We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, Beautiful Stress Free Wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect, Beautiful Stress Free Wedding!”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

My new husband and I just got back from a 10 day stay at Calabash Cove. We got married on the beach with our parents as our only guests. It was perfect...everything we had hoped for. It took a lot of faith on my part that the resort would pull it off, but Jennifer the wedding planner is great and knows what she is doing. The ceremony set up was perfect. The tropical bouquet I recieved as part of the wedding package was prettier than any arrangement I have ever seen. The dinner reception in the restaurant was delicious and they had a nice cake for us. If you are looking for a very intimate wedding or honeymoon, this is the place. Most of the guests are honeymooners and we also saw a wedding on the pier that was wonderful as well. It is quiet, the staff is beyond friendly and upbeat, and the massages were to die for. I would highly recommend this as a wedding location and honeymoon spot for the couple that wants to relax in the sun, eat 5 star meals and enjoy each other. They planned it all. All I had to do was show and and look good:) I will be adding pictures of the wedding soon. The resort also arranged a spectacular photographer named Mikael Lamber. His photos were beyond what we had hoped for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllegraLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    75
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
488
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We travel throughout the US quite a bit, but our Caribbean trekking has taken me to only the British Virgins (Peter Island, Biras Creek) while my new wife has done mostly cruising to a variety of islands. St. Lucia is very different and Calabash Cove is a wonderfully unique boutique resort on this very unique island.

Our positive expectations were met for our one week honeymoon and I will try to refrain from redundantly echoing the positive reviews of others.

Getting there: Helicopter arrival was worth the expense and time savings. Our bags arrived only an hour after we did. Excellent transfers. Chauffered return trip in an air-conditioned SUV would have been a bit nerve-racking with a less patient and professional driver. And who cares about the pot-holed driveway into the resort!

Property: Stellar location with spectacular views. The beach was nice although it felt more like a beautiful lake than a tropical shore. It is clean and well manicured but less vivid blue or aquamarine water than I imagined, at least at this time of year. Kayaks were fun and service was always available with drinks, etc. Central infinity pool and swim-up bar were fantastic and we spent nearly every afternoon there.

Room: I was able to get Cottage #5 on the beach with a 10-month reservation. Rustic elegance would be my description. Plunge pool was the highlight that we used every morning. Outdoor shower was fun and the space was nicely furnished although the AC worked hard to keep up in the bedroom and the remainder of the cottage was warm. I wonder how well the cottages will wear over time. They were clean and well serviced but I thought ours looked a tad older than its’ 18 months and both the bathroom lighting fixture and TV (just to view my baseball scores each morning) needed service while we were there. My wife was kind enough to accept all the mosquito bites. A minor nuisance for her.
With the "all inclusive", the room and fridge were well stocked with soft drinks and spirits at all times.

Restaurant/Food: A highlight. Windsong had the view, the service and most of all the cuisine to keep both my foodie wife and me very happy. We were told the menu changes every three months and the appetizer portion changed while we were there. With 8 to 10 items for dinner every night and three daily specials, there is plenty to choose from and repeat the favorites. The wide variety of expertly prepared seafood, along with the duck and rib eye were our favorites. Breakfast was the same every day but with the “all inclusive” (the only way to go), we mixed and matched various dishes and the staff was wonderfully accommodating with variations we asked for. We had nice lunches by the pool. Interestingly the restaurant menu, pool menu, in-room menu and special personal dinner on-location menu were not the same. (We did go into Castries one night to Big Chef Steakhouse which we highly recommend – best bruchetta we ever had. Expensive.). Legitimate cocktails (martini’s and manhattans) were good if not memorable at Calabash.

Service: Wonderful. Yes it’s “island relaxed” but friendly and mostly well trained. Of course Shari and Chris as managers were delightful. But Barbara in housekeeping, Janelle at the front desk and especially Lance, the pool bartender (pool bar always manned 11-5) were worth recognition. Lance had way more wit, wisdom and mixology talent than his 21 years would suggest. And doubling as a stand-up comedian made for superb and memorable happy hours. Ask for his “Superman” or a Dirty Banana. I only wished the girl who greeted us upon arrival had the same personality in welcoming us as everyone else did. She seemed new.

Spa: "Outstanding" per my wife who was a licensed massage therapist. We did exfoliation, couples massage and she had a facial.

Our only side trips were to Souffre by catamaran which was fascinating and a fun party on the return, and to shop in Castries. We would echo the warning about the stair climb from the cottages to the lobby and restaurant. They were not an issue for us but could be for those who are older or with physical concerns. Also more lighting is needed for the walkways and byways at night.

Calabash is a special property in a special location. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdthiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Calabash Cove is a small gem. You walk into the airy lobby with stunning views over the bay, walk down to the lovely pool with a swim up bar and a small but nice beach area. The rooms are large and air with balconies - there are two cottages - they don't have ac in the living areas but each has it's own small plunge pool and patio and there are about 4 rooms with swim out patios. I didn't see one of these and feel that they might not be quite a private as having ones own balcony, but I defer to someone who has actually stayed in one. The restaurant and bar are off the lobby and again what glorious views over the bay. How romantic at night when you sit there and enjoy all the twinkling lights around the bay. This hotel can be either all inclusive or ep

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WynGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2010

My wife and i recently returned from our honeymoon at Calabash Cove. We were lucky enough to be put into cottage 5, which is the only single cottage at this resort. All of the remaining cottages are a "duplex" that share a common wall (not exactly ideal for a honeymoon). I would highly recommend to request cottage 5, as it is centrally located with a great view of the entire resort and beach. The cottage was stocked with 5 full size bottles of liqueur and a mini fridge stocked full daily with beer, mixers, champagne, and wine. You must take advantage of the all inclusive plan. We found that you must ask to have your drinks refilled at meals, and you must do so before you drink is empty due to the relaxed Caribbean attitude and speed of the wait staff. The menu did not change during our trip, however there was always a special to choose from. The staff is very friendly, especially Barbara, who made up our room each day. Make sure to bring plenty of bug spray and sunscreen as you will use both more than you ever have before. We truly did honeymoon in paradise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxhoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

A couple nights at The Calabash Cove Resort and we did not want to leave. The staff was extremely attentive to all our needs. Our expectations were far exceeded by all. Calabash Cove is a very comfortable and relaxing spot to have a vacation. We had the perfects night sleep in the bed and felt rejuvenated every day. The food was amazing. The view was fantastic! All in All the trip was at the top of our list for one of the best, most relaxing vacations we have had. Konrad Wagner the owner was so gracious and accommodating to us. We will be back and have already referred our friends!!

Ben Taylor

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boot2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Having just returned from a week at Calabash Cove all I can say is it was excellent.

While we were there, there were a lot of Americans on honeymoon, even a couple of weddings,

The rooms are beautiful we stayed in an Ocean View Room, which was spotlessly clean, had a jacuzzi bath and seperate shower cubicle, flat screen TV, two sofas and a stocked mini bar, and the air con worked well and was cool.

We went on the all inclusive. The food was very good every night with specials always available and if you wanted a dish adapting they were always very accomodating. We go for dinner to dine not eat, as our American friends, hence their idea of slow service.

The pool was beautiful with a huge infinity edge and a pool bar. The bar was always staffed during the day with good cocktails and a bar menu.

Alot of the earlier problems about places not being staffed and slow service have been addressed and all the staff go out of their way to be helpful.

The beach was raked every morning of debris, we often saw the guy with the wheelbarrow from our room.

The are a couple of pointers I would say, it seems the Americans want dinner at 6.00pm, we from England didn't want it until at least 8.00pm, and the musical entertainment was finished by 9.00pm, people go to bed early here. We often found we had the bar to ourselves after 9.30pm.

Do take mossie spray with deet, they are annoying but they seem to be mainly nats or sand flies.

My only complaint was the pillows they are rock hard!

Go, have fun and enjoy the experience. We hired a jeep and drove down to the Pitons, the roads are quite bendy but are wider than the roads in Scotland, although some of the surfaces around the island do leave a bit to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We recently stayed at Calabash Cove for the beginning portion of our honeymoon. From there we were moving on to Sandals, but we really wanted to have a few days to relax first in a nice, quiet resort.

Via our travel agent, the hotel facilitated transportation for us from the airport to the resort. It IS a long ride – and quite windy and high – but you get to see the island and the scenery is beautiful! The driver stopped at a scenic location mid-way to allow us to get out, get some air, and take some pictures. I can certainly understand why some people may mind this car ride, but it didn’t bother us at all.

The resort is built in a hill, so this means you have to take stairs to get from one location to the next. It felt good to have an excuse to have to get a little exercise walking the stairs, since other than that all we were doing is lying around, eating, and drinking! But be careful when they are wet! The flowers, trees, and overall foliage is so well done and beautiful. We saw lots of hummingbirds enjoying the flowers, and lots of little lizards!

We stayed in an oceanview suite and the view was spectacular…can’t be beat. There’s a nice balcony with furniture so you can sit out and take it all in. The room itself is very spacious, nice and was kept cool. It was very quiet and we couldn't hear anyone in other rooms. There was no clock, so bring a little one or a watch if you think you'll need it.

We chose to do the all inclusive plan and it was well worth it. It’s so nice not having to worry about prices or how much you are spending, since it’s already been paid for. The menu’s all have prices on them but with the all inclusive you don’t have to feel guilty once you see how much you are spending! The main restaurant is very good. It is open air and you can sit right next to the railing and look out onto the island. There are mosquitoes – no more than what we’re use to here in the northeast – but they are pesky so you might want to bring along some bug spray. The breakfast menu is not large, but there should be something for everyone. Portions are large. Lunch we ate every day at the pool bar. They have burgers, sandwiches, nachos, etc. For dinner, there is a standard menu, as well as a specials page each night. They have some unique dishes and appetizers that were fun to try. The service is slow, but this is not a bad thing! You have nowhere to be, so just enjoy the time with the person you are with! The drinks are also delicious, they have a drink menu that you can get ideas from or they’ll make you whatever you like!

The pool is refreshing and we loved the infinity edge. There were plenty of lounge chairs, and since the resort itself is not large, the pool never felt crowded. The beach is small and they have lounge chairs down there, some in the sun and a few in the shade. A waiter came down several times to take drink orders. When you’re being lazy and don’t feel like walking up to the bar to get a drink, this is much appreciated :) You don’t have to tip, especially on the all inclusive plan, but a couple bucks here and there can’t hurt. On the first day that we went down to the beach, the ocean had a lot of debris in it – it seems like the palm trees, and other trees, ‘shed’, and this gets into the water since the beach is lined with trees. It feels very much like seaweed and is not pleasant. However, the next day it seemed to have cleared out. So if you go in the first day and it’s not clean, don’t write it off, give it another shot.

We traveled first into Miami, and then from there to St. Lucia. Our luggage did not make it to St. Lucia with us and was delayed in Miami. We were told it would arrive the following evening. From what I can tell, this is pretty common. When we arrived to the resort (sans luggage) and we asked the front desk if they had any basic toiletries to get us through the night (toothpaste, toothbrush, etc.), they said no – but they could call us a cab to bring us into town. Well let me tell you, when you’ve been traveling for an entire day, the last thing you want to do is take a taxi into town to go shopping. But we had no choice, so we spent $40 for a cab ride in addition to the basic necessities we had to purchase. Although there is a little shop at the resort, they do not have these items. I would recommend to management that they have small, basic items available to guests who need them, as many hotels do, or if not that, at least have them in the gift shop. If your luggage is delayed it is an annoying situation in the first place to not have any of your stuff, and providing basic items would make the situation a little bit better for the guest. We did have our bathing suits with us in our carry-ons, thankfully and we could enjoy the beach on our first day, so make sure to take those with you on the plane just in case!

Overall the resort is beautiful, staff is fantastic, and it was just the kind of relaxing vacation we had hoped for! The weather was perfect – it rained every day for a few minutes but other than that, it is warm, sunny, and just enough breeze to keep you comfortable. You will love it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
6.9 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Property: Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, West Indies, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing