We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

The Cliff at Cap Maison
Ranked #7 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $150
Cuisines: Seafood, Caribbean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cliff at Cap Restaurant was famously hailed by The New York Times and is already one of the most highly sought after tables on the island. Located on the northwest coast in one of the Caribbean's most dramatic settings overlooking the surging Caribbean Sea. The kitchen at The Cliff at Cap is overseen by Welsh born Executive Chef Craig Jones, a St Lucian Chef of the Year recipient, who serves an inspired French West Indian contemporary menu. His nouveau French West Indian cuisine elegantly presents the bounty of St Lucia's fresh local farm produce and seafood readily sourced on this tropical island. The Cliff at Cap offers unobstructed views towards Martinique to the north and Pigeon Island to the West, and surrounded by the magnificent Caribbean sea, with sunsets to die for. The restaurant is open to non residents from breakfast to dinner with a dress code of smart casual.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Best rum punch from Chris the barman that we had anywhere during our two weeks on St. Lucia, followed by some of the best food I've had ANYWHERE (including Europe and North America).
Friendly and attentive staff and the whole evening accompanied by a delightful act softly singing all the old favourite ballads.......
For us, a very special last night of our holiday (we were staying at 'Butlins' next door)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welshprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew06, Manager at The Cliff at Cap Maison, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Welshprince,
Thank you for your review, you have left Chris smiling all week, he is quite chuffed that you like our recipe for our rum punch! We are happy that you spent your last night with us and enjoyed it so much. A good restaurant must have ambiance, good food and drink and of course entertainment and we glad it found the mark with you.

Matthew
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    123
    41
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Special Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This restaurant is at a free standing resort so you'll need a car to get there. It's an elegant gourmet outdoor restaurant that's pricey but worth it for a special night. Be sure to request a table overlooking the Caribbean.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ProfPauletteNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew06, Manager at The Cliff at Cap Maison, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you Paulette for your review of The Cliff at Cap, the team and i are very happy you enjoyed and we hope you visit again soon!

Matthew
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The food is amazing, and the people friendly. Treat yourself you will not be dissapointed. A bit out of the way if you are not north of the island but well worth the taxi fare. Let them know if you are celebrating an event and they will make it memorable

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The creole tasting menu was delicious
Things on this menu we wouldnt usually ask for - but they tasted sooo good. Watch out for the rum in between each course though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HOULI69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Casual Elegances with Monster View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is an absolutely marvelous restaurant. High over the crashing surf, it has a magnificent view. The service is top-notch with easy attention to your needs. Wine List is extensive for St. Lucia and ample selection of fine wines from France, U.S., Chile, etc. The food is creative and they tend to use local vegetables, fish, and meat. The Chocolate Fondant is to die for. If you are a chocolate lover as I am - it is for you. This is a must when you are on St. Lucia

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff at Cap Maison also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to The Cliff at Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing