We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return guests for 11th time just the best!”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Return guests for 11th time just the best!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We retuned on December 4th another fabulous 10 days .

We were welcomed on arrival with champagne and all staff make you feel your returning to a wonderful house party
Great to see Ellie and Mavis and the jolly bar staff always ready to make a special cocktail!!
The food is really fabulous Paula's pancakes at breakfast and BBQ lunch with champagne and Steel band on the beach on Saturday wonderful
Jack enjoyed the Hobbycats even though the weather was so fabulous and hot very little wind!

Relaxed atmosphere and afternoon tea by the pool and sunset drinks just round the day off before a lovely diner in the thatched dinning room Sunday night pianist is wonderful

Room Tip: All the bungerlows are through the beautiful gardens and very seluded we stayed in one near the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pensaxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
THANK YOU FOR YOUR 11TH VISIT AND THE GLOWING REVIEW

We recognize that there are many choices on where to spend a 10 day holiday in the Caribbean, but when guests return 11 times to the same resort and are still so complimentary about their experience, that really says something. Thank you ever so much for your loyalty and patronage of East Winds Inn – “the Small Resort with a Big Heart” – which you have come to know so well.

Mentioning many of our staff members by name, including long time stalwarts such as Paula and Ellie who have been making guests happy for decades, and ever joyful Mavis and the bar staff is most kind of you. So is recognition of our talented pianist on the Steinway, mixing melodic tunes with the sounds of the surf in the cozy, thatched, seaside dining room. As you point out, the steel band on the beach is always a great addition to the legendary Saturday International Buffet.

You have clearly come to appreciate the relaxed and friendly atmosphere of East Winds Inn, and for all your contributions to our success, we are forever grateful. All we can hope for is that you will soon make it an even dozen visits – a level of commitment that most hotels can only dream of. It is on account of people like you, that we have been fortunate enough to be named the #1 All-Inclusive Resort in the Caribbean, and #3 All-Inclusive in the entire World on this website. Thank you eleven times over for making all this possible!

Warmest regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    64
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
141
586
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

It was three years since we had taken a main holiday so we spent as much time as we could to research Hotel options. We had called at St Lucia a number of times in the past whilst cruising so we were pretty confident about the destination and we went for East Winds based on Trip Advisor reviews. I have to say at one stage before hitting the "book" button we were a bit suspicious about the Trip Advisor reviews because they were all so good, but it didn't take us long (2 minutes) to realise that we made the right decision and that everything was true.

As you check in with a glass of champagne or rum punch and are taken through the beautiful gardens to your room you suddenly go into "relax" mode.

It was important for us to go to a place that would allow us to completely chill - quiet, tranquil location, lovely beach, friendly staff, great food (and wines & champagne!) and no requirement to do anything or stick to a schedule or in fact do anything other than relax were top of our agenda. That's exactly what we got!

If you want night life, loud music, enjoy queuing or your meals, cheap local brand drinks and being first to get to the beach to claim your sun bed then East Winds is definitely not for you. On the other-hand if you like the thought of a beautiful peaceful setting, lovely gardens and wild life, great cocktails champagne & wines, an extensive menu, table service (at it's best), entertainment from local musicians and a leisurely stroll to the beach (or indeed pool) at any time of the day and almost take your choice on location then then East Winds is for you.

It was our anniversary during our stay and we enjoyed a lovely private meal on the beach under one of the small canopies. It was a really nice touch and is just one example of how the staff make a real difference to your holiday.

If you want to get out and see the island there are a number of trips that the Hotel can arrange for you accompanied by a picnic. There are also a number of water sport activities available for those who want to be slightly adventurous on the private beach. I personally enjoy taking regular exercise and used the fitness trail within the grounds every day and took in the lovely setting along route.

I'm sure so many guests have said this before, but we very rarely return to the same place twice but as soon as I finish this review I will be checking fights and availability for next year - we can't wait!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe Garden Cottage which was set in the lovely gardens and a very short walk down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidM_SandyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
THANK YOU FOR “THE BEST “REVIEW WE CAN RECEIVE – A RETURN VISIT

We read with elation, the excellent review of your recent holiday experience at East Winds Inn. It is gratifying to know that any initial trepidation about booking on the strength of our exceptional TripAdvisor ratings was quickly dispelled upon your arrival. As you candidly sate “it didn't take us long (2 minutes) to realise that we made the right decision and that everything was true.” Thank you for emphasizing that point, as the entire staff works tirelessly to earn these well-deserved accolades. To be recognized as the #1 All-Inclusive Resort in the Caribbean and #3 in the World by TripAdvisor is very rewarding, but also introduces extreme pressure on everyone based on guest expectations. Given that East Winds Inn has been named as a major award winner for five consecutive years on TripAdvisor, including a Certificate of Excellence for 2012, the consistency of the reviews received speak for themselves. We appreciate your clear endorsement based on these criteria.

Knowing that you achieved the relaxation and comfort you were looking for is very important to all of us, and we are humbled by your perfect review in all categories. We are so pleased that you had a memorable anniversary celebration, and “how the staff make a real difference to your holiday.” It was also nice to read how you enjoyed the fitness trail and water sports – a true departure from a typical air-conditioned gymnasium and much more of an authentic Caribbean experience.

Your summation is our dream – “we very rarely return to the same place twice but as soon as I finish this review I will be checking fights and availability for next year - we can't wait!” What more needs to be said, except a heartfelt thank you again, and hope to see you next year!

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It has been a couple of weeks since we returned from a week over the UK half term holidays… this being our second trip to East Winds.

Like many people times are tough and selecting the right place to go on holiday, or even making the decision to go on a holiday at all, is a hard one. Trying to balance all the differing requirements of myself, my wife and our two teenagers (14 and 16) is a challenge.

In the end we all agreed that we wanted to go back to East Winds… talking about what staff may still be there, the drinks and food (Rum Baba for some reason kept being mentioned), would Eric (the Parrot) still not say a great deal, and now much my 14 year old would beat me at Monopoly.

We were not disappointed in any way.. in fact it was amazing to be great as we were, especially in the restaurant where many of the staff remembered and greeted us with huge smiles, hugs and handshakes… it felt like we had been going there for years, not just the once before.

As expected the food was fantastic, with most evening having a lively debate even before we sat down for dinner about what we would have. The wine was always flowing and such good quality… and the service is exceptional. Breakfast is truly awesome, with such a massive selection it is almost as difficult to decide on what to have as it is a dinner… I tried really hard to skip one meal a day, but I never achieved it.

We did have intensions to leave East Winds and visit a couple of places, like the rain forest, but in the end we were so happy we decided to just enjoy the beach, sea, pool and truly had the most relaxing 7 days that we have had in a long time.

As we left we had already started the negotiation about, not where we were going on holiday next year, but when we would be returning to East Winds…

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
PERFECT REVIEW AGAIN - THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Few reviews contain a commitment to re-book at the same resort for the following year as yours does so eloquently, not just in the body of your posting, but even within its title. Thank you for being so candid and complimentary about your recent experience at East Winds Inn, which, as you put it, was “the most relaxing 7 days that we have had in a long time.” We are so pleased that we met the expectations of your second visit to East Winds Inn, and the warm welcome you received as if you had been going there for years, allowed you to get into that relaxation mode straight away.

It is also rewarding to read that you found the food “fantastic”, the wine “flowing and such good quality”, and the service “exceptional”. Too bad about your intention to skip the odd meal not being realized due to temptation – we have had similar experiences during our own visits, but in the end, that is what vacations are for. Better you skip a meal or two once you are home, and save up your appetite for the next visit.

In the end, it is clear you have discovered the homelike atmosphere of East Winds Inn, the wonderful staff and all they do to make your holiday memorable. The enjoyment of a bonding family holiday that allows everyone to simply slow down and relax in this otherwise fast paced life we live today is unique and has intrinsic value – especially when times are tough as you point out. We are extremely happy that you will be returning for more of the same – thank you for your ongoing support and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit to "the Small Resort with a Big Heart".

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We needed a week away for respite as we look after my 90 year old mother-in-law whose help issues are "challenging" We wanted somewhere hot, by the sea and restful. We could have gone to our vacation home in Florida but we needed something different. After deciding on St Lucia we "researched" with Trip Advisor and choose East Winds. Several email questions to reception (Glenda Mathurin and Charmion) were answered promptly and fully. we made our booking through our local UK travel agent whom I use for business flights.

Flew out on BA from Gatwick. We independently booked St Lucia Helicopters ($145 pp) for the transfer from the International airport to Castries and then the short taxi ride (US$25) to East Winds. George Reti, East Winds owner, cautions using the helicopter transfer as your luggage goes separately by road. Good advice!!! We waited 45 minutes before being taken to the helicopter for the 10 minute trip to Castries. Our luggage was promised to be delivered between 18:00-18:30hrs. By 19:15hrs no suitcases, so I asked reception if they could chase up the whereabouts which they did and advised delivery by 19:30-ish, At quarter to eight reception called to say the bags had arrived and were promptly delivered to the room. Dinner service starts at 19:30.

Anyway back to our East Winds experiences. Our check-in was quick and efficient, a welcome glass of champagne was offered and gratefully received before being shown to our room which was Room 14 with a good view over the beautiful gardens. The room was spacious, clean and cool. The vaulted roof with exposed shingles added to the "rustic" appeal of the chalet. The bathroom is something unusual, The bathroom windows have insect screens but NO glass so they are at approximately outside temperature and humidity. Not a big issue for us. The shower base is photographed and uploaded on this site by other guests. It is a deep, sunken mosaic covered circular affair and the walls are undressed stone below the windows. The hot water was scalding hot (George - some warning signs would be advisable) and I think solar heated. Now my wife likes to bathe rather shower so a bit of improvisation was required. It so happens the the shower tray drain is exactly the diameter of the coffee mugs on the patio so one filled with water and placed over the drain acted as an efficient plug and allowed my wife a relaxing bath. (Maybe not all drains are the same in every room so this comment may only pertain to room 14)

The birds are interesting and inquisitive. The little Caribbean Bullfinches would feed crumbs from your hand and drink you tea by sitting on the edge of your cup. They are also very partial to milk and the breakfast cereal table.

Breakfast is a mixture of serve yourself and freshly cooked eggs, french toast and pancakes. Paula's omelettes are fabulous.

The waiter/waitress service is excellent, efficient yet not intrusive and Mavis was a joy to be served by.

Lunch is either a BBQ or a buffet depending on the day. Dinner is freshly prepared 4 courses with a choice on the menu. The various fish courses on offer are excellent as was the strip loin. Friday evening is a seafood and steak BBQ.

Most evenings their was some musically accompaniment during dinner. An excellent saxophone player gave some cool jazz and the pianist on the restaurant grand piano was good.

After dinner drinks at the bar passed away the evening until a restful sleep in the 2m wide super comfortable bed. We were awoken one morning after dawn by an animal, probably an opossum (according to the gardener) with big boots on , running backwards and forwards over the shingled roof

I used the 16ft Hobiekat on several occasions although the fitful and gentle breeze near the beach made for a slow trip out and in but once clear of the shore the wind was enough for some reasonably fast sailing. There are plenty of loungers under the the sunshades for a restful read and watch the world go by between meals and drinks. We did not use the pool area except to have afternoon tea at 4pm. The warm scones are delicious.

Our return BA flight left at 20:20hrs and check-out from the room is at 12 noon but receptful were kind enough to provide a courtesy room as ours had new arrivals checking in, so we could catch the last of the sun before a shower and departure to the airport. We took a car (BMW X3) provided by Carribtours to the airport as we did not want to risk delayed luggage by using the helicopter and it gave a good chance to see some of island before it got dark.

As I said at the beginning this was a respite trip to have some sleep and R & R and East Winds certainly fulfilled this objective.

Room Tip: If you book independently contact Carribtours (Margaret) to arrange helicopter, taxi transfers and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank English_Traveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
THANKS FOR THE GREAT REVIEW – VERY RESTFUL INDEED

We are extremely pleased that you decided upon East Winds Inn for a week of relaxation during this difficult time with all the challenges of aging parents. This, we know from personal experience, and in many ways, wish we had been there at the same time as you were in order that we too could get a break, and at the same time, enjoy the sun and the sea and a much needed change of pace. The fact you were able to relax in the space of only a week says a great deal about your experience at East Winds Inn.

The fact you chose East Winds Inn as a Senior Contributor on this website, with 25 reviews to your credit covering 12 hotels and 20 different cities, gives that selection a great deal of meaning. Furthermore, in reviewing your profile as an adjudicating guest, we are honoured that you have given us such a high rating. Thank you for all your candid comments, and we will make note of the excessively hot water in the shower.

Interesting remarks about your helicopter transfer from the main airport across the island to the north where East Winds and many of the better hotels are located on the Caribbean side of St. Lucia. We are glad that you took a taxi back, as the ride can be quite interesting and gives you a good visual perspective of life on the island. This way, you had both experiences, which is very beneficial to truly appreciate all the variety that St. Lucia has to offer.

Your positive comments about so many aspects of East Winds are greatly appreciated, including the rooms, the gardens, staff, the varied cuisine, entertainment during dinner and the lounge for some creative nightcaps before a good sleep. It sounds like you also made ample use of the water sports between rest periods on the beach – providing an all-round relaxing and social experience - just what East Winds is noted for.

We do hope to have you visit again soon when you are able to stay a bit longer (our average guest stay is 11 days), which would facilitate an even greater level of relaxation and calm. Thank you for your support of East Winds Inn, and we wish you the best during these challenging times.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We returned to East Winds Inn this year for my 50th birthday as I didn't want a fuss at home. It was a bigger party in East Winds that it would have been at home with everyone in the resort joining inn. Everyone was absolutely fantastic from even before we arrived to the minute we left with reception staff organising the helicopter transfers, trips and massages for me, kitchen staff making a beautiful strawberry birthday cake and restaurant staff making sure I had a beautiful table setting and even champagne for breakfast. Every member of the team is amazing and nothing is too much trouble. We met old friends and made loads of new friends and hope to return to the October gang again next year. We thought the food was very good last year but I have to say it was even better this year and although Thomas was on holiday, George was an excellent stand in. Titus and Kerwin making B52's at night were a great night cap and the flaming dawdler for Tommy was definitely a knock out. There are too many staff to mention individually so we would just like to say a huge thank you to every one of them for being so cheerful and helpful no matter what time if day you met them. The entertainment is just right for us and even when the rain came nothing stopped, the steel band just set up in the barbeque area and brought the sunshine out again and we had a lovely sing along with the pianist. Thanks again for an amazing brithday

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen-TommyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
HAPPY BIRTHDAY REVIEW – THANK YOU FOR THE PARTY

“Everyone was absolutely fantastic from even before we arrived to the minute we left” – that certainly sounds like a satisfied guest, and we thank you for this generous comment relating to your 50th birthday celebration at East Winds Inn. We are so pleased that you allowed the dedicated staff to pamper you on the occasion of your special day – that is what they do best, and as you have noted, with a constant smile and with pleasure. As you say “Every member of the team is amazing and nothing is too much trouble” - that is a consistent comment we receive about the staff at East Winds Inn, and in our view, is what makes the resort so unique.

It was also rewarding to read how you met up with so many old friends and made “loads of new friends” during your stay, underscoring the guest quality and friendliness we experience at East Winds Inn. Your note on the ever improving cuisine was also appreciated, and our new chef team of Tomislav and Georges has more than impressed even the most discriminating guest. Of course, the bartenders are always a treat – Titus and Kerwin can mix up whatever you like and then some – the possibilities involving premium branded spirits are endless. Thank you for recognizing all the staff, as there are over 80 of them in total to ensure that all guests receive the holiday of a lifetime – and that does not include all the entertainers, who you also enjoyed immensely. Thank you for noting that as well.

We are so pleased that you will carry with you the fond memories of a Caribbean birthday for years to come. And to say that you hope to return again next year is a further plus for us and the rest of the October gang – who are always eager to welcome new “members” into their fold. See you again next year, and Happy Birthday!

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having seen all the trip advisor reviews, I knew we were in for something special and I was right. we have never been on an all inclusive holiday before as we usually do more explorative trips around various places, mainly the US, but we were in dire need of a quiet break, so we chose East Winds. we hate impersonal hotels where you could be anywhere in the world, so we really appreciated the tranquil informal elegance of East Winds.
there is not much I can add to what other reviewers have said, except to say everything was beyond perfect. the food was so fresh and delicious, especially the lobster which we enjoyed plenty of! it was creative with subtle flavours which enhanced the fresh food, rather than horrible overly sauced food which you get in some hotels. Staff were incredible, so friendly and helpful. thanks to you all, so much. The gardens are kept beautifully and really add to the ambience of the place. I hope this never changes, because many hotels would seek to sqeeze in as many apartments as possible rather than keep the large grounds. the wine and spirits were of really good quality - as another reviewer said, I had expected cheaper brands which would have been fine, but we were very impressed with the great quality selection. Titus, Tim, Kirwin and all the bar staff were great at making innovative tasty cocktails and were so funny and friendly.
The watersports were great and the staff helpful and friendly. We especially liked the hobie cats. Snorkelling was good too, and if you go round the bay to the beach at windjammer, you may find the octopus we saw there! We didn't see the sea horses though unfortunately. I loved our room, the shower, the well chosen furniture, everything really. Hotel entertainment was lovely and not in your face, just complimentary to the general ambience. the sunhuts on the beach were great and plentiful. The swimming pool looked great too though we couldn't tear ourselves away from the beach to use it!
You can do as much or as little as you want at East Winds, it's up to you. We spent a lot of time just relaxing, but reception will tell you about various trips you can take if you want more stimulation. We did a lovely boat trip to the Pitons, volcano, botanic gardens and plantation, and we also did zip wiring which was fantastic. Yoga was good and the Pilates really excellent, thank you Nikita for all your efforts( and you were right, it really is the best way to get over a hangover!) the pavillion where these classes were held is lovely and spacious.
the sunsets which we watched every night were some of the most beautiful we have ever seen.
We met some lovely people at East Winds too.
I am sure we will be back, thanks again for making our holiday really special.

Room Tip: We were in the superior room which was lovely, and we would choose the same again. We didn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
THANK YOU FOR THE PEACEFUL, SERENE AND BEAUTIFUL REVIEW

This truly is a wonderful review. The number of different aspects of East Winds Inn which you comment upon in the most favourable of lights, is outstanding. The remark “everything was beyond perfect” really says it all. “Staff were incredible, so friendly and helpful” ranks right up there as well. Rather than quote ever so many positive statements, we would simply urge readers to review this posting very carefully. Therein, you will see that it contains over 30 different topics which are discussed about East Winds Inn and St. Lucia – all so positively and succinctly stated. Thank you for taking the care to be so detailed and encouraging to everyone who made your holiday so memorable.

You even noticed the other guests – “We met some lovely people at East Winds too” – we are always proud of the quality of guests we attract at East Winds Inn. In fact, most of them become repeat visitors as you have also suggested you will be – what more could we ask for?

Thank you again for all your positive comments and support of East Winds Inn. We would love to have you back to the “Small Resort with a Big Heart”, which you have now discovered for yourself. It was so kind of you to share it with others.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

From the second we arrived we knew we had made a great choice. The girls in reception were friendly and efficient, offering cold towels and a choice of drinks, then we were shown to our deluxe room which was really fab it was really clean the bed was very comfortable, i loved the sunken shower, the towels were big and soft, the receptionist then took us around the resort so we knew where everything was. The pool is really nice with the self service bar, we had the pool to ourselves a few times. The beach is small, but plenty of sun beds, and the sea is beautiful, calm and warm. The restuarant is really good the food and service were great, breakfast and lunch are buffet style,plenty of choice. Paula makes fab omlettes. Miriam, Hannah,Maggie Haige made mealtimes fun, there are more great staff but i have forgotten their names, Titus made the best cocktails.The fine wines and champagne were a joy, we have stayed at other all inclusive where the drinks are cheap and watered down, but not at Eastwinds, another reason to go.Its a great place to relax and unwind. I think that the management team at Eastwinds has got the best team of employees on the island, even the chaps who look after the watersports were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful and even suggested for my birthday they take me out and fish for my own birthday dinner.We shall return, and have already told our friends that they should go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
“BEST HOLIDAY EVER” REVIEW APPRECIATED

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience at East Winds Inn with potential travelers to beautiful St. Lucia. Stating this was your “best holiday ever” is a bold comment, which we greatly appreciate receiving. The numerous superlatives you have chosen to utilize in your review speak for themselves – great choice, friendly and efficient, really fab, really clean, very comfortable and many more. Like many guests, you loved the sunken stone showers, and appreciated the big, soft towels. The pool also seems to have made a positive impression.

It is nice to see you refer to so many of the dedicated staff by name. You are right, Paula makes a mean omelet – she’s been doing that for over 18 years at East Winds, and she will make whatever you want for breakfast – with a smile. Miriam is relatively new to East Winds, but we are already hearing rave reviews – she works closely with Maggie and Haige – two of our experienced servers for the exquisite four course dinners with wine pairings. Hannah has been with East Winds for over 10 years and makes great cocktails, having won bartending competitions throughout the Caribbean. And Titus – well, he is the consummate barman with a great sense of humor and always a special drink up his sleeve. As you say, there were many more, and you consider them “the best team of employees on the island”. All the staff at East Winds Inn thank you for that comment, and are eager to provide you with the “best holiday ever”.

We are pleased to read that you wish to return, and are telling your friends about East Winds Inn – “The Small Resort with a Big Heart”. Your ongoing support is greatly appreciated. Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
937 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
7.0 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
910 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,258 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Property: East Winds
Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, West Indies, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing