We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I were here for a week in September 2012 for our honeymoon. We could not have asked for a better experience. I'll start at the beginning:

--We took (and I would recommend taking) the helicopter (I think it was around $300--you can book through Calabash) from the airport to the resort. Cab or private car rides are long and bumpy. The helicopter was a bit shady looking, but it was fun with great views and a nice/informative pilot. You ride in a tight space with 6 people total. On the way back, we took a cab, which actually turned out to be a positive, as our flight was delayed. Our cab driver took us to a local BBQ shack by the road to kill time, and it was amazing.

--The resort is small. It is secluded without much going on. Which was fabulous for our taste. This is definitely for people that want to have a very isolated, lots-of-alone-time, relaxing vacation with good food and fabulous pools. The Wind Jammer and Sandals are on either side (I think) and those are moreso for families/kids. We stopped at each during cab rides to pick up others for excursions and each time I was so happy I was at Calabash instead.

--We stayed in a private cabin. It was cabin #2 and I'm told it is one of the best. It's on the far side without others near it, and no one was in cabin #1, so we had the entire area to ourselves. Very secluded and fabulous with great views.

--Note: It's not kid-friendly or activity heavy. You can book activities or excursions through the resort, but it is not actually onsite. A cab or van will come to get you for the activity/excursion. This place is for seclusion and relaxation. No pools/toys/or special kid items (thank goodness). would not recommend bringing kids or large groups. Note: you do not need to book activities, meals, or excursions in advance. You can book them with the concierge onsite.

--The staff was wonderful. We often sat alone in the open-air bar upstairs in the main dining area with Lily, the bartender, joking and laughing. Lance at the pool bar is sort of a wild card (not always at the bar when you need him), but friendly and funny. The woman manager (forgot her name) was friendly and checked in on us when she saw us. All staff members made an attempt to remember names and information about the guests.

--The food was wonderful. We did the all-inclusive, and it's worth it. Breakfast delivered to our patio (you can also eat breaky at the restaurant), lunch on our patio or at the restaurant, and same with dinner. Note that the room service menu is not the full menu, and is sometimes slow. If you want the best food, make the trek up to the restaurant, which is large and open-air. The prime minister of St. Lucia was randomly there one night as well. Great fish, great dessert, overall amazing.

--We felt the all-inclusive was DEFINITELY worth it. But we're big drinkers/eaters :)

--Our excursions were neat. We did snuba (it was mediocre), but the rain forest zip lining with the amazing Peterson (guide) was the best. Peterson was friendly, knowledgeable, and really informative. We also kayaked with Calabash's two-seater kayaks.

--Beach is small and water is a "meh" color. Most guests stayed at the pool area instead. Not the island to visit if you're looking for vast, white-sand beaches and crystal blue water.

--The cabins each have a plunge pool and outdoor shower (our favorite!) Maid staff is great. The full bar for the all-inclusive is great. We were barely able to make a dent. My husband enjoyed the Piton local beer.

--Temporary negative: On day 3 or 4, construction on the lot next to Calabash began. It was loud and an eyesore. Unfortunately, the Calabash can do NOTHING about it, which is very sad, because the managers weren't happy either, and were apologetic. I would call to check on the construction before booking.

Overall, we LOVED it. The ONLY (permanent) drawback was the mosquitoes! But totally worth the million bites we got. We want to go back here for our 5th anniversary. Can't wait!

Room Tip: I highly recommend a private cabin. We were in cabin #2 and felt it was the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leigha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 636 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have traveled to most of the islands and this small boutique resort is now one of our island favorites. We were a party of four and one couple stayed in one of the cottages and the other in a swim-up suite. Both rooms were awesome, furnishings are a little worn but no complaints!!! We had the best of both worlds with the cottage close to the sandy private beach and the other room right on the pool. The views out of this infinity pool and most of the resort are truly stunning. We now have pictures of those views on our screen savers!!

The restaurant was incredible with a different "nightly" special each night we were there. Drinks before dinner were enjoyed while looking out at that fantastic view with beautiful sunsets! We used room service for breakfasts and the service was excellent with food perfectly delivered in a timely manner. We ate lunches at the pool and the food did not disappoint. We slept, ate, and drank a lot with no hassles, what a great week we had!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The entire staff was exceptionally friendly and knew our names. They went above and beyond to be sure our expectations were exceeded. We picked this resort to relax and "relax" we did!!!!! We only left the property twice in eight days and could not have been happier!!!!

Also, I highly recommend the helicopter transfer services!!!

Small equals no crowd, very little walking, personalized service, and lots of privacy! Relax, relax, relax!!!!!!!!!!!!! No disappointments here !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jumpinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I went on a get away to calabash cove in Novemeber. It was amazing!! The weather was beautiful the entire time. The most relazing and serene place that either of us has ever been. We stayied in the cottages which was so nice. You were able to have enough lot's of privacy. We also spent a lot of time at the pool. If you are looking for a low-key and relaxing place to go, this is it!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Celebrating a joint birthday with a visiting friend to the island for the first time, it was a tall order to find somewhere special, with a gastronomic edge. Chef Didier excelled in his art, whilst the al-fresco ambience of the restaurant and it's vista unto Vigie peninsula added that magical touch. Chef Didier went all out to create a menu that clearly was made with love and attention, pandering to every taste. It was a journey in flavours through every corner of the globe. Every course excited the palate. The sparking rose accompanied the starters beautifully, and the pinot grigio was a good accompaniment to the fish main course. We ordered a Sauvignon Blanc which was deemed unavailable only after some bemusement with a Chardonnay from the same vineyard being presented at first. A perfect even was only tempered with the lack of wine knowledge by wait staff, and the surly attitude of one individual who had the potential to take away everything that everyone else worked hard to achieve that evening. The hostess needs particular mention for her attentiveness and attention to detail, picking up on our every expression or movement and ensuring we were being spoilt on this occasion.
We had a crispy shrimp wonton as an amuse-bouche, followed by a selection of tomato soup, octopus tempura, open shrimp ravoli as starters. Everyone of us regaled the dishes served. I tasted all - and wanted all!
There was a clever palate cleanser of a plum and hoisin frogs' legs, which was a total surprise but really did the job. Didn't even know that was sourced in the island. WOW!
Main course varied between snapper of mahi mahi, both cooked to perfection, accompanied by some crisp steamed vegetable. A simple, healthy yet flavoursome main course.
The hand made 'local chocolate truffles' finished off a perfectly rounded meal.
We could not manage any of the inviting desserts on the menu - we were stumped!
The most impressive part to top off this royal meal was the great value for money! I expected to leave there broke and in need of a second mortgage, but was pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: We only patronised the restaurant, but the views of the property from the terrace indicated a very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamonPDamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed for a week at the end of February 2013, comments as follows:

ROOMS
We viewed all 3 options having originally booked a standard suite. Unfortunately we were allocated 201. Others have posted about possible noise but my concern was the lack of a view. Having looked at the swim up suites and the cottages we opted to upgrade for a swim up.

Very nice, well appointed room, typical for a hotel of this standard. Was not as dark as others suggested although the terrace is completely covered in shade. Note the beds in the swim ups and cottages have a mosquito net, something I would recommend (read on).

Overall the room was nice, cleaned well but I can not help but think this is the one area that lets the hotel down. The word 'tired' comes to mind.

HOTEL RESTAURANT
Very good. Breakfast served quickly, contrary to other experiences I have read on TA. Evening meal varied enough and very tasty, good value as we were on the B&B option, which was better for us as we like a drink but not excessive. Lunch at the pool bar good.

STAFF
Outstanding. I can not comment highly enough about the entire team from the owner, reception team, waiters, gardeners, all engaging, considerate and wanting to help.

LOCATION
Approx 10 minutes taxi ride from Rodney Bay, $15 each way in a taxi. Worth going in to see the beach, restaurant options etc. Taxis booked by reception, great service from Tim the driver.

RESTAURANTS OTHER THEN THE HOTEL
We tried The Edge (expensive but good), Spice of India (very good and reasonably priced) and Spinnakers (great beach location, good value and a bit more family orientated).

BEACH / POOL
Loads of sun beds so no towels out early a.m. I'm pleased to say. Always options in the gardens, around the pool and on the beautiful secluded beach. Pool bar a nice touch to enjoy a cocktail in the sun.

GENERAL
All public areas of the hotel are very nice. Reception has the wow factor (the view), restaurant nice, infinity pool also good. Gardens manicured each day.

EXCURSIONS
We did the helicopter transfer to and from the airport. Highly recommended. So easy and carefree as opposed to the drive along winding roads others reported.

We also did the Segway tour (a must do - see separate review) and the big game fishing. We failed to catch but had a good day.

OVERALL
We would return for sure but would encourage the owner to look at refurbishing the rooms. Do not misunderstand, they are not bad, moreover need a spruce up considering we are talking 5star (but again, they are very clean).

Enjoy

Room Tip: Swim ups to relax in the shade and dip in the pool when needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scatch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This Hotel was nothing less than outstanding. My wife and I checked in on February 9 2013 with our 2 year old daughter and the exceeding of our expectations started as soon as we got out of the car and didnt end for 8 days. Rohan set everything up for us and nothing he told us didnt materialize. Chris, one of the managers was incredible. Callissi, I know I screwed up that spelling was wonderful, I have been to the carribean several times, Mexico 9 times including Cancun, Playa, Ixtapa, Cabo etc. not only was the Hotel outstanding but the Island was like a dream. We did several tours but spent alot of time in the pool, on the amazing Beach. There were times we were alone in both, it was like having a vacation home with great service...We ate out several times for Dinner although the restaurant had good food in the Hotel, breakfast everyday at the hotel was amazing. Big Chef twice, Coal Pot, Spinnakers. Cant wait to get back next Winter.
thank you to everyone at Calabash for a GREAT experience.

Room Tip: There isnt a bad room in the Hotel. There are only 27 total
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerseyjimbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Relaxed hotel with a beautiful view. We got married here and our wedding coordinator was very organised and no details were missed. It was exactly the type of day we had hoped for.

The service can occasionally be caribbean style, meaning relaxed, but then this is what we came for, a relaxing experience! The staff are very friendly.

The food was wonderful and I enjoyed every meal time, including all the pre-dinner cocktails.

Room Tip: Junior sunset suites are better value than the cottages and still have easy access to beach and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
988 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 15 in Gros Islet
894 reviews
15.9 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
0.7 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
3.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $344 - $767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, West Indies, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing