We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Relaxed hotel with a beautiful view. We got married here and our wedding coordinator was very organised and no details were missed. It was exactly the type of day we had hoped for.

The service can occasionally be caribbean style, meaning relaxed, but then this is what we came for, a relaxing experience! The staff are very friendly.

The food was wonderful and I enjoyed every meal time, including all the pre-dinner cocktails.

Room Tip: Junior sunset suites are better value than the cottages and still have easy access to beach and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    72
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
455
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had 10 beautiful days (Feb 2013) at Calabash Cove on an all inclusive basis and it was almost perfect. The beachside cottage was ideal, private, luxurious and peaceful. The bar and general staff were great, really friendly and could not do enough for you. We never saw more than two people in the pool. The only downside was the restaurant, the food was ok, sometimes excellent and sometimes nothing special. However the service was really poor, individual staff were friendly and helpful but unsupervised. I can't understand why they don't have a Restaurant Manager to supervise staff and a proper chef to organise the kitchen. The all inclusive deal was outstanding, an excellent range of top brand drinks at the bar and in the room mini bar which was replenished daily, it even included a $200 Valentines special menu on the 14th. If they can get the kitchen and restaurant service sorted out they will be an outstanding 5 star hotel, until then it's got to be 4.5. Oh and do go the extra mile with the helicopter, it's worth every single penny for the views and the fact that you don't have an extra 2 hours in a bus on arrival.

Room Tip: The patios on the swim up rooms are covered in vegetation so you don't get direct sunlight and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
264 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Calabash Cove is an intimate (26 rooms) boutique hotel. The grounds are beautifully manicured. Rooms are thoroughly cleaned each day. The staff is friendly and eager to assist. The beach is small, but there are always ample loungers (sometimes you have the beach to yourself) and it is manicured each day. The weather was perfect with highs in the 80's, lows in the 70's, moderate humidity and an occasional (and brief) tropical shower plus a constant breeze! We stayed in a junior suite in the main building.

We did not do the all inclusive because we are not big drinkers and like to go light on lunch. Breakfast is included with all packages and it was very satisfying with a daily special.

For lunch we often had fresh local fruit and vegetables supplemented with food from a grocery store in Rodney Bay.

Room service was always tasty and served quickly.

The open air dining room gives a beautiful vista of the bay and great views of sunset. The evening meal offered several daily specials and featured some well prepared pasta dishes and we enjoyed dorado and chicken entrees.


Would we come back? Yes!

Room Tip: Never rent a car--winding, narrow roads without signs--Calabash Cove will secure a taxi on short not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a wonderful resort! We stayed here 8 nights in July 2012 for our honeymoon. We had an ocean view suite on the second floor. The room was very nice and spacious. Breakfast was included in our room rate which was delicious (the pain au chocolat is a must!) Some mornings we opted to have it delivered to our room, other days we ate at the open air restaurant which had views of the pool and bay. We also enjoyed dinner several nights at the restaurant. Calabash Cove is not in walking distance to any attractions on the island but the hotel would set us up with a taxi. One thing I found very convenient was the taxis give you a cell phone for you to call them when you were ready to be picked up from the location they dropped you off at. The resort for the most part was quiet, relaxing and laid back. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The staff was great, friendly and very helpful with planning our excursions. They also have air conditioning which I found some of the other resorts on the island do not. I would definitely return to Calabash Cove.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intlsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Firstly, the staff team at Calabash Cove made us feel like we were family. They regularly thanked us for choosing them, remembered our names and hugs all around when we left. Special mention to Resort Manager Unita, Restaurant Manager Chris, Pool bartenders Jonathan and Lance, front desk's Kenisha and the lovely lady who created awesome towel art in our cottage every day (and Jonathan's bride) Jessica. We stayed in Cottage 5 which was the single dwelling (the other 8 cottages are semis), and having a private plunge pool was heaven on earth. The outdoor shower experience was unique and I never could get comfortable showering out there after dark. The bedroom had an air conditioning unit but the rest of the cottage was screened and could get warm...perhaps the only downside of the cottage. Food was terrific, tried almost everything. There isn't much length to the beach but for the small size of the resort, it works - just not for a walk!
If you are seeking a boutique style private resort, all inclusive, I highly recommend Calabash Cove!

Room Tip: Cottage 5 is the only single dwelling cottage. The rest are private but semi style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Calabash Cove certainly lived up to our hopes of it being the perfect place for a very lazy winter break in the Caribbean sunshine to recharge the batteries. It's intimate yet spacious, set in beautifully manicured gardens with a lovely and very private beach, topped off by excellent staff & service. It's definitely the place for you if you're looking for low-key R&R. Our only real criticism would be aimed at the food, or more specifically at the head chef. The food (lunch/dinner) was perfectly edible, but we fear that the lack of genuine creativity, craft & execution in the kitchen is what will prevent CC achieving a world-class reputation. We will certainly return to CC, but will seek assurances beforehand that this has been addressed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank semajb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this most relaxing, small boutique hotel. No fight for a deck chair, plenty to sit on in many places. Gorgeous views from our suite, beautiful flowers to walk through down to the beach. The kind gardener gave us a guided tour and explained the wonderful flowers trees and fruit. The staff were very friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. Excellent food and no booking a table. Free water on a fully inclusive basis and more drink than you can handle! Cocktails a speciality. Perfect for forgetting your troubles!

Room Tip: We had 108, that was lovely, handy for restaurant and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootsy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.8 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
21.4 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Property: Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing