We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Brooks, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I went on a get away to calabash cove in Novemeber. It was amazing!! The weather was beautiful the entire time. The most relazing and serene place that either of us has ever been. We stayied in the cottages which was so nice. You were able to have enough lot's of privacy. We also spent a lot of time at the pool. If you are looking for a low-key and relaxing place to go, this is it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    72
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
455
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Celebrating a joint birthday with a visiting friend to the island for the first time, it was a tall order to find somewhere special, with a gastronomic edge. Chef Didier excelled in his art, whilst the al-fresco ambience of the restaurant and it's vista unto Vigie peninsula added that magical touch. Chef Didier went all out to create a menu that clearly was made with love and attention, pandering to every taste. It was a journey in flavours through every corner of the globe. Every course excited the palate. The sparking rose accompanied the starters beautifully, and the pinot grigio was a good accompaniment to the fish main course. We ordered a Sauvignon Blanc which was deemed unavailable only after some bemusement with a Chardonnay from the same vineyard being presented at first. A perfect even was only tempered with the lack of wine knowledge by wait staff, and the surly attitude of one individual who had the potential to take away everything that everyone else worked hard to achieve that evening. The hostess needs particular mention for her attentiveness and attention to detail, picking up on our every expression or movement and ensuring we were being spoilt on this occasion.
We had a crispy shrimp wonton as an amuse-bouche, followed by a selection of tomato soup, octopus tempura, open shrimp ravoli as starters. Everyone of us regaled the dishes served. I tasted all - and wanted all!
There was a clever palate cleanser of a plum and hoisin frogs' legs, which was a total surprise but really did the job. Didn't even know that was sourced in the island. WOW!
Main course varied between snapper of mahi mahi, both cooked to perfection, accompanied by some crisp steamed vegetable. A simple, healthy yet flavoursome main course.
The hand made 'local chocolate truffles' finished off a perfectly rounded meal.
We could not manage any of the inviting desserts on the menu - we were stumped!
The most impressive part to top off this royal meal was the great value for money! I expected to leave there broke and in need of a second mortgage, but was pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: We only patronised the restaurant, but the views of the property from the terrace indicated a very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamonPDamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed for a week at the end of February 2013, comments as follows:

ROOMS
We viewed all 3 options having originally booked a standard suite. Unfortunately we were allocated 201. Others have posted about possible noise but my concern was the lack of a view. Having looked at the swim up suites and the cottages we opted to upgrade for a swim up.

Very nice, well appointed room, typical for a hotel of this standard. Was not as dark as others suggested although the terrace is completely covered in shade. Note the beds in the swim ups and cottages have a mosquito net, something I would recommend (read on).

Overall the room was nice, cleaned well but I can not help but think this is the one area that lets the hotel down. The word 'tired' comes to mind.

HOTEL RESTAURANT
Very good. Breakfast served quickly, contrary to other experiences I have read on TA. Evening meal varied enough and very tasty, good value as we were on the B&B option, which was better for us as we like a drink but not excessive. Lunch at the pool bar good.

STAFF
Outstanding. I can not comment highly enough about the entire team from the owner, reception team, waiters, gardeners, all engaging, considerate and wanting to help.

LOCATION
Approx 10 minutes taxi ride from Rodney Bay, $15 each way in a taxi. Worth going in to see the beach, restaurant options etc. Taxis booked by reception, great service from Tim the driver.

RESTAURANTS OTHER THEN THE HOTEL
We tried The Edge (expensive but good), Spice of India (very good and reasonably priced) and Spinnakers (great beach location, good value and a bit more family orientated).

BEACH / POOL
Loads of sun beds so no towels out early a.m. I'm pleased to say. Always options in the gardens, around the pool and on the beautiful secluded beach. Pool bar a nice touch to enjoy a cocktail in the sun.

GENERAL
All public areas of the hotel are very nice. Reception has the wow factor (the view), restaurant nice, infinity pool also good. Gardens manicured each day.

EXCURSIONS
We did the helicopter transfer to and from the airport. Highly recommended. So easy and carefree as opposed to the drive along winding roads others reported.

We also did the Segway tour (a must do - see separate review) and the big game fishing. We failed to catch but had a good day.

OVERALL
We would return for sure but would encourage the owner to look at refurbishing the rooms. Do not misunderstand, they are not bad, moreover need a spruce up considering we are talking 5star (but again, they are very clean).

Enjoy

Room Tip: Swim ups to relax in the shade and dip in the pool when needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scatch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This Hotel was nothing less than outstanding. My wife and I checked in on February 9 2013 with our 2 year old daughter and the exceeding of our expectations started as soon as we got out of the car and didnt end for 8 days. Rohan set everything up for us and nothing he told us didnt materialize. Chris, one of the managers was incredible. Callissi, I know I screwed up that spelling was wonderful, I have been to the carribean several times, Mexico 9 times including Cancun, Playa, Ixtapa, Cabo etc. not only was the Hotel outstanding but the Island was like a dream. We did several tours but spent alot of time in the pool, on the amazing Beach. There were times we were alone in both, it was like having a vacation home with great service...We ate out several times for Dinner although the restaurant had good food in the Hotel, breakfast everyday at the hotel was amazing. Big Chef twice, Coal Pot, Spinnakers. Cant wait to get back next Winter.
thank you to everyone at Calabash for a GREAT experience.

Room Tip: There isnt a bad room in the Hotel. There are only 27 total
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseyjimbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Relaxed hotel with a beautiful view. We got married here and our wedding coordinator was very organised and no details were missed. It was exactly the type of day we had hoped for.

The service can occasionally be caribbean style, meaning relaxed, but then this is what we came for, a relaxing experience! The staff are very friendly.

The food was wonderful and I enjoyed every meal time, including all the pre-dinner cocktails.

Room Tip: Junior sunset suites are better value than the cottages and still have easy access to beach and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had 10 beautiful days (Feb 2013) at Calabash Cove on an all inclusive basis and it was almost perfect. The beachside cottage was ideal, private, luxurious and peaceful. The bar and general staff were great, really friendly and could not do enough for you. We never saw more than two people in the pool. The only downside was the restaurant, the food was ok, sometimes excellent and sometimes nothing special. However the service was really poor, individual staff were friendly and helpful but unsupervised. I can't understand why they don't have a Restaurant Manager to supervise staff and a proper chef to organise the kitchen. The all inclusive deal was outstanding, an excellent range of top brand drinks at the bar and in the room mini bar which was replenished daily, it even included a $200 Valentines special menu on the 14th. If they can get the kitchen and restaurant service sorted out they will be an outstanding 5 star hotel, until then it's got to be 4.5. Oh and do go the extra mile with the helicopter, it's worth every single penny for the views and the fact that you don't have an extra 2 hours in a bus on arrival.

Room Tip: The patios on the swim up rooms are covered in vegetation so you don't get direct sunlight and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
264 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Calabash Cove is an intimate (26 rooms) boutique hotel. The grounds are beautifully manicured. Rooms are thoroughly cleaned each day. The staff is friendly and eager to assist. The beach is small, but there are always ample loungers (sometimes you have the beach to yourself) and it is manicured each day. The weather was perfect with highs in the 80's, lows in the 70's, moderate humidity and an occasional (and brief) tropical shower plus a constant breeze! We stayed in a junior suite in the main building.

We did not do the all inclusive because we are not big drinkers and like to go light on lunch. Breakfast is included with all packages and it was very satisfying with a daily special.

For lunch we often had fresh local fruit and vegetables supplemented with food from a grocery store in Rodney Bay.

Room service was always tasty and served quickly.

The open air dining room gives a beautiful vista of the bay and great views of sunset. The evening meal offered several daily specials and featured some well prepared pasta dishes and we enjoyed dorado and chicken entrees.


Would we come back? Yes!

Room Tip: Never rent a car--winding, narrow roads without signs--Calabash Cove will secure a taxi on short not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.8 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
21.4 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Property: Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing