We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

As soon as you arrive at Calabash Cove you are greeted by warm people and a fantastic view through the reception (it is all open planned) down to the impressive restaurant and then onto a panorama of pool, beach and sea. It is a wonderful view to soak up and enjoy, and its impact never lessened throughout our time there.

We spent 11 days at Calabash Cove from 30 Dec 2013 to celebrate our honeymoon. It proved to be the most enjoyable and relaxed holiday either of us can remember, made so through this superb resort and the great people that work there. From Managing Director Konrad to the great guys Gavin and Lance running the poolside bar, or the cricket-mad Chris overseeing the restaurant with his team, everyone there did all they possibly could to make sure we were comfortable, relaxed and above all, smiling.

We stayed in the main complex, room 205. This was a spacious double with a huge Jacuzzi, a balcony with pool and beach views from which we saw the New Year fireworks from Castries, and a very generous in room bar (we were all inclusive).

The restaurant aspires towards a Michelin Star - which would be the first on the island - and we found the dinner menu in particular to be impressive. The seafood, as you would expect on an island, was very good, as was the wider meat selection. I am not vegetarian, but if you are you might have difficulty with the range on offer - although there always was a veggie option available. We didn't get room service - mainly as it is so nice to eat at the restaurant. You can also eat out as a couple overlooking the sea on a small pier, but the day we decided to do so was the only day the rains came so sadly had to cancel.

We only went on one day tour (Sunrise tours boat trip to the Volcano/botanical gardens). This was okay but we actually preferred spending our time at Calabash Cove, relaxing, swimming, having spa treatments, going to the gym and above all, eating and drinking. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The cabins are more private (and also have their own plunge pools) but also more remote from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 613 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went to the Calabash Cove for a week of rest and relaxation and discovered all we were craving - and more. If, like us, you enjoy peace, tranquility, beautiful sea views, excellent food and friendly, genuinely caring service, this is the perfect holiday choice.

The hillside location means that the views across the bay from the rooms, the bar, the restaurant the pool and the gardens are truly stunning. The location means there are plenty of flights of steps, which in our case was a good thing, as it may have helped to offset the effects of the amazing food and drink! Plus, the beach is well worth the effort when you get there: while small, it is perfectly sized for the capacity of Calabash Cove, and the location means that access to it for non residents would be difficult, so it feels very private. Fringed by palm trees and lush gardens, there are sunbeds and a small boardwalk. The beach shelves gently, the water is warm and the swimming is easy!

The pool is big enough to swim "properly" or simply bob around in to enjoy the view. It's also the location of the pool bar and lunchtime eating area. The pool bar team (usually Lance and Gavin while we were there) are friendly and happy to provide a ready supply of chilled drinks at the bar or the sun bed if that's just too much effort.

Konrad, the owner, and Unitas, the manager, are always around for a chat and lead a great team of obviously carefully chosen and well trained staff.

Another real bonus at Calabash Cove is the standard of the food. We were very impressed with the variety (in addition to the fairly extensive menu, there are daily specials), the quality and the presentation of everything we chose: it was like having a fine dining experience in relaxed, friendly settings.

Our room - a sunset suite - was great, with all of the facilities we wanted and expected - furnished balcony overlooking the bay, huge bed, jacuzzi bath (also with sunset view!), tv , fridge etc.

Yes, we could find things to criticise if we tried really hard.....the lane up to the hotel is bumpy, and could be a bit off putting if you're not sure what to expect at the other end. We were surprised that the bedroom curtains were sheer (i.e. let the light in), but as the rooms are west facing, this wasn't a huge problem. But that's to miss the point of how many excellent things there are about this place......it's a real gem, the kind of hotel you always hope to find (and so often don't). We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerMidlands_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here at Calabash Cove for ten days in December and found everything pretty much perfect.
We booked through British Airways and got a really good deal on this hotel so we pre-booked an upgrade to a swim-up room which was done very reasonably.
When we arrived at St Lucia the hotel had sent a complimentary car to pick us up which arrived at Calabash Cove about 90 minutes later. About ten minutes before arrival our driver asked us what we would like to drink on arrival at the hotel which he called ahead and two wonderful cocktails were waiting on our arrival.
The staff checked us in on the sofas rather than the desk and whilst doing so Conrad,the owner, who was entertaining his own private party made a point of coming over and welcoming us.
The check-in was quick however we were told that as this was our first stay at Calabash they were upgrading us for one night to a cottage but we would resort back to our original swim-up room the next day. This was ironic really because when we were booking the hotel we were going to upgrade to a cottage but opted for the swim-up room on account of pool access, hotel access and bar access and for the view from the room in the pictures so here we were being sent to a cottage. When we entered the cottage it was dark and the lighting wasn't the brightest so we weren't that impressed until the morning when we woke and stepped onto the verandah and WOW!!!!!! This was the business!!!!!
The sun was shining, the cruise ships were coming into Castries on the horizon, the birds were singing and we were on our holidays.
We had a shower in the outside shower which was weird at first but we loved it then breakfast arrived where we sat on the verandah and ate it.
I then wandered down to the beach where there was a chap sweeping the beach so I went over and had a chat with him - his name was Dolcy and he is a very nice man who is excellent at wood carving. He made us a fruit bowl, some small bowls for nuts and did a carving of my wife and me......even the customs officers at Gatwick thought they were brilliant!!!!
We later moved to our swim-up room which was lovely but rather dark owing to there being a lot of foliage around and on top of the trestle work on the patio and after being in the cottage it did seem a little small so we stayed one night then upgraded again up to a cottage for the rest of our holiday which if you are unsure we would say 'just do it'........it's definitely worth it.
The staff in this hotel is the biggest plus and Conrad's biggest asset, they are nothing short of fantastic. We have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world where we have had our own personal butlers and received excellent service but each and every member of staff in this hotel are not only very good at their jobs but they are genuinely nice people that are non-pretentious and treat you as a friend. Special mention must go to Gavin and Lance at the pool bar who not only kept our drinks topped up but also were an entertainment.......if you go get Lance to do his upper class English impersonation!!!!
We stayed on an All-Inclusive package but wished we hadn't as we didn't really take full advantage of everything and we were if were honest a little disappointed with the restaurant but that is more on our part than that of the hotel as we tend to be fussy eaters. I am certain that had we mentioned this to the hotel they would have gone out of their way to provide for us and would not stop us from going back.
Upon departure the hotel again provided complimentary limousine service back to the airport.
This place is heaven if you want a peaceful relaxing holiday but is not the place if you want to party or have children but we loved it!!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

While researching places in St. Lucia to go for our Honeymoon, every review I had read about Calabash Cove said stop reading and just book this resort. This could not be more true - book this place ASAP!!

We knew that Calabash Cove was going to be amazing, but it went completely above and beyond our expectations in every way possible. We did the honeymoon package, which included a water's edge cottage, champagne upon arrival, a couples massage and a private dinner in a location of our choice. We also chose to do the honeymoon registry via the Calabash Cove website and received a number of resort credit as gifts for the wedding, which was awesome and super easy to set-up online and is kept-track of and processed right at the front desk.

First off, the room was absolutely insane. We stayed in cottage #5, which was it's own stand alone cottage (the others are connected and had a ton of privacy. The cottage (stocked with your own private bar, that gets replenished if you finish a bottle - if doing the all-inclusive), was a honeymooners dream. If we didn't want to leave the room ever, we definitely didn't have to. The plunge-pool was incredible. It was so nice to just go out our front door and just dip right in our private pool. We ate breakfast on our porch most day and were accompanied by the birds and the beautiful views. My husband loved laying in the hammock and I loved sitting on the lounge chairs and sunbathing while reading a book. One of the reviewers had complained that the whole cottage is not air conditioned - the room with the TV/sitting area is not air-conditioned.. but anyone on their honeymoon is not going to have time for TV anyway. The bedroom was air-conditioned and we stayed nice and cool and slept great every night. The jacuzzi tub was wonderful and the outdoor rain shower was AMAZING. It was so awesome looking out and seeing the ocean while taking a shower and while being surrounded by tropical flowers.

The rest of the resort was just absolutely beautiful. The cottages are kind of at the bottom of the resort, as it is built into a hill, so you just walk up a couple of steps and get to the infinity pool and swim-up pool bar, which we visited often. We'd come up to the main pool and chill in the cabanas if we wanted to get out of our room for a little bit. The drinks were always delicious and of course Lance at the pool bar was always fun to talk to. We'd also eat lunch at the pool bar since it had more "snacky" food than the main restaurant. If you go up more steps, you get to the top of the resort, where the Windsong restaurant is. Let me tell you, the food is incredibly delicious, high-end, and gourmet. We never had a meal there we didn't like and it was fun trying new things as well as local products.

I have never been at a resort before where every single staff member was friendly, accommodating, or just plain interested in talking to you. The staff at Calabash Cove are out of this world. We loved talking to the servers or our house-keeper and got to know many of them on a first name basis. I was so sad to leave there because it was truly like leaving family.

The spa is amazing - we had the couples massage and it was so great that we booked another couples massage later in the week. I also got a facial by Marsha and it was phenomenal. They do other services and I imagine they would be great too. We chose to eat our private dinner in the gazebo because it was covered and we were worried because of the rain --- it was probably the best dinner of my life. Orchids strewn on the table, a bottle of prosecco, and the Caribbean spiny lobster was to die for.

We did the private champagne sunset tour on a yacht with Captain Maurice, which I highly suggest doing! We got to see some gorgeous scenery, learned a lot about the history of St.Lucia, drank with the captain and first mate and even got him to give me his rum punch recipe that I've tried to recreate a couple of times. We also went zip-lining through Treetop adventures and that was really fun as well. You can book this excursions right through the front desk.

We knew we didn't want to do a big resort like Sandal's, and I was actually worrying that Calabash might be too small and there would be no others around, but everything about it was absolutely perfect. We met some great couples down there and had a fabulous time. My husband and I have already said numerous times that we will be returning for an anniversary, a vacation, or just to get away. It might be more of an expensive honeymoon than you may be planning on paying, but it is worth every single penny!!

Room Tip: Water's edge cottages are unbelievable; the private plunge pool was awesome! It was nice that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Travelled with 2 children (11 and 13) - We had villa number 1 and 2 - the views are incredible and the rooms well appointed - getting a bit dated perhaps but still very relaxing and quiet. The staff were very friendly - although the service in the restaurant was particularly inconsistent - something was usually forgotten from our order and one day we waited an hour and a half for room service - with 2 follow up calls not helping - when it did arrive cutlery was only brought for 2 people - and the guy never returned with the rest despite promising to do so. None of this was done with ill intent - there just seems a lack of service discipline across the hotel - which you can generally forgive because everyone is smiling. The food in the restaurant was our biggest disappointment - after having read good reviews on tripadvisor there were high expectations but nearly all dishes were too rich - using too much salt and butter. The breakfast was pretty good apart from a lack of freshly squeezed juice (always an indicator if a hotel is cutting corners / costs). After a couple of tries we decided to eat away from the hotel restaurant. It seems others like the restaurant but it was not to our taste. There is a nice beach at the resort and if you borrow the kayak you can paddle for 5 minutes and find a great snorkeling spot. All in all we had a really good time - only disappointment was the food.

Room Tip: Villa 1 or 2 if you want privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterNandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My Husband and I couldn't have been more pleased with Calabash Cove and Beach Bum Vacations. Our Honeymoon was everything we dreamed it could be. As many others have said, Calabash Cove is a hidden gem. The room and resort were gorgeous. The staff was wonderful and the food was outstanding. It was absolutely the most beautiful place I've ever been. Very romantic for our Honeymoon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

A friend invited me to visit Calabash Cove for dinner. I knew this place existed but never thought this was such a romantic hideaway. The staff exceeded my expectations with the level of service they provided. The food was scrumptious and the atmosphere was to die for.

I have returned 3 times since then and I will continue going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
969 reviews
6.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
0.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
2.2 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range: $358 - $981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing