We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional experience and more...”

The Cliff at Cap Maison
Ranked #8 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $150
Cuisines: Seafood, Caribbean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cliff at Cap Restaurant was famously hailed by The New York Times and is already one of the most highly sought after tables on the island. Located on the northwest coast in one of the Caribbean's most dramatic settings overlooking the surging Caribbean Sea. The kitchen at The Cliff at Cap is overseen by Welsh born Executive Chef Craig Jones, a St Lucian Chef of the Year recipient, who serves an inspired French West Indian contemporary menu. His nouveau French West Indian cuisine elegantly presents the bounty of St Lucia's fresh local farm produce and seafood readily sourced on this tropical island. The Cliff at Cap offers unobstructed views towards Martinique to the north and Pigeon Island to the West, and surrounded by the magnificent Caribbean sea, with sunsets to die for. The restaurant is open to non residents from breakfast to dinner with a dress code of smart casual.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience and more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife Lauren and I were just honymooning the week of May 20th 2012 at the Sandals Grande. I wanted to do something special and off resort to celebrate our new adventures together. I must say the SERVICE, the FOOD and the AMBIANCE were all above and beyond what I had expected. Reading reviews and seeing pictures online can only do so much.Our meal and experience were exceptional and will be forever a part of our memories and excitement of our honeymoon. I would HIGHLY recommend eating here!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BandL519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    123
    41
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ticks all of the boxes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at Cap Maison for our wedding and honeymoon at the end of March and regularly ate at the Cliff since it is situated within the hotel. Location is excellent with outstanding views over the sea towards Pidgeon Island, relaxed atmosphere and most importantly, everytime we ate there, the food was excellent. Yes it is expensive but to be honest, you get what you pay for and we felt the experience justified the expense. The one meal which really stood out for us was our wedding meal - we told Matthew the restaurant manager we would be eating in the restaurant after our wedding and so he arranged for us to get the private deck in front of the restaurant. Albeit a bit windswept, the ideal location for a private romantic meal after ar wedding. Our only concern that night was the planned menu had a caribbean theme and we wanted something more european and "posh" for our wedding meal. Matthew arranged for us to speak to the head chef the day before who said it was no problem to cook something special for us off menu. We said we loved things like foie gras, shell fish and souffles, the latter being something we rarely saw on the menu anywhere, nevermind in st. lucia. Good to his word, a meal including all of these was arranged for us, a combination of foie gras dishes to start, grilled seabass and langoustines for main, and a caramel souffle for desert. Absolutely perfect and as good as our other two favourite restaurants - Waterside Inn near London and the Cliff in Barbados (no connection I'm told). Thanks to Craig, Matthew and the rest of the team for making it such as meal and evening to remember.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edgyreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful views - a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Went here for lunch - the views are lovely and this open-air restaurant served immacculately prepared food. The portions were not huge however, and this ended up being one of our more expensive meals. We went down to the hotel's charming beach and made a day of it. Recommended but prepare yourself for the cost.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank alicethetravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Here for lunch. Lovely views and food, a couple of issue, no mint available for mojitos so they were off and although on the menu and we were allowed to order, there was no brandy snap for the brandy snap and ice cream recipe. A lovely meal though.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Above average”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Immaculate service and excellent food. Beautiful sunset views. Expensive drinks.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bravissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff at Cap Maison also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to The Cliff at Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing