge deluxe cottage sunken shower head gardener other guests four courses yoga pavilion st lucia sunset cruise steel band local musicians humming birds garden tour each evening breakfast and lunch the cottages
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
655 - 660 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A lovely, relaxing and charming hotel. Wonderful gardens and villa style accommodation. The restaurant serves a fresh selection of fine dining expertise every evening. There is a fantastic fusion of flavours and ingredients used (e.g. Beetroot & star anise soup, herb ice-cream with poached pear). The setting is perfect, by the beach with good water sports facilities. Such a relaxing place that after one week you feel you have been here for a month! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

THANKS FOR THE WONDERFUL HONEYMOON REVIEW

We greatly appreciate all your positive comments and exceptional superlatives in describing your recent Honeymoon stay at East Winds Inn. Giving us a perfect review is extremely humbling, and we thank you for your thoughtful remarks.

Hopefully, you will feel compelled to return to paradise sooner than later. We would be so pleased to welcome you back. Your continued support is the best reinforcement that the East Winds team could ever ask for.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at East Winds for 2 weeks in May. A small but beautiful hotel set in wonderful botanical gardens.The "cottages" are very secluded and peaceful. Lots of birds and very noisy frogs at night! Also land crabs in little burrows everywhere in the gardens.
Delicious food in the beach-side restaurant and pleasant, smiley staff. We did lots of Hobbiecat sailing and snorkelling in the warm lagoon.
We'll definately return one day.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

THANKS FOR THE TOTALLY RELAXING REVIEW

We greatly appreciate your review of the recent 2 week stay you had at East Winds Inn. It is clear that you liked your holiday very much, to the point where you say you will definitely return one day. That is the best testament we could ask for, and all the staff at the “Small Resort with a Big Heart” are pleased that you were more than satisfied.

You reference the delicious food and smiley staff at the beach-side restaurant, as well as the wonderful botanic gardens and the secluded and peaceful cottages – all positive features of East Winds Inn. And it also seems you were kept quite active, with the Hobbiecat sailing and the snorkeling on East Winds’ very own reef. Of course, you could also have partaken in our morning yoga and Pilates classes, and used our Fit Trail for whatever level of exertion you cared for. It seems a pity that the tree frogs at night appear to have affected your sleep, but after all, this is the Caribbean in its natural and authentic state, and that is the main reason so many people choose to travel this far to paradise – just as you experienced it.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for another visit.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

....to review, when I've read all the other excellent reviews.....but having just spent an unbelievable week at Hotel Chocolat at Soufriere, this was a hard act to follow....... the staff were great fun and always up for some banter, and that ready St Lucian smile, with 'You're Welcome'.
Location of our beach side room good, would have been nice to have stairs straight off the balcony onto the beach, but hey.....the bathroom was desparatley in need of modernising, was small, and the unlit shower seemed dingy.....food good and plentiful....

I thnik something more could have been made of the live music and the guys seemed a bit out of it -maybe put them in the centre of the restaurant instead of a dimly lit open stage?
Checking out, my wife mentioned her mozzie bites, 'well we could have given you a mosquito net' -would have been nice to have known before and we shouldn't have needed to ask.

We liked the help yourself pool side cocktail bar!! And scones and tea by the pool at four was so ENGLISH!!

.......but something was lacking and we could never put our finger on it....

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FLYINGBLUEDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

DIFFICULT ONE TO RESPOND TO WHEN YOU CAN’T PUT YOUR FINGER ON IT

Dear FLYINGBLUEDOG - Thanks for the post on your stay at East Winds Inn, even though in your first sentence, you are raving about another hotel on the opposite end of the island, which is not even on a beach. We accept that everyone is entitled to their own opinion of what makes a good holiday, and the fact that your unsubstantiated three star review follows no less than 29 consecutive five star reviews on East Winds Inn, comes totally out of the blue and is surprising to say the least. Not once did you bring up any issues with any person of our staff or anyone in management. Also surprising, is that you did not take any time to write a review on the other hotel you claim to have loved so much.

You state that the East Winds staff were great fun and always up for some banter, had that ready St. Lucian smile and were quick with a you’re welcome. You said the location of your beachside room was good. This room is actually one of the guest rooms of Lord Horlicks’s original Caribbean beachfront home, and has been renovated numerous times with an eye to maintaining its authenticity. Many of our repeat guests request this room for the reasons you mention – it is right on the beach, has an exceptional view of the water and the famous East Winds sunset.

Your comments on the food are that it was good and plentiful. You seemed to take issue with the location of our nightly entertainers, but make no mention of the fact that the Steinway concert grand piano which is played three nights of the week is actually located near the middle of the open air dining room. The thatched open stage seems, for the majority of our guests, to be a lovely seaside setting with the surf as a backdrop for jazz and authentic St. Lucian music. We could not know that your wife had trouble with mosquitos if you did not tell us – had you done so earlier on, the problem would have been mitigated. All our rooms are enclosed and have bug screens, so mosquito nets are not usually necessary. If someone needs one, it is made available straight away.

You also mention that you liked the help yourself pool side cocktail bar, and scones and tea by the pool at four was so English – more positive comments. But then you end by saying something was lacking and you could never put your finger on it....so what are we to do about that? And this is after you left your camera lens in your room safe upon departure, our General Manager transported it with him all the way to the UK and then posted it Special Delivery to your attention, for which he received a thank you note in your writing – and we can put our finger on that! If that isn’t personalized service that deserves a positive mention, along with all the other positives you have highlighted, what else are we supposed to put our finger on? Your comments are appreciated, and thank you for staying at East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you like, beautiful surroundings, secluded cottages, gorgeous food, superb beach, friendly staff, tasteful entertainment and an thoroughly relaxing holiday this is the place for you.
Don't tell everyone though, this is our special retreat.
Having returned for the fourth time we can definetely say this has it all and consistently maintaining this high standard over the years.
We will be back.

Room tip: The de-luxe rooms are worth the premium.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JDMcA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

IDYLLIC REVIEW MOST GREATLY APPRECIATED

Reading your first sentence just about says it all – thank you for posting your comments on East Winds Inn for all to enjoy. You are not the first to suggest keeping it quiet for fear of losing your chance to return, but rest assured we will always be able to accommodate you as a repeat guest. In fact, the more our satisfied guests can let the rest of the world know their true feelings about East Winds, the better it is for the resort in terms of ensuring a continuation of all the features you have come to enjoy.

So despite the fact you have already been to East Winds four times, you are not alone, and we will always do our best to ensure that you receive the same level of quality and service you have become accustomed to. After all, if we didn’t, you likely wouldn’t come back – and we certainly do not want that, as you are now part of the East Winds family.

Thank you for your ongoing support, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

East Winds
The strap line for the resort is Timeless Seaside Elegance. Oh so true and MUCH MUCH MORE. This resort is a real jewel. Where do we start? The accommodation is superb, with quality bed linen & towels.
The gardens are beautifully laid and kept in excellent condition by the team of gardeners. It was good to have a Garden Walk Book to identify all the plants.
The food is superb and it was a pleasure to have the Chef’s choice of wines each evening to complement the meal.
The staff; there are not enough superlatives to describe them. They are a fantastic team under the direction of Gareth, General Manager. Their aim is to make sure you have the holiday you want. The service was excellent without being servile. They are a truly superb professional team.
The beach area is fantastic, good swimming with comfortable loungers and shade for everyone.
The range of entertainment was excellent from Caribbean to Jazz to Classical something to suit the taste of everyone. It’s the type of resort we want to keep to ourselves but everyone should have the wonderful experience of East Winds. Thanks.

Room tip: Based on our room, I think any room would be a good choice.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EastSussexsunloverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

A BIG THANK YOU FOR THIS JEWEL OF A REVIEW

Much more than “Timeless Seaside Elegance”, and a “real jewel” as you so kindly state – thank you for this wonderful review of your recent trip to East Winds Inn. It is difficult to isolate all the positive comments in your posting, relating to everything from the accommodation, the linens and towels, the gardens, the superb food, and of course, the incredible, professional staff. We are most pleased that you had a remarkable time during your stay at East Winds, and even had the time to comment on the newly revised Garden Guide Book, which details over 100 plant species, all of which are found right in East Winds’ own verdant tropical gardens. These are the characteristics which set East Winds apart from other Caribbean resorts, allowing our guests to go back in time when there was graciousness and camaraderie, without pretention, in a truly natural and authentic environment.

You were also pleased with the beach, swimming in the azure waters of the Caribbean Sea and the lounges provided to all guests. The entertainment during dinner hour and the Saturday Steel Band also seem to have made a positive impression, all leading to your obvious desire to return soon and relive the experience. You should take comfort in the fact that you are not alone, as over 50% of our guests become repeat visitors year after year. We think that says something meaningful, and prefer to receive business from word of mouth rather than glorified advertising. This website is an ideal medium for that, and tells a true story of what potential guests can realistically expect.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to “the Small Resort with a Big Heart” – East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews