We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in ST LUCIA”

The Cliff at Cap Maison
Ranked #9 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $150
Cuisines: Seafood, Caribbean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cliff at Cap Restaurant was famously hailed by The New York Times and is already one of the most highly sought after tables on the island. Located on the northwest coast in one of the Caribbean's most dramatic settings overlooking the surging Caribbean Sea. The kitchen at The Cliff at Cap is overseen by Welsh born Executive Chef Craig Jones, a St Lucian Chef of the Year recipient, who serves an inspired French West Indian contemporary menu. His nouveau French West Indian cuisine elegantly presents the bounty of St Lucia's fresh local farm produce and seafood readily sourced on this tropical island. The Cliff at Cap offers unobstructed views towards Martinique to the north and Pigeon Island to the West, and surrounded by the magnificent Caribbean sea, with sunsets to die for. The restaurant is open to non residents from breakfast to dinner with a dress code of smart casual.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Best in ST LUCIA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

the food, the drinks, the views and the service were all superb. Every hing was prepared just right. highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Milo911MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    123
    41
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL FOOD - BEAUTIFUL VIEWS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We love this restaurant for lunch after enjoying the secluded beach below. The food is expensive, but well worth it. The view is cliffside, breezy and spectacular. The service is unprecedented and we have dined here three times now. Be sure to stop by this hidden treasure when in the Rodney Bay or the Cap Estates area. Nothing compares that we have found so far.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkDeniseS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A most beautiful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Although we were there mostly for the view and ambience, the food matched the beauty of both. We arrived there tentatively because we weren't even sure where we were going. we were basically exploring the north end of the island since we were staying in Marigot Bay. We came down the winding roads to this gorgeous resort, nestled on top of a cliff. the staff who were outside of the gates enthusiastically waved us in after our request to have lunch there.

The resort itself looks beautiful; there are villas and apartments in every building (from what we could determine) and private pools everywhere. we approached the restaurant and a smiling hostess seated us immediately. wow! the view is amazing. all we could see was cliffs, cerulian water and sailboats tacking across the water.

We hadn't met a rude wait staff anywhere on the island and this was no exception. He was smooth, knowledgeable and very friendly. We had a bottle of water brought to us immediately, and placed in an ice bucket. we ordered drinks and i was presented with a crisp and very cold sauvignon blanc and my husband his usual piton beer. we perused the menu and although it was a fairly warm day, the breeze had a layer of cool to it, so keith ordered the fish chowder; when i tell you that we spend a lot of time in new england, eating in both local and gourmet restaurants, we have never had a chowder like this one. it was the kind that when you take a spoonful, you kind of throw your head back with delight. i was jealous (although he shared a lot with me). i ordered the fish tacos which were so good, the fish was beautiful. keith ordered the jerk chicken wrap, delish, and we had a side of sw. potato fries which i couldn't stop eating with the local hot sauce that i mixed in with the ketchup.

we didn't want to leave so we had another drink. then we needed to walk around, i took pictures of this truly stunning property and it really made our day! i highly recommend a visit to this restaurant. the bill, yes it was high, but we didn't eat anything for the rest of the day as we were satiated and with the drinks, i felt the bill was fair.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hootymiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew06, Manager at The Cliff at Cap Maison, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderfully descriptive review. you truly conveyed the feeling and ambiance that we strive to achieve here at The Cliff at Cap. We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your lunch and look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future...perhaps for dinner!

Matthew Hartmann
Food & Beverage Manager
Cap Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Incredible setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Set on a cliff overlooking the water, it has an amazing view of Matinique and Pidgeon Island. We didn't stay there, but the resort seems beautiful. Very classy place. One of the priciest places we ate, with lunch costing $65US. Def paying for setting, but it is worth it.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

This venue is a must if visiting the Rodney Bay area. The setting is stunning. We had an amazing dinner. Food was excellent. We are going back before we leave. This time. We will arrive at 6 pm to enjoy the sunset and then dine. I agree with other diners that it is very special and expensive but absolutely worth it!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charyl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff at Cap Maison also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to The Cliff at Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing