We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere a celebrity would go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Somewhere a celebrity would go”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place was amazing. We stayed here for the 2nd half of our honeymoon, and absolutely loved it.

Room - we stayed in one of the 4 swim up suites - our door swung open to a patio and then stepped directly into the pool. Very cool. Jacuzzi in room, 4 poster bed, few chairs, and a desk. Stand up shower and 2 sinks. Liquor/wine in room. Soft drinks and water too which are replenished daily. Room not huge, but very nice. Oujr housekeeper also left flowers for us each day. Nice touch.

Food - The food here is delicious. DELICIOUS. The presentation and service are equally impressive. Dinner every night was a treat. Daily specials help keep the menu fresh. There is live music at dinner, which is a really nice touch.
Breakfast and lunch also very good. Room service easy to order if you don't feel like making it to the dining room.

Staff - the people here are great. Super attentive, want to help, very friendly. The hotel manager was on site often to greet us and ask us how we were doing. I wish they wore nametags so I knew their names. Unita, take note.

Pool/Beach - great infiniti pool. Good size, swim up to pool bar, plenty of lounge chairs in different areas for relaxing. The cottages have their own plunge pools as well. The beach is small but nice. You have to take a short walk (1-2 minutes) to get down to the beach. They have kayaks and snorkeling gear you can use free of charge.

One important thing to note - this resort is very quiet and private. Relaxation is the main concept here. There are only 20-something rooms in the resort, and you can go the entire day without seeing many people. This is a place to unwind and relax, and they make it very easy to do that. if you are looking for a party, this isn't your place.

We also took a land/sea tour by open Jeep/Catamaran. Definitely recommend this - saw many different sites on the island - fruit farm, botanical gardens, 2 waterfalls, volcano, the Pitons, Marigot Bay, went swimming/snorkeling, and more. Great way to spend the day.

Overall, great time. Slow pace, very relaxing. Would recommend it, and would return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank EKWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    75
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
492
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our fourth stay at the Calabash, each time seems to get better and better.

We always do the All inclusive, and find it to be great value for the money.

The menu always has great selections on it, this time my fav's are the rabbit, duck, and the local fish which I can not remember the name of.
Cris and the servers always make sure all your needs are taken care of, the chef will taylor the food to meet your tastes. Or even make a dish for you that is not on the menu, you just have to ask.

Jonathan and lance will take care of you down at the pool bar, Lilly will take care of you at the restraunt bar. All of them will keep you entertained.

Over the last 9 to 10 years we have been coming to St Lucia there has not been that many resorts that I would go back to. This one is much different then the rest, the size and the staff make you seem like you are at home. The staff remebers our first visit 3 years a go as well as are names.

We stayed the first week of our visit at the calabash, and the second one was to be at the Jalousie, we first booked only 2 days as the last stay with them 4 years ago had been so bad.
So glad we did this as it has not got better it has got worse, the rooms are not great, the food quality and quantity is not good, but they can charge for it. All I can say is thank you for Martha's table as a place to eat and Villa de Pittons for a place to stay as these places are much better.

We are booking our flight and the Calabash for a December 2013 return visit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripbugbc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Calabash all inclusive for a week based on reviews we looked at, and we regretted doing this. The views are quite nice and the staff are polite and nice too.

The reason it's number 1 is because its speciality lodgings which misled us. The all inclusive plan is not worth it in anyway unless you are going to be drinking every minute of the day and even then It prob still isn't worth it.

My major gripe is with the reviews of the amazing food, I'm sorry but this is not in anyway top food or even average, the food was terrible and on all inclusive we ate out a couple of times because we couldn't face another dinner there.

I don't know whether it was because low season and they didn't care as much but the food just wasn't up to scratch and we were very Disappointed.

The guys at the bar were good fun but this part of our trip let us down in a big way and left us feeling very disappointed.

Lastly, some reviews we read about calabash being better than Jalousie is the craziest thing I've ever heard, Calabash is not even remotely close to the standards and settings in Jalousie in every possible way.

The staff tried their best to make things better which we appreciated but the cost related to the standard of food and everything else did not match up unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MartinaElisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at the Calabash Cove at the beginning of September.
Firstly, I have to admit that the Rooms and the Views from this establishment are fantastic.
We stayed on an All-Inclusive basis and to be honest this was a bad decision.

The pool bar :- The drinks at this bar are not premium brand and there were numerous times when we had to help ourselves to a beer out of the fridge as the barman seemed to disapear for long periods of time. There was one occasion that the bar was not maned for over 50 mins !!! In addition to this, the snack menu at the pool bar is limited and does not change. If you ask for the special of the day you are told to go and eat in the restaurant as you can only eat off the snack menu by the pool. To conclude, at a supposed 5* Boutique resort you do not expect to have to serve yourself or witness the bar staff drinking on duty !

The Restaurant :- The food is OK but certainly nothing to write home about. Also, the menu did not change at all during our stay and the lunch / dinner menu is exactly the same apart from the addition of daily specials which also repeated themselves during a 7 day period. The breakfast menu is also limited and there are No Cereals or Fruit Juice anywhere to be seen.

Location :- No beach to walk along and you will need to hire a car or get a Taxi if you want to go anywhere.

Would I go again or recomend to a friend :- NO.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pjallen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here in October of 2010, unfortunately I couldn't include the exact date. I have been dreaming to go back to this place since we left. We spent 7 days of our honeymoon here. We even met a couple who live not even a mile from our house while we were there! The view is spectacular, its so quiet and all we did every day was eat, swim, snorkel and sleep. We stayed at one of the beach side cabins. We had thought to go out into town one day, but we were completely content just hanging around the resort. We did go out deep sea fishing and the chief at the resort cooked up our tuna and wahoo we caught that day. It was such an amazing trip and experience. Writing this review just makes me want to go back. Tomorrow. The staff were friendly, kind and happy (of course, how could you not be happy with such a beautiful place to look at every day?).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etrisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Calabash Cove for 7 day on our honeymoon in September. The staff was very professional and used our names which is always nice. Upon arrival Rohan greeted us and sat us down for a brief introduction to the property. It was really nice feeling welcomed to your new home for the next week. The food was exquisite no matter if you order from your room, pool bar or main dining room. I have never tasted dishes so fresh. We stayed in a cottage, which is the way to go, and loved our accommodations especially the sunset view off our porch to the West. I really liked the kayaks that were available anytime of the day with no need to request them for the day. The grounds were perfectly maintained and very lush with an abundance of flowers. We literally spent every day in the pool and the pool bar. We went off property one day which was nice BUT we would have rather stayed on property. The reason for that is when going off property Americans stand out like a sore thumb and people are constantly asking you buy something or for money. My recommendation is to stay on property every day you are staying with Calabash. That way you get to observe the beautiful grounds, scenery, eat great food, and drink great drinks. Another recommendation is to take the helicopter transfer upon arrival and departure. The helicopter is ride is 15 min plus 15 min luxury car transfer to hotel is much shorter than the 1 hour and 30 min bus ride. Therefore transferring takes a total of 1 hour by helicopter rather than 3 hours by bus round trip. Stay at Calabash you will enjoy every moment.

Room Tip: - Cottage 6 is great perfect distance from beach to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We just got back from Calabash Cove and it was amazing. The location and views were breathtaking....we went for our honeymoon and had a blast. We stayed in Cottage 5 ( we were upgraded, Thanks Konrad) which was private and had a unreal view. The food was amazing and the drinks made by Lance and Jonathan were fantastic. We did the all inclusive which I recommend. It was a trip of a lifetime. The staff were very friendly and made you feel at home. If you are looking for a relaxing honeymoon this is the place. We will be back next year....Thanks again Konrad and the staff at Calabash....Chris B. and Vinetta B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
822 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
883 reviews
6.8 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
3.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Property: Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, West Indies, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing