We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
East Winds
Nearby Hotels
$180
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$559
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Gardens Beach Resort(Gros Islet)
$186
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$314
$305
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ginger Lily Hotel(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Haven Hotel(Gros Islet)
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Cleopatra(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
$89
$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
blu St Lucia(Gros Islet)
$103
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Palm(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
815
70
19
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
70
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfitness trailbamboo loungedeluxe cottagesunken showerother guestsfour coursesyoga pavilionhouse partyhead gardenerpre dinner champagnest luciasunset cruisesteel bandeach eveninghumming birdsbreakfast and lunchthe cottages
Filter
Updating list...
513 - 518 of 909 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We only booked our holiday to the East Winds Inn at short notice on personal recommendation and also from reading the reviews on Trip Advisor.

The hotel, accommodation and staff were superb but what we felt was most outstanding was the quality of food and the excellent presentation of it.

The music at lunch and evening dovetailed perfectly with the ambience of our surroundings.

There were showers on the beach but one small criticism is that there were no changing rooms and guests had to use the restrooms for this purpose.

A thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: Cottages nearer to the beach provide easy access to the lounge, bar and dining areas.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

WITHOUT A DOUBT, AN EXCELLENT REVIEW – THANK YOU

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your first, impromptu visit to East Winds Inn, and did not hesitate in sharing your positive experience with fellow travelers. Thank you for saying all the wonderful things which you have – “The hotel, accommodation and staff were superb” and “most outstanding was the quality of food and the excellent presentation of it”. Our chefs will be very happy to read that, as being the young and enthusiastic types that they are, this will encourage them even further to create true masterpieces in the kitchen. Your comments about the musicians, ambience and surroundings were also appreciated – it is these very factors which cause so many of our guests to become repeat visitors.

Perhaps you were not aware of the second set of “beach” washrooms right near the shower by the parrot cages, directly behind the gift shop. These are quite infrequently used and many guests do freshen up or even change here prior to a relaxing lunch on the beach in their own private gazebo.

Thank you for stating that you had a “thoroughly enjoyable experience!”, and that we lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to East Winds Inn - the Small Resort with a Big Heart.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Caribbean is good news in most areas, but the easy-going friendliness of most St Lucians is second to none, and the staff of EWI exceed even that! From reception to the dining room, and from gardeners to porters they are unfailingly cheerful, courteous and efficient which gives the impression they would do anything for you. We were very pleased with the size and facilities of our room, with aircon (rarely used) and fan. EWI is situated in a shallow valley leading down to its beach, and the pairs of cottage-like rooms are scattered within 13-odd acres of beautiful gardens that are a pleasure to stroll throuh. One small tip for anyone suffering a bad leg or back: if you find walking up even a gentle slope is a strain it would be best to ask for a room in the flat lower half of the estate behind the beach. (You'll then have the added bonus of watching the little land crabs scuttling into their burrows!) We only ate out when on a trip. Thoughts that we might sample local restaurants were quickly banished by the excellence and variety of the EWI chefs and the quality of the service, and added to by the two adjacent bars, each very different in style. Because EWI is small in its number of rooms, everything adds up to creating a relaxed and friendly country house atmosphere. Just one or two very small suggestions for what might be called internal marketing. Although in each room there is a good guide to the shrubs and trees in the gardens, it might be useful to have a board outside reception (or outside one of the bars) with prominent, well-designed info about other attractions such as, say, (a) the 35 bird species to be seen in and around, with colour picture of each and months when likely to be seen; (b) info on where to find the start of the fitness trail and what it consists of; and (c) a clear statement about the boating opportunities off the beach and who to approach to take the boat out, or be taken out. etc. I know (b) & (c) are briefly mentioned in the notes about hotel facilities in the rooms, but a more prominent reminder would be helpful. Also, what about offering, once weekly, say, a session for ladies to have their nails done? And massage? The yoga and pilates sessions seem to be appreciated, but there was a feeling they would be better in the early eveinings - say at 5.00 - than in the early morning. But this is no detraction from a great holiday. I've only once previously given a 5 star rating, but have no hesitation in awarding the second!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SGM701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

THANKS FOR THE GREAT, WELL WRITTEN REVIEW

After re-reading the first sentence of your review three times over, it was obvious this was going to be an interesting and excellent posting – which it certainly turned out to be. Thanks for stating, in essence, that the staff at East Winds Inn are more than just friendly St. Lucians, but downright cheerful, courteous, efficient and the type who will basically do anything they can for you. They will be very pleased to read that, because this is the characteristic they strive for each and every day. Perhaps this is also why we received a Best Service award from this website in 2013 – a wonderful achievement for all 84 people who make East Winds Inn what it is.

We are happy that you “were very pleased with the size and facilities of our room”, and that you found the “beautiful gardens a pleasure to stroll through”. Also, your recognition of the “excellence and variety of the EWI chefs and the quality of the service” allowed you to stay at the resort for all your culinary needs, and you enjoyed the “relaxed and friendly country house atmosphere.” We appreciate your subtle suggestions with respect to identifying the bird life at East Winds, and have actually already started the process of creating a bird watching guide book very similar to the garden guide book which you reference, that is already found in each guestroom. Other points you make with respect to signage and more readily available information will also be taken into consideration. On that note, we do have a relatively extensive in room property guide, including a site map which identifies the areas you mentioned. We are consciously attempting not to clutter the property with too many signs, as this tends to detract from the natural and authentic aspect of the place. As outlined in the room guide book, there are spa and beauty services available on a daily basis, including manicures, pedicures and massages, which as you point out, do go well with both the free yoga and Pilates classes. These services can be completed in the privacy of your room or any choice of location on the property.

Overall, it seems you had a great holiday, and the fact this is only your second time awarding a full five star rating is taken as a true compliment relating to your enjoyment of East Winds Inn. We do hope to see you again soon, and thank you for all the wonderful comments and support.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wow, what a hotel. The staff were absolutely wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were so helpful, (always smiling) and made you feel very special. They were happy to arrange any trips you wanted to go on even if it was something out of the ordinary. I am sure the manager must be really proud of them. The rooms were wonderful, airy, spacious and everything you could possibly need and want in the room. Our plane was delayed by 5 hours, but this only made it better because we had that extra time at the hotel (watching the sunset). We were allowed to keep our room we were provided with anything we wanted. Charms (one of the staff) was so wonderful during our delay and made us feel special. Our thanks go to all the staff for making our stay one of the best holidays we have had. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful. We can't wait to go back. Liz and Paul Monks

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LizM186230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

DREAM REVIEW – THANK YOU

Wow – what a review! Thank you very much for your enthusiastic posting relating to your recent stay at East Winds Inn. Everything you comment on, from the “absolutely wonderful staff” who were always smiling and clearly out to please, the “wonderful, airy and spacious rooms” that had everything you needed, the “beautiful grounds” of the hotel and the flexibility shown in the handling of your delayed flight, are so graciously appreciated by all.

On two separate sections of your lovely posting, you write that you were made to feel so special. That is the aim of all the East Winds team, who view each and every guest as someone special, which facilitates comments such as your stay being "one of the best holidays we have ever had." Stating you can’t wait to go back is our ultimate reward, and we sincerely hope that it will be sooner than later.

Thank you again for your kind support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

First time in Caribbean, so unsure what to expect. But St. Lucia and East Winds have both met our best expectations in all respects.

We have just completed the most relaxing one week break we could ever imagine.

Booked via BA holidays and was upgraded to deluxe cottage with aircon. In fact never used aircon as ceiling fan more than capable of keeping us fresh at night without too much noise.

Cottage superb with sunken bath/ shower and plenty of space with enormous comfortable bed. Everything spotless and well maintained.

Only one restaurant, but do not let that put you off as quality excellent and no reservations/ supplements required as with other so called all inclusive hotels. Food generally of a high standard with wide choice for breakfast ; buffet lunch and 4 course a la carte. Varied ingredients although with some limited re- presentation some items. BBQ at beach at intervals for lunch/ dinner, which thanks to Larry very enjoyable.

When East Winds say all inclusive they mean it. All drinks incl cocktails/branded beer/liquor/cava incl as well as stocked minibar filled daily with beer ( local Piton + Heineken) and water.

Restaurant right on sandy beach . Not private (all beaches are public on island) but as good as. Plenty sun chairs/ sun pergolas . Generally uncrowded. No problem chair reservations here !!!

Outstanding manicured gardens and lovely freshwater pool with swim up self service bar. Quiet and restful ambiance which exactly what we looking for.

Clientèle almost exclusively British late middle age/ retirees which suited us perfectly but would not recommend to younger couples as not much action. Good entertainment but generally everyone in their cottage by 2200 hrs.

Nevertheless we met and struck up friendships with two couples at the Inn and had a good time socialising in a non-intrusive manner. Delightful lounge made contacts very easy at pre or post dinner cocktails. Socialising entirely up to individuals and not obligated.

Taxi required to go anywhere as no shops or village in immediate area. Rodney Bay 10 mins away with two shopping malls and nice marina and beach. Friday evening BBQ day in town.

Would definitely consider returning although for us one week max 10 days sufficient as we had no intention on going on various tours.

Our thanks to wonderful staff who made our stay so pleasurable amongst whom:
Elie ; Fina; Mavis; Titus; Paula and not forgetting "my expert sommelier" Simeon.

You really made a difference.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank approaching60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

THANK YOU FOR THE LOVELY REVIEW OF A WEEK IN PARADISE

Any review which begins by stating that you have just completed the most relaxing one week break you could ever imagine has to be a good one, and yours certainly is. We greatly appreciate all the kind comments and recognition of detail that made your trip so enjoyable, and as you state, St. Lucia and East Winds Inn met all your best expectations in all respects.

It was interesting to read that you chose not to use your air-conditioning, just the ceiling fan. That is the way it was prior to our ownership in 2006. Now, there is a choice of whether our guests want A/C or not – with 26 of our 30 rooms having air-conditioning available. We loved the manner in which you enthusiastically described your deluxe cottage – “cottage superb with sunken bath/ shower and plenty of space with enormous comfortable bed. Everything spotless and well maintained.” You also commented most favourably on the gardens - “outstanding manicured gardens and lovely freshwater pool with swim up self-service bar. Quiet and restful ambiance which was exactly what we were looking for.” Thank you for such glowing, honest remarks.

It was also noted that you made favourable mention of the food and beverage, the quality of the clientele at East Winds, the “delightful lounge” where you mixed with new friends, and of course, the “wonderful staff” who made your stay so memorable – even listing many of their names to show how friendly and easy they are to get to know.

In closing, you reiterate that you would definitely consider returning (so many of our first time guests do), and given this was your first trip to the Caribbean, you may not fully appreciate the real difference between East Winds Inn and the standard hotels found in this region. In fact, we find that the more people have traveled and experienced the Caribbean, the more they appreciate and want to return to East Winds – “the Small Resort with a Big Heart”. Thank you again for your kind and thoughtful comments, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We choose to go to EWI after our original honeymoon destination caught fire and we didn't want to change our travel dates. We wanted, small (no more than 40ish rooms), all inclusive and no kids. Our travel agent spoke highly of it and we had considered it when doing our research so we set off happy in our choice. We are easy going, late 30's early 40's couple who don't stay out late or drink lots. We like good food, good company and to have a laugh

I won't repeat what others have said here about the rooms/showers/beach/gardens as we felt pretty much the same. One hint, the showers are pretty exposed but they will provide a screen for the windows, just ask. We stayed in cottage 17 and needed them.
There are some things that I thought I would share so that you can make an informed choice. The rooms that we stayed in (19 and 17) have AC. Our first room (19) had a huge puddle on the floor due to a faulty unit, they offered to move us, which I would have expected but no help in moving our things was offered.
We received our invitation to the Manager's Cocktail party AFTER we returned to our room. It had been stuck underneath our tea and coffee tray which is OUTSIDE the room. The only reason I knew to go down to dinner early was because I saw them setting up and asked.
No offer of a tour of the property was made and it would have been nice. As the place is very small, it wasn't too hard to find our way around after the first day.
It is small things like these that I think need to be improved upon.

My only complaint where I think EWI lets itself down is at lunch. Lunch is a buffet as other people have reviewed and while the food is ok-good (not excellent by any means) it should be better. EWI is a very small resort and could afford to serve a lunch that you order, rather than a cafeteria style buffet. It was a let down and I spent the week eating a green salad. Some days are BBQ, which is ok but again if you don't like/don't eat the three types of offering you are stuck. They do an excellent job at dinner so I am not sure why they stick to this model.

I feel that for the £5000 with airfare that we paid (and I usually would keep that private but feel it is relevant) EWI should have been better, especially at lunch.

That said, we had a good trip. The dinners were very good, the drinks were excellent (their bar staff is great). But for the amount that we paid I think that it wasn't the best value. They cater to 50-65 year old Brits in their menus (frog's legs, escargot, bananas flambee) but do things well, it isn't a criticism.
I would recommend EWI to that demographic as I think that they would enjoy the food, atmosphere and other guests. When we stayed the resort was half full to just under half full.

All in all, we enjoyed our honeymoon but if we are to pay the same amount again I think that we will be giving EWI a miss.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Lennox'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

THANKS FOR THE VERY GOOD REVIEW

We appreciate the review of your recent honeymoon stay at East Winds Inn, where you chose to come after your initial selection of a Caribbean location experienced an unfortunate fire. We are pleased we could accommodate you on such short notice, as there is typically a lull in hotel occupancies shortly after the New Year until mid-January, making your January 04th arrival timely in that sense. As you state, you had a good trip, the dinners were very good, the drinks were excellent, the bar staff is great, and all in all, you enjoyed your honeymoon.

Areas in which you feel we could improve upon are being investigated, and we appreciate you pointing them out to us. It is standard procedure to provide a property tour for each guest upon arrival, and if the time of arrival is not convenient, we offer alternate times and dates according to our guests’ wishes. In that regard, you state that the resort is very small so it was relatively easy to find things for yourselves. However, in actuality, as you likely discovered, it occupies over 12 acres and provides a great variety of potential activities for those who look for them. In fact, further down the coast there is a multi-storey resort of over 400 rooms in comparison to our 30 cottages, on a similar sized land parcel with a smaller beach. So size can mean different things to different people, whether one is focusing simply on buildings, or rather taking in all of the features such as magnificent historical trees and verdant gardens can provide. In our modern world, space and privacy as East Winds provides are indeed a luxury – one which most people are happy to pay for as they can see and feel what they are getting.

One of the features completely unique to East Winds Inn is the ability for our guests to enjoy their lunches in a number of thatched gazebos completely surrounded by vegetation, designed specifically for that purpose. These are right on the beach, and offer total privacy and the ultimate in relaxation - a true Caribbean experience. Virtually all of our repeat guests seek out these gazebos with their friends (old and new) to enjoy the sounds of the surf, feel the Caribbean breeze and hear or see all the bird life of the island. Wines and drink service, special requests, tea, coffee and cappuccino, as well as a wide variety of homemade ice creams are brought to these gazebos by friendly servers. The only thing the guests need to do is select their main course and ancillary offerings – which are many. There are also barbeques, carveries, and International Lunch Buffet on Saturdays with steel pan band accompaniment right on the beach. Because we serve some local dishes during lunch, many of our guests claim this is their favourite meal of the day. Most people enjoy the opportunity of mingling with other guests and our staff amongst the nature, personally selecting what they wish to eat from an extensive choice of fresh and interesting offerings.

East Winds does not cater to any specific age group, but rather the discerning traveler who understands the concept of understated elegance and excellent, friendly service. We would encourage readers to review the 337 out of 388 “Excellent” postings on this website, representing almost 87% of all reviews on East Winds Inn. In addition, there are another 35 “Very Good” reviews, including yours, yielding a total of 96% in the high customer satisfaction bracket. These reviews come from all age brackets, from young newlyweds to people celebrating their 60th Anniversary – the vast majority of who thoroughly enjoy themselves and vow to come back.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your predominately positive feedback, and we do hope that you will one day return to East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews