We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Get Away! Private and Relaxing, unlike large resorts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Get Away! Private and Relaxing, unlike large resorts.”
Reviewed January 28, 2010

My wife and I traveled to St. Lucia and Calabash Cove for our honeymoon during November '09. I'm must start by saying that we are anti-Sandals/Large Busy Resort and Calabash Cove was the perfect fit for us. If you are looking for the ultimate romantic and relaxing stay in paradise, the Calabash Cove is the right choice. And by the way, I was worried myself before arriving about the actual resort looking anything like the views and colors in the website photos, but BELIEVE WHAT YOU SEE!!! I was blown away by the views and vibrant colors the moment we walked through the main lobby.

Transportation:
The staff at Calabash Cove helped us set up everything from our pre-arrival plans to excursions throughout our week. If you are flying into the Hewanorra Airport (located on the south of island and main airport) I highly recommend the helicopter transfer to George FL Charles Airport (located in the capital of Castries on the north side), as you see incredible views of the island, the jungle, pitons, Castries, and even Calabash Cove from the air. Also, it saves you about an hour car ride through the mountains. Calabash Cove will arrange transfer from George Airport to the resort in a nice air conditioned car, unlike others who had a shuttle bus waiting for them. If you want to explore Castries or Rodney Bay, be sure to ask for Sadiq. He picks you up in a comfortable SUV and gives you a cell phone to use when you are ready for him to pick you up. Extremely friendly, very professional and a pleasure talking too. Even took us to a local Sam's Club style store to buy some supplies.

Resort:
Highly recommend the all inclusive package and staying in Watersedge Cottage #3. The views from the deck, outdoor shower, and private pool were amazing featuring perfect views of the Choc Bay, sail boats, Cruise ships and the lights of Castries at night. Vegetation around cottage made us feel completely alone at the resort. We higly recommend #3 and will be sure to book again. Lots of stairs to get up and down from main lobby and restaurant, as the resort is on a cliff. Not an issue as it helped burn off the calories from too many delicious rum punches, but just want everyone to know. Incredible views from everywhere at the resort, especially at the restaurant. Infinity edge pool is a sight to see. Never crowded and poolside bar is open when people are at the pool. So if you go to the pool, just hang out and a bartender will come down to begin serving.

Staff:
Barbara the room attendant was amazing. She picked fresh flowers daily and even left nice notes wishing us a wonderful day. One negative, be sure to ask for extra shampoo and body wash as the bottles are small. Also, if you want conditioner, be sure to bring your own as the resort doesn't have any. Room service was amazing; we ordered drinks and food daily from our deck. I felt bad for all the steps they walked back and forth to our cottage. Restaurant staff was spotty at times, but overall good service. Ask Mama Piton, at the restaurant bar, to whip you up some special drinks.

Food:
Although there is only one restaurant, my wife and I ate at the resort for almost every meal. The menu changes every few days and besides breakfast we enjoyed something new for dinner every night. Lobster is included with the All Inclusive when on the menu. Scallops, Samurai Shrimp, and Calamari where favorites and ordered often during the day for snacks poolside or on our deck. Overall, the food was incredible and once the service picks up, this place will achieve its 5 Star Michelin rating.

Drinks:
We mainly drank rum punch, piton beer, or wine. Room service would bring us about 8 pitons and 6 rum punches each time they brought food. We would just keep restocking the fridge. One of the staff members even gave us a bottle of local Rum Punch as a parting gift b/c he said we really seemed to enjoy it a lot ;)

Spa:
Incredible messages, but don't get inside the Spa Area, as it isn't much to look at. Have your message at the gazebo located between Cottage #2 and #3, right on the edge of the cliff where the waves crashing in can be heard.

Excursions:
- Beware of Piton Trek as it was much more demanding than we originally thought, but well worth the experience, stories, and views.
- Golf at the Country Club: Course not as manicured as expected for a Nicklaus designed course, but fun and challenging to play. Lots of elevation and wind to judge. Could see the Pacific Ocean while on the front nine and the Caribbean while playing the back nine. A little pricey.
- Sailing: Highly recommend the half day sail with Maurice. If you hate the crowded, lets get all the tourist we can onto one boat trips, then this is your dream. The 37' sail boat consisted of Maurice, his right hand man, my wife and I. Don't judge the boat on sight, as it is an experience but wonderful boat. I really wanted to be hands on and learn sailing during the trip. Maurice basically turned the wheel over to me the entire sail and we went over the basics of sailing. Maurice brought drinks (homemade rum punch, pitons, and mimosas) along with snacks to enjoy. He is from the island and a well educated man. Knows many stories and every home/resort along the island. We are even planning to have dinner with Maurice and his wife the next time we visit Calabash Cove.

Overall:
Wonderful honeymoon, incredible resort, extremely relaxing and private, and breath taking views. Highly recommend Calabash Cove and my wife and I are already planning our return trip.

Things to bring:
- Conditioner
-Bug Spray (not as big a problem as some have mentioned)
- If you can, bring Citronella candles...helps with bugs, but also great atmosphere at night around deck and plunge pool
- iPod w/ docking station and small speakers (if you don't have docking station w/ speakers, easy to find for under $30. Trust me, music while lounging on the deck and in the pool was perfect.
- Inflatable tubes or chairs for plunge pool. We bought some in Castries, but bring your own if possible. Very relaxing to float in your pool and look out at the bay.
- Small backpack to take on excursions.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapAmerica83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    75
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
498
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Calabash for our honeymoon a few weeks ago and it was the most amazing place. It's a small resort, with only about 30 rooms, including 9 private cottages and a few swim up rooms in the main building. Because of its size, all of the staff knew you by the end of the first day.

The restaurant is all open air and looks out at the sunset and over the water. The cottages do the same thing, so we had an amazing sunset every night. There are plenty of chairs available at the pool and beach (which isn't the case at a larger resort).
We opted for their all-inclusive plan because we didn't want to be bothered with bringing wallets around, etc. Some all-inclusive options end up slighting you, but this one was perfect - it included all food, all liquor and wine. Your mini fridge was restocked every morning with whatever you wanted/needed.

We stayed in Cottage 1 - I would recommend this for privacy purposes. The cottages are so spacious AND have AC in the bedroom - huge plus. The cottages have huge wrap around porches with a little bed, two chairs for laying out, a private plunge pool and a table and chairs. We ordered breakfast on our porch every morning, but you can order any meal there, which was a nice option.

The food was AMAZING. I was worried about only having one restaurant, but there were so many options and everything was great. We did go in to town one night for dinner, but we didn't need to.

The resort works closely with Maurice Moffat, who owns a small sail boat and offers snorkling and sunset cruises - we did both and they were great. Maurice has plenty of stories to share about the island and he brings his famous rum punch and other goodies to snack on.

The resort also has cab drivers on call - you can schedule airport rides, rides to town, etc. very easily. Sadiq was our driver all week and he was great! Definitely ask for him if you're there.

To conclude, I can't say enough about this place. Staff and food were excellent, they have american outlets in the rooms and everyone takes US dollars (these are just little things that make your trip so convenient). It was perfect being at an imtimate, quiet resort, but having excursions and the capital city just 5 minutes away in case you wanted more.

We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtneycmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, La
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed here in July, 2009. We stumbled across it on the internet. We have been all over Europe, Hawaii, Austrailia, etc. This vacation was the most relaxating one I have ever had. The only 5 star restaraunt on the island is in this hotel. We stayed in cottage 5, which is all by itself on the waterfront. Your own plunge pool, outside shower, the food, service, hospitality, etc were second to none. We felt like royalty. Barbara, Chris,Dwayne, Skittles, the whole staff took excellent care of us. We had dinner on the board walk, breakfast served on our deck, massages on our deck, and great recommedations from the staff on where to go. This was truly our best vacation ever. You can contact us [--] in Louisiana, U.S. Steven or Leanne Lea.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prelude1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

My wife and I had a trip booked for Cancun but saw the weather and decided to make a last minute change the night before we were supposed to leave. It was our 15 wedding anniversary and just wanted to chill out and do nothing for 4 days. Boy are we glad we did.

Getting there was easy as we had a direct flight on Jet Blue from JFK. The cab ride to the hotel was a bit long (1 1/2 hrs) but it was nice to see the beautiful country side. The driver stopped along the way so we could take some pictures and grab a few drinks....

Turning on to the road to the hotel left us a bit unsure that we had made the right decision, as it was a small narrow BUMPY road that makes you feel like you are going to be staying in a dump. After reaching the end of the road you are so pleasantly surprised with a beautiful open atrium overlooking the Caribbean. It is quite and all you hear is ambient music in the background the relaxing sound of a slight ocean breeze that I have only experienced in high up in the mountains of Santorini.

We were greeted with a drink and a quick trip to our room. While we would have liked to stay at one of the cottages or the swim up villas at the last minute a junior sweet was the only thing available. We were completely happy where we were. The hotel is new and very nicely decorated forcing you to relax and decompress.

We quickly headed to the lounge area overlooking the Caribbean and proceed to take complete and utter advantage of our all inclusive package, ordering the Samuari shrimp and fried goat cheese. We may go back for these two dishes alone!

There is Wifi everywhere so while we were able to decompress we were also able to skype home whenever we wanted and still keep in touch which important for us with 3 kids. (FYI if you have an Iphone download the skype application which will allow you to use your phone as a cell phone in a Wifi enable area.)

Conrad the managing Director is always present to make sure everything is taken care of. While some of the reviews complained that the service was a bit slow, I tend to agree but quite honesty I was in no rush and was totally fine with the level of service. Even if things were a bit slow they always came with a smile, and if you are impatient a friendly reminder may get you what you want a few minutes faster.

After two days roughing it in the junior suite which was VERY nice, a cottage opened up up and we moved to Heaven.....all I can say is that you will not be disappointed.

My wife and I travel frequently and very rarely visit the same place twice, but this will defiantly be a place we visit again. If you want to get away and RELAX for 4 or 5 days this is the perfect place. There is not much to do in terms of entertainment , but if you are looking for the perfect place to recharge and totally relax this is a WINNER. Don't think twice ... book it!

  • Liked — Most relaxing place I have been
  • Disliked — Service a little slow but the place is so awesome its worth the wait
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HelpINeedaVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We just cam back from an extraordinary 4 days at Calabash Cove and, unusually for us, we are even thinking about going back next year. We had a waterside cottage -- which was a treat -- and although it wasn't the most secluded unit, it was still wonderfully designed and perfect for us.

Pros:
- Newer hotel with a beautiful location
- well designed units
- pleasent, helpful staff
- very close to "small" airport
- very good food

Cons:
- "Caribbean-speed" of service. Nothing happens quickly -- but that isn't unusual for this part of the world
- Fairly simple spa and work-out areas -- though we did have good massages
- distance from the "big" airport, which requires a long drive or a short helicopter ride

If you want a peaceful vacation in a wonderful place, this is the location for you. If you want action, excitement or snap-your-finger service, you may want to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chavgopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerySnowySurrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

An unforgettable experience - for all the wrong reasons.

Wedding Video Ordered - Did not happen.

Wedding breakfast ordered for the morning after wedding - Did not arrive.

Steel Band Requested - got one man on a pair of drums.

(Good job the Registrar and Photographer did a good job.)

SUGGESTION....If you are thinking of a beautiful Caribbean Wedding don't trust to luck with Calabash Cove. If you already have one planned, talk with the wedding planners and get it all written down. Do not assume or trust anything.

However, do not think it was all that bad. The associated holiday was good.

The cottage accomodation was more than adequate and fronted a small secluded beach with no beach sellers.

The restaurant, 77 steps up from cottage 3, commands a good view over the bay.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all served there.
The food was well prepared and the range of drinks excellent.
The friendly staff provided a welcoming, if sometimes erratic, service.

On the down side the lunch and dinner menu is the same.After 4 days this can get boring, unless of course you like the "catch of the day", then you could have it for lunch and dinner.

The Calabash Cove website pictures show the resort as it is.
Just remember not to let your imagination think that it is a 5 star resort yet.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Calabash Cove is a lovely small hotel with friendly staff and great views.

The property is terraced so there are lots of steps. (The stairwells with terracotta tiles get v slippery after rain).

There is a huge pool and a (nice) small beach. Parasols at the beach but not poolside. Spa and gym on site too.

The restaurant food is good but the service is very slow - something we never got used to even when we'd relaxed to 'island time'.

We had an ocean view suite which was nicely done out complete with coffee maker and dressing gowns. TV channels included kids cartoons, US sports and world news as well as local channels of course.

Our balcony seemed to get the sun all day and had a day bed as well as a wooden table and chairs.

All in all Calabash Cove is a lovely place for a week of rest and relaxation.

Ps. If you go into Rodney Bay you must eat at the Big Chief Steakhouse - the food is amazing.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo1964London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
848 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
3.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
743 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Property: Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing