We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
East Winds
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Beach Cottages(Castries)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort(Castries)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coco Palm Resort(Rodney Bay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MJI St Lucia(Gros Islet)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bay Gardens Hotel(Rodney Bay)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Suites(Castries)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveler rating
810
69
19
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
69
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfitness trailbamboo loungedeluxe cottagesunken showerother guestsfour coursesyoga pavilionhouse partyhead gardenerpre dinner champagnest luciasunset cruisesteel bandeach eveninghumming birdsbreakfast and lunchthe cottages
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 903 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We are just like the hundreds of others who have stayed at East Winds and absolutely loved it!

I looked at TripAdvisor for months trying to find the perfect place in St. Lucia for our honeymoon...we definitely found the right place! We were immediately greeted from the taxi with cold towels and delicious rum punch!

Not only were the rooms excellent, the food and staff were something you just don't see at many resorts. All meals were exceptional, with the highlight being each night's 4-course dinner and the Friday barbeque. The staff do everything in their power to accommodate you. Our flight back to the states was delayed and the manager even let us stay for lunch and even had the kitchen pack us a supper to eat on the plane! I don't think you'd get that at Sandals!

We didn't want a resort with hundreds of other couples and a "crammed" feeling. East Winds was perfect for us - quiet, secluded, and amazing drinks/food! Like other reviewers have said, if you want to party this is not the resort.

Beach activities were excellent! We sailed, kayaked, and snorkeled and had a great time playing soccer with the water sports guys!

We really have no complaints about East Winds and are looking forward to going back! We highly recommend the deluxe cottage!

Room Tip: The deluxe cottage was excellent and had cold A/C, cable TV, and an awesome step-down shower!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank austinmann25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

THANK YOU FOR THE PERFECT HONEYMOON REVIEW FROM PARADISE

To start your excellent review by stating - “I looked at TripAdvisor for months trying to find the perfect place in St. Lucia for our honeymoon...we definitely found the right place!” – that is a resounding endorsement of East Winds Inn for which we are extremely grateful. The fact you “absolutely loved it” is most encouraging for all those who helped make it happen. You clearly experienced the personal touches associated with a boutique style resort, as well as the “excellent rooms” and the food and staff that “you just don’t see at many resorts”. You are correct that the evening, four course, wine paired meals are one of the main highlights, as is the Friday night barbeque.

It seems as though you were also kept quite busy with beach activities and water sports, even playing soccer on the beach with the water sports fellows. But most of all, we appreciate you saying that you are “looking forward to going back” – that is the true testament to a good holiday, the feeling of wanting to return to relive the experience.

We thank you for selecting East Winds Inn from all the hotels available in the Caribbean to spend such a special occasion as your honeymoon, and we wish you a very happy and healthy new life together.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great welcome as you step out of the taxi - cold towels and a rum punch!
We went for our 25th Wedding anniversary and a real treat it was. Service was absolute! Staff are very, very well versed in ensuring you are treated well, that you are relaxed and literally want for nothing. Rooms are well presented and not overstated, Towels,tolietries and mini bar are replenished daily and rooms cleaned daily.
This was the first holiday where my wife did not have to clean the room first!
Food is incredible with buffet breakfast (pancakes and omelettes are cooked to order, thanks to Paula). Lunch is buffet with occasional BBQs with the local meats and fish. Evening meals are out of this world, four courses, inter-sprinkled with 'muse bouches' and a wine selection to rival the best restaurants anywhere, with choices of whites, reds & rose wines each night.
The service was of a very high standard thanks to the restaurant manager, staff, I cannot remember everyone's name so I won't mention any for fear of leaving anyone out.
The Bamboo lounge offered champagne each evening before dinner or what ever cocktail or spirit drink you could wish for.Cocktails available late morning onwards, so more than enough time to experience each one on the menu and more besides.
The grounds were well kept with some stunning examples of the local flora. There was a pool with a self service swim up bar where you can practice your cocktail making skills. Afternoon tea was served there as well.
Activities are non motorized, Kensley gave great instruction on the Hobbie Cats and I was able to sail on my own without further instruction after one lesson.
The beach is small but a proper beach and spans the width of the property, suitable for total relaxation, swimming etc. Security is there but not in your face.
The evening entertainment is there while you are having dinner and of a very good standard with Piano player, Jazz band, shac-shac & steel bands and the Managers cocktail evening with a local band singing caribbean tunes.
This is a relaxing holiday, not for thrills and spills and if you are after excitement, adrenalin etc then this is not the place for you.
Even though it has wi-fi throughout I did not bring the lap top as it would defeat the object of the holiday, those longing for a technology 'fix' then bring your I-phones. better still switch them off until the last day, it will make you appreciate them more.
On our anniversary we had a secluded gazebo for our evening celebratory meal all decorated together with an excellent bottle of champagne.
There are lots of tours that either the tour operator or the hotel reception can organise and they will organise cabs for individual trips to Rodney bay if you wanted a bit more night life or any daytime shopping.
I recommend East Winds Inn for anyone wanting to truly relax, the staff want you to be happy and will do everything possible to ensure you are. We will be going there again!

Room Tip: upgrade to Superior garden or request Ocean View rooms for same price (ocean view rooms are 30 seconds from the beach)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

THANKS FOR THE FABULOUS 25TH ANNIVERSARY REVIEW

Your detailed and highly complementary review of your 25th wedding anniversary experience at East Winds Inn is most greatly appreciated. You have a great way of saying things, including the title of your review, “Fab”. Others include – “and a real treat it was”, Service was Absolute”, Staff are very, very well versed in ensuring you are treated well, that you are relaxed and literally want for nothing”. The list goes on and on, including the quality of the “incredible” food, “out of this world” dinners and the high quality of service that East Winds Inn is so famous for – without being stuffy. You clearly got it and we so appreciate that. I particularly liked the line “even though it has Wi-Fi throughout, I did not bring the lap top as it would defeat the object of the holiday”. Interesting how you chose to do that, and what a great time you had – there is a place for everything. Better you had a lovely romantic anniversary dinner by the seaside with your wife of 25 years in your own private gazebo with an excellent bottle of champagne as you did – that, you won’t forget!

Your conclusion is spot on – “I recommend East Winds Inn for anyone wanting to truly relax, the staff want you to be happy and will do everything possible to ensure you are. We will be going there again!”

Thank you for your helpful review and support of East Winds Inn. We sincerely do hope to see you again soon – laptop or not - but with your sweetheart of 25 years.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We wanted a relaxing, sunny, perfect holiday to celebrate our anniversary and our first holiday in 30 years without any of the off-spring. We reviewed East Winds and hoped that all our requirements would be met. Oh Boy did we underestimate this hotel !!!!!!!!!!
Reviews before ours have covered all the superlatives I could possibly use. Suffice to say that we had the most wonderful 2 weeks. Room, food, beach, staff, company, pool, grounds and even the weather ( half day of rain in the rainy season ) all created our perfect get away.
We loved the peace and quiet, the laid back atmosphere.
We loved all the staff..nothing was too much trouble, every task was done with a smile :) and we would like to say a huge thank you to all involved in making our anniversary dinner so special x x
We have been back in the UK for a week now and are still looking for negatives to add to this review, but can only come up with things that are down to personal taste and real nit picking, so here goes. The entertainment was mixed, we loved the steel band and the piano player was awesome but were not at all fussed with the jazz or the duo at the managers party and the only nit pick we could think of was that there were tea and coffee making facilities but only coffee mate was provided (tastes awful in tea..LOL). However on a good note we asked for milk and were given a carton to keep in the fridge so alls well that ends well.
So if you are looking for perfection and relaxation with no noisy discos or lager louts PLEASE please try East Winds I guarantee you will not want to leave..I know we did'nt and we are so looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NAM231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

PEFECTION REVIEW HAS GENUINE SINCERITY – THANK YOU

The challenge of providing a great holiday for the first time in 30 years without your children and on your anniversary is quite daunting, but it seems that East Winds Inn certainly rose to the occasion. You have to love the line “Oh Boy, did we underestimate this hotel!!!!!!!” That basically says it all, and perhaps helps reinforce why East Winds Inn was named the number 1 All-Inclusive resort in the entire Caribbean on this website for 2012. We couldn’t be more flattered and appreciative of all your glowing comments, and know we earned your praise honestly from a full two week stay with us.

As indicated by the majority of reviewers, the staff is what makes East Winds Inn what it really is – all 84 of them. “We loved the staff…nothing was too much trouble, every task was done with a smile, and we would like to say a huge thank you to all involved in making our anniversary dinner so special” – these are your own words, not an advertisement. Thank you for your frank honesty – especially when you finish by stating “….please try East Winds, I guarantee you will not want to leave…I know we didn’t and we are so looking forward to returning in the future.” What more could we ask for? We look so forward to welcoming you back to "the small resort with a big heart."

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

East Winds provides us a wonderful opportunity to unwind and truelly relax. Being here we were able to give each other the full benefit of ourselves, while taking in the beautiful sunsets along with the sounds of surf, song birds and tree frogs. I thank my wife for her tasteful choice of this island locale for celebration of our 5th wedding aniversary. (We were married on St Lucia).
The Staff, from reception, to housekeeping, diningroom, food prep, bartending, gardners, yoga etc. were courteous, considerate, and engaging.
Like some others who have reviewed, we did find some things a bit out of sync; the self serve pool bar was not as presentable as other areas on property, the pool patio was somewhat rough around the edges, and some common mixers and drink menu ingredients were "out of stock". But over all, those things were insignificant to our enjoyment and feeling of total tranquility over our 7 nights at east Winds Inn. The comfort of the natural surroundings together with the attentive service far outweigh the negatives. For whatever was lacking, there was always a pleasing alternative.
The desire to meet the needs of any guest were apparent when I asked for a "pumkin" to be delivered to our room. Hannah didn't hesitate to ask when I would like it delivered. And the housekeeping staff made sure it would be a surprise for my wife. And when I told her it was an anniversary surprise, Hannah took it upon herself to ensure we were treated to some special touches during our anniversary dinner. The dining room staff went out of there way to make us feel even more special that next evening. There were beautiful flowers at our table. A chilled bottle of Sparkling Srawberry Wine. A deliscious appettiser added to the already marvelous dinner. Even a fantastic dessert made just for us !
I wish I could remember all the names, but when so many people are so kind, in a short time, it is difficult to remember all teh names. The faces and smiles we will not forget. I would like to thank you all for making this long awaited vacation, and escape from our daily committments and stressful ways, such a peaceful and refreshing time.
And for all of the other reviews regarding Wifi, phone service, and Television... REALLY?
You concider that vacation? You need another !

Room Tip: Luckily, we chose the perfect room. Covered varanda, ocean view, close to the beach, resteraunt and yoga center. We have no idea what the others were like.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antny-Viki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

THANK YOU FOR THE PEACEFUL REVIEW

It is clear from all your positive comments, that you greatly enjoyed your anniversary visit to St. Lucia and more specifically, to East Winds Inn. Your feelings of “total tranquility”, the appreciation of the “courteous, considerate and engaging staff”, the memorable anniversary dinner with all the special touches and even the fact that Hannah took it upon herself to get you a surprise pumpkin for your wife, underscore the quality of your experience. We thank you for all of those positive recognitions.

As you so graciously point out that you wish you could remember all the names of the staff who made it such a special holiday, but “the faces and the smiles we will not forget”. And to summarize by stating “ I would like to thank you all for making this long awaited vacation and escape from our daily commitments and stressful ways, such a peaceful and refreshing time.” – that is truly gratifying for everyone at East Winds Inn.

We do hope to see you again for another special anniversary, and the same smiles and genuine attention will be waiting for you.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had read all the reviews and although we wouldn't normally go on a full board basis, we thought we'd try it. So glad we did: none of the normal queues and monotonous buffets, this was really, really good. You'd want to go here for dinner if it wasn't included anyway.
The staff were all so friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble and it really was genuine as opposed to polite nods and smiles.
September is the quiet season so it wasn't that busy but we wanted to take it easy and relax so that was fine with us. If you want a wild night out, this isn't for you but if you want to relax, chat and eat well, this is perfect. The Manager, Gareth even went out of his way to take us to a local gallery as we expressed interest in the art they have. This really is a little gem.
If you want to be more adventurous, they can organise tours, diving, zip wires and rainforest hikes but you can also use the hobie sailing cats at the resort or just use the snorkel gear.
You really don't feel you're in a conventional hotel, which is perfect if you travel on business a lot but you do have mod cons such as tv, a/c and wi-fi, which is great.
They certainly set a very high bench mark for all inclusive and we wouldn't go anywhere else in St Lucia, despite it being our first time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sallyCantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

THANKS FOR THE AMAZING REVIEW – TOP CLASS

“This was really, really good”. Any review which starts out like that has to be taken seriously – which we certainly do, and we thank you for your enthusiastic remarks. We are so pleased that you found your first trip to St. Lucia, and more specifically, to East Winds Inn, so gratifying. Again, the highlight, as pointed out by so many guests, is the “friendly and helpful staff – nothing was too much trouble and it really was genuine”. This acknowledgement is most greatly appreciated by all.

To culminate your review by stating that East Winds Inn “certainly sets a very high benchmark for all inclusive and we wouldn’t go anywhere else” is very rewarding for everyone who participated in making your stay so memorable. We like to refer to East Winds Inn as the small hotel with a big heart, but seeing you say “This really is a little gem” is also a wonderful summary – thank you for expressing yourself so openly.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing holiday.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews