We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good time”
Review of Island Riders

Island Riders
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good time”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

it was a adventurous trip. the sandals version is very tame. these guys showed us a good time. Met with locals and had local drinks and we were shown a fantastic time. we will always remember casey and bono

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    9
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Island Riders 7 Bano A+”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I would highly recommend these guys. Just go into it, remembering, Its not what you will encounter in the States. The equipment is a little more worn that what we're used to, but it was a BLAST and VERY safe. Horses were super also, and they gave us a real local tour. Beach riding, around town, Swimming on horseback, which was a little tough as you do it bareback. You also stop off at a local bar, for a few drinks, as a break 1/2 way, where you can talk to the locals and see how life really is there.

They work every day, so don't worry about Sundays, etc. My Girlfriend is a HUGE Horse lover, and she LOVED every second of it. They carried our camera for us, and got a LOT of great shots.

Anyone who thinks a horseback ride/tour comes without risk is just not thinking, just throwing that out there for those who whine about life. We hung out with the guys for a bit after the rides, and had a few drinks and talked for a while. They are not all about the $. Great time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelbug478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best thing we did all holiday!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have ridden fora long time and have ridden differently places but this was by far the best ride of my life!! Swimming in the sea on the horses was amazing.Hopefully I will go back to St Lucia where Ill defintly do this again!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellie17_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very rewarding experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We've just returned from a family holiday in St. Lucia and this was one of the high points of the trip. Bano's horses are very well cared for and well schooled. Bano himself, and his lads, are considerate and knowledgeable and especially attentive to non-riders (five out of six in our group). Bano is a good bloke and great company. We went on the two hour ride through Gros Islet, a really nice village of which our hosts are justifiably proud, and stopped at a bar for cold drinks. One of my nieces had an allergy to the horses, so the thoughtful bar owner cut some aloe vera stem from his yard and gave it to her to apply to ease the discomfort. Very effective it was too. We rode back through Gros Islet and along the beach. We then unsaddled the animals, remounted bareback and took them into the sea; very cooling for horses and riders. All in all a very rewarding experience. As well as being lots of fun, it was a great way to see a friendly and pleasant St. Lucian community. I and my non-riding relatives thoroughly enjoyed the experience. If you're reading this Bano, thanks again to you and your capable lads and please pass on our thanks to the kind bar owner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASON CITY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“really fun and beautiful beach”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I didn't think we would like horseback riding as we are not horse people, but we both enjoyed the beach portion so much it made the ride to and from the beach worth it. Some of the horses tried to bite at each other and other riders and the staff had their hands full but they managed to make sure that everyone who wanted to ride bareback in the ocean was able to and the horses never complained.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scramblerracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Riders also viewed

 

Been to Island Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing