We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I returned from our second visit to East Winds in March 2012 and if possible it was better than the year before.

If you are looking for paradise with excellent food and service this is the hotel for you.The staff, manger and owner can't do enough for you and the chef prepares food as good if not better than any michelin star restaurant I've eaten in .

East Winds is so perfect we have already booked to go back next year.

Andrew and Debbie - Hampshire.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

GRATEFUL FOR PERFECT REVIEW AND NEW BOOKING

Thank you for posting such a positive review on your second visit to East Winds Inn. The fact you found the experience even better than the year before underscores the confidence you have demonstrated in already booking your return visit for next year. It is most gratifying for all staff at the resort to know their efforts are appreciated - and the best testament to that is to see guests returning year after year as you are now doing.

As you so candidly state “If you are looking for paradise with excellent food and service this is the hotel for you.” This simple statement needs no embellishment or explanation – we appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Thank you for your continued support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 870 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

Let me begin by saying that I researched practically every island and every resort in the Caribbean, searching and hoping for a perfect place for my wife and me to celebrate our 15th anniversary. We chose East Winds...and it was perfect; I can't imagine a more romantic place! "Small" is a word that I use repeatedly when describing this resort. With only 30 rooms, this is the smallest resort we have experienced, and our love of this will make it very difficult for us to plan future vacations. I suppose we can just agree to choose East Winds for every trip! Our accommodations were very comfortable, with a very Caribbean feel (and spotlessly clean). We splurged on the ocean front suite, room #30, and it was a mere 29 steps from our patio to the sand and 50 steps to our beach chair, where we spent the majority of our time. The food, drink, and service were amazing. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch buffets with maybe 10-12 other guests (versus the traditional all-inclusive resort or cruise with 100s of people waiting in line). Dinner was the highlight of the day, with delicious creations by the master chef, a never empty glass of wine, soothing entertainment, and the most romantic and peaceful dining room in the world. Our favorite entertainers were the concert pianists who played on three of our seven nights. For our anniversary, our table was set with special linens, fresh cut flowers, and a bottle of champagne; the chef prepared a special dessert; the piano played and the ocean sang; this was an unforgettable anniversary meal! We will most definitely return to East Winds; the question is when and will we bring the kids? There were a few families traveling with children while we were there. I believe that our kids would do well and be lulled into the relaxed atmosphere; however, it would mean that my day of lying in the beach chair would have to change to include more play time and perhaps island exploring. We only left the resort twice during our week-long stay: once for a 2-hour trip into town for some shopping and once for a day sail down to see the Pitons and the west coast of St. Lucia. This is a resort for people seeking a restful, relaxing, do-nothing type vacation. If you are in need of loud night life, busy beach activities, or constant energy, this might not be the resort for you. We are the type who search for peace and relaxation, where the only decisions to be made are whether we will have a nap before or after lunch. All in all, this was one of our most memorable vacations. We love East Winds and can't wait until we can experience this again!

Room Tip: If you are considering the helicopter airport transfer, I must say that it was worth every penny. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

THANK YOU FOR THE “PERFECT” 15TH ANNIVERSARY REVIEW

The quality of your beautiful, heartfelt review and the emotion evoked upon its reading is truly rewarding for all of us at East Winds Inn – you have clearly captured the essence of the resort and all which the staff has worked so tirelessly to create and maintain. Thank you for your candor and convincing enthusiasm in all your observations. This is why we like to refer to East Winds Inn as “the small resort with a big heart” – just as you have noted.

After reading your review numerous times and looking for one or two favourite lines which would assist potential travelers through paragraphs of superlatives, we settled on the portion devoted to your special anniversary meal – “our table was set with special linens, fresh cut flowers, and a bottle of champagne; the chef prepared a special dessert; the piano played and the ocean sang; this was an unforgettable anniversary meal!” and “I can’t imagine a more romantic place”. Nor could we overlook the comments pertaining to the “very Caribbean feel (and spotlessly clean)”.

Stating that this was one of your most memorable vacations is exceptionally gratifying – especially when it is apparent that you are planning on returning soon – with or without your children. We look forward to that occasion, as you will experience exactly what you have so eloquently expressed in this review all over again.

Thank you for your support of East Winds Inn, and hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We visited East Winds for an evening meal to celebrate a special occassion having made the reservation before we left home.

On arrival we were shown to the Bamboo Lounge,a relaxing place for pre dinner drinks, and then taken to our table in the restaurant when we were ready. We were looked after very well by Henry and his team.
We were speechless when we saw that we had a beach side table dressed with beautiful flowers and piano music playing in the background,it brought teras to my eyes.
We received fantastic service and enjoyed a fabulous four course meal,the chef even cooked a special meal for our daughter.

We felt truly spoilt by the suprise waiting for us at our table,thank you George.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelbug9450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

THANK YOU FOR THE ENTHUSIASTIC, HEARTFELT REVIEW

We truly appreciate the posting of your recent anniversary experience at East Winds Inn. Despite the fact the hotel was fully occupied, it seems you enjoyed yourselves a great deal through the efforts of our caring staff and quality musicians – to the point of being “speechless” and “brought to tears”. That is the most gratifying comment we could possibly receive, and we thank you for your genuine honesty and sharing of emotion.

Hopefully, you will return to East Winds Inn for a repeat performance – you will always be welcomed with open arms and genuine smiles by people who really care about providing you with the most romantic and best holiday experience possible.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our honeymoon stay at East Winds was lovely! The food and service was fantastic! Excellent gourmet meals paired with wines. We had amazing steak during our special dinner for two. The meals are set up differently compared to other all-inclusive resorts. It is not an unlimited amount of sub-par food. During lunch, there were usually two or three amazing entrees along with a few tasty sides – prepared to perfection. While we were there, the hurricane had done much damage and mangos were not plenty. One morning I requested mangoes; they did not have any and explained the issue. They next morning, they handed me mangos during breakfast – what great service! Our room/cabin was lovely as well. Spacious and lovely bathroom fitted with luxurious bath products and a lovely shower. The cabin had very tall ceilings and there was a flat screen TV as well for the rare times we weren’t basking at the pool. They also have a good DVD collection. We did the couples massage which was easily arranged and was great! They have afternoon tea which is not extensive and the least impressive of their meals, but still a lovely addition! And real champagne before dinner was one of our favorite little touches!

A few shortcomings: although they have a private pool, it is not the best. It is small and in the middle of the property so does not overlook the Caribbean Ocean. It has a self service swim-up bar which is not the best option for someone like me as I do not know how to mix drinks. They have a private beach with a nice, unobstructed view of the Caribbean Sea, but it is extremely pebbly. The biggest shortcoming for me was that despite all its wonderful attributes, the overall stay there felt impersonal. At no point did we see the owner. At no point did anyone come up to us and ask how our honeymoon was turning out to be. From everything we had read prior to going, it had seemed that personal attention was going to be a fortitude here, but we did not experience it. Read my review on Desert Paradise Lodge to see what real personalized service feels like!

Overall, excellent stay, well-priced for the exclusive meals and lovely property!

Room Tip: Ask for the updated cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SUR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

EXCELLENT HONEYMOON REVIEW APPRECIATED

It would be difficult to improve upon your enthusiastic opening “Our honeymoon stay at East Winds was lovely! The food and service was fantastic! Excellent gourmet meals paired with wines.” Thank you for your frankness and openness relative to your Honeymoon stay at East Winds Inn.

The many other positive comments which you make are appreciated, as are your observations about the property and the extra efforts of our staff. You should be made aware that the beach – because it is a natural coral beach bordered by two coral reefs offering excellent snorkeling - is constantly changing. Typically, it is many feet thick of natural sand, and depending on the tide and surf, there are times that a multitude of shells, coral pebbles and other interesting sea life surface, making for ideal beach combing. The water is almost always crystal clear because of the depth of sand and protected bay, where giant turtles sometimes come out to lay their eggs on the beach. Over the years, we have had many baby turtles start their lives at East Winds Inn – much in the way you started your married lives together. It is not the talcum powder white beach which people often associate with the Caribbean, but much more alive and constantly transforming itself – like a good marriage.

As you conclude “Overall, excellent stay, well-priced for the exclusive meals and lovely property!” Hopefully, this means you will return, at which point we would like to personally welcome you back to paradise.

Thank you for entrusting East Winds Inn with your honeymoon vacation, and we wish you many years of happiness together.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

A lovely resort to find complete relaxation, good food and wine and excellent service. Although some aspects of East Winds are looking a bit tired, the ambiance of the place can't be faulted. Whether poolside or beachside, relaxing with a good book, help yourself cocktails and plenty of birdlife, snorkelling, hobie cat sailing it is all fabulous. I would request that fridges are stocked with a bottle of wine for those of us who are not beer drinkers but hey, why not walk down to the sunset bar for your aperitif?

Room Tip: it is on a hillside so the nearer the beach you are, the nearer the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scalloplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

THANK YOU FOR THE POSITIVE REVIEW

“A lovely resort to find complete relaxation, good food and wine and excellent service” – this opening line is most appreciated for its totality of satisfaction expression. We are not certain about which aspects of East Winds Inn you thought a bit tired, especially considering that virtually the entire resort and its 12 acres has been fully retrofitted with high quality improvements over the past few years. As you say, “the ambiance of the place can’t be faulted” – we thank you for such an honest comment.

It is nice to see that you enjoyed the active birdlife, the snorkeling and hobie cats – “all fabulous”. When you do return, please simply ask for a bottle of wine to be placed in your fridge upon arrival – it would have gladly been placed there had you requested it.

Many thanks for your comments and continued support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I discovered East Winds on Trip Advisor, and I can honestly say that it came up to all my expectations. It is truly wonderful, beautiful location, tranquil, well-run and just perfect.
We stayed in room 26, it felt like our own little piece of paradise. A nice quiet room, just a short walk down to the beach and restaurant. The room was well maintained, lots of wardrobe and storage space (lots of hangers), good lighting, TV, DVD, free WiFi, plenty of electrical sockets, even an international adapter was provided. The bed was huge and very comfortable, plenty of pillows and beautiful, crisp white linen. The bathroom had lots of space for toiletries etc, there were always spare fluffy white towels but what I fell in love with straight away was the sunken shower. Because there is no glass in the window, just an insect screen, it feels as if your are almost showering in the garden listening to the birds and looking at the trees. The sunny terrace was a delight, with the fridge stocked with beer and cold drinks, tea and coffee facilities and a small sink. We spent hours on that terrace, it was out of this world, truly relaxing, just the sound of the birds and the rustle of leaves.
The food at East Winds is exquisite. During the week we stayed not a single item appeared more than one on the dinner menu. The food was always well presented, hot, and perfect size portions. I have to admit that I didn't leave a single thing. I specially remember the pork tenderloin, the tuna, scallops, the paella, marinated fried fish and the stunningly presented desserts. The restaurant is right by the sea with lots of space betwwen tables, you were never rushed, but service was quick and efficient and the music at just the right level. Lunch was a kind of buffet, again very good, and there was always plenty of salad and fresh fruit. Breakfast was buffet but with a cook station where you could get your eggs, omelettes etc. The cook (I think she was called Paula) made the best omelettes that I have ever eaten and served them with a real smile. I am a huge coffee fan and can honestly say that the coffee was exquisite at all meals.
I am not a huge drinker but the bar service was very good, before dinner we always had cocktails with the other guests and they always made me a non-alcoholic drink, each evening different. The weekly coktail party was a nice way of meeting other guests, although as it is a small resort everyone tends to be warm and friendly.
The service at East Winds is just right, discreet yet efficient. The staff were all wonderful, and I do mean all of them, receptionists, bar and restaurant staff, cleaners, gardeners, beach staff and the manager of course!. They all did a great job and always had a genuine smile.
There are plenty of loungers on the beach and around the pool and plenty of shade. The pedal boats and kayaks are a nice way to spend an hour or so, and the snorkelling was nice too. The swimming pool is nice,
and impecably clean, all stray leaves were rapidly removed!.
We did a session of yoga and pilates- both the monitors were excellent and the open pavilion made it even better. We also used the training circuit a few times, it was great.
The gardens at East Winds are very beautiful, lush, mature, full of colour. We chatted to the Head gardener a couple of times and he was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about all the different plants and trees. We enjoyed walking around the gardeners and identifying all the different species from the booklet in our room.
East Winds is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in, I love to travel and see new places, so I don't often return to the same hotel twice. However I plan to make an exception with East Winds and go back to this little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Room 26 is on the top corner of the property so is extremely quiet, the older rooms are closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT REVIEW – THANK YOU

Receipt of such a detailed, perfect review of your recent stay at East Winds Inn, together with your photographs and knowing that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, is the best reinforcement our staff could ever hope for. Your kind remarks are directed to the many who have worked so diligently to ensure you had the best possible holiday experience.

Specific recognition of all the various elements which made up your time with us, to such great detail and with so many favourable superlatives, should be of great assistance to potential travelers to St. Lucia in general and East Winds Inn in particular.

Your closing paragraph sums up your feelings very nicely - “East Winds is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in, I love to travel and see new places, so I don't often return to the same hotel twice. However I plan to make an exception with East Winds and go back to this little piece of paradise.” With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back for some more timeless seaside elegance.

Thank you for your continued support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is a great place. We’ve just returned from our second stay at the East Winds and cannot recommend it too highly if, like us, you are looking for a peaceful, tranquil haven. All the staff are charming and helpful – we particularly liked Paula, Mavis and Winfield in the restaurant. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the wonderful people who who will make your stay such a relaxing joy!

Special mention to the gardeners who, despite it being windy during our stay, raked leaves with great determination and worked very hard on the beautiful grounds. Top marks too to the garden designer who has made sure that there is something in bloom everywhere you look.

Johnny and Kim (water sports instructors) were unfailing cheerful and charming. We saw them both raking the sand into beautiful designs every morning – it seemed a shame to walk on the beach afterwards!

Food, wine and cocktails all very good and the beautiful beach was kept very clean and tidy. The rooms are spread out within the grounds and are comfortably furnished in a Caribbean style.

This is not the place to come if you are looking for a busy resort with lots of activities and entertainment, or if you want glitzy sophistication with a marbled reception, 24 hour meal room service and an infinity pool. The East Winds is about relaxation, comfort and great service in a resort which blends into its 12 acres.

It’s pretty close to perfection and it’s certainly perfect for us – and for others who appreciate peace, quiet and (perhaps) the most relaxing spot in the Caribbean.

We certainly hope to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackaljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

DETAILED, RETURN VISIT REVIEW APPRECIATED
What can one say - except thank you - to a detailed posting which ends “We certainly hope to return as soon as we can”? To be considered the most relaxing spot in the Caribbean by a repeat guest is indeed an honour, and the manner in which you have expressed your feelings toward East Winds Inn and the staff is most welcomed by all.

From your opening line – “This is a great place.” - to your numerous sensitive comments about so many of the individuals responsible for the enjoyment of your holiday, it is clear you have captured the essence of East Winds Inn. Recognition of our gardening team, watersports, restaurant and bar staff, as well as housekeeping and the authentic design of the accommodation, all point to your observation of these elements in a positive light. Comments about food and beverage are also appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to East Winds Inn and another authentic Caribbean experience, and thank you for your continued support.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
16.2 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
3.5 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
14.9 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $659 - $1,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing