We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right place for a romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain
1 review
“The right place for a romantic getaway”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel and would say that this is one of the best we stayed in the Caribbean quality/price wise! And for those who complain about prices - Caribbean ARE expensive especially if you want more or less European/us sense of comfort and class. This hotel though for European standards being quite pricey - again repeat, for Caribbean - is a great find.

Nothing shabby or old. Practically brand new place! Rooms are very spacious (though photos do not give this impression) with all the stuff inside new, stylish and fresh. Very romantic interior! As if each of them is a honeymoon suit. We stayed in Sunset Oceanview Jr. Suite. And probably compared to seemingly fancier rooms that are giving right into the swimming pool - ours seemed to be having more light and better sea views. And the terrace- big and shadowed!!!

Everything seemed to be thought over very well to make everybody comfortable! Special words about the service- excellent!!! Everybody is so smiley and friendly and you feel that they are really happy to see you!

Another plus- the hotel having a lot of space is not crowded at all- we saw about 8-10 couples and may be one family with a kid. So very quiet and again lots of space for everybody to enjoy.

Beach- private hotel beach where you can find both shadow and sun- whatever you prefer. The sea part may be a bit different from what you would expect from the Caribbean sea- not so turquoise and transparent, but for this you have to go to Rodneybay or other particular places. But in total the beach produces nice impression.

The restaurant- fantastic and well thought over layout with the great view any time of the day. The menu has some variety and the meals are quite tasty. But I wouldn’t recommend to take the all inclusive package since I would go to try some other places as well. (there are so many nice restaurants around that it is a sin not to enjoy them)- but you will have either to have a car or to take a taxi to get out of the hotel- it is pretty isolated from the busy touristic places- by isolation I mean just 7-10 minutes drive! :)

All in all it is a great escape place for couples in search of romantic atmosphere.

For those with kids and who do not like to move around in car - I would recommend to go somewhere closer to Rodney bay- where all the touristic places are in arms' reach.

As well for those who have problems moving up and down the stairs- this could be not the right place as the hotel has quite a number of them. But I wouldn't like to make a big point of this as I personally was there during my 6.5 month of pregnancy and still enjoyed every moment there having no big issues with reaching the beach or the restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sunset Oceanview Jr. Suite. And probably compared to seemingly fancier rooms that are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liudmila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    75
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
498
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have been to Saint Lucia wice now. Everytime we go, we make it a point to stay a couple nights at Calabash Cove. The hotel is clean and beautiful. The setting is one in a million. The staff is extremely friendly! The food fantastic. Over all, this has to be the best hotel in Saint Lucia. Great Value!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yazmeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

If your looking for relaxation and a little bit of paradise , then this is the place to go . From the moment we arrived we were certainly looked after, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The bar staff put a smile on our face (especially Lance!), even down to the room attendants ( Barbara),who left us the us the most beautiful flower displays everyday. The food in the restaurant was a very high standard, something for everyone's taste,which included daily specials , again we couldn't fault it. If your looking for late night life then the calabash is not for you, but if your a couple , want romance and pampering then we suggest you give it a go !!!!
March 2012 Clarke from Northampton ,England

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We got married at Calabash Cove, I will review a bit of everything.

The hotel – you drive in and your breath is totally taken away by the stunning view through the lobby and restaurant. The staff greet you with cold refreshing towel and a rum punch. The hotel is quite small so is very intimate and the staff really cannot do enough for you. We had a swim up room which was stunning and was lovely to be able to sunbathe on the patio and swim straight out into the amazing infinity pool. My only niggle about the hotel is they were a bit lax at restocking the toiletries, we ran out of shower gel on several occasions and in the end got fed up of ringing to get it restocked. At a hotel like this you do have very high expectations so it was only a little niggle. Rooms were air conditioned so kept cool. Every Monday evening they run a cocktail hour with the manager which is a lovely touch.

All inclusive – we went all inclusive and for us it was definitely the best option. Taxi’s were cheap so you were looking at 30US dollars return for a cab to Rodney Bay if you wanted to go out and eat and with food on top it would have cost us a lot more than we paid for the all inclusive option. There was plenty of choice on the menu with at least 10 choices for each course, then on top of that there was a daily specials (which was different every day we were there and we stopped for 10) which had another 3 choices for each course. So there was enough variety, you didn’t get bored of the food at all and it was all beautiful. There was a long cocktail menu so we had to sample them all, the bar staff are fantastic and quite happy to concoct something for you – ask for a banana milkshake with a twist ;-).

WEDDING – After an hour spent with the wedding co-ordinator (Kim) we had the wedding planned – easy as that! The day was perfect, they ensure they don’t do any more than one wedding a day and we were the only one that week, you get the choice of four locations and we chose the pier. They really couldn’t do enough for us, our toast glasses and cake knives were all engraved for us to take home as a keepsake. The cake was exactly what we wanted despite it not being on the list to choose from. Flowers were stunning. Kim really did her best to make sure we got everything we wanted. The package also includes a private dinner which we took in the gazebo and it was wonderful to sit there by candlelight with my new husband enjoying dinner while the waves crashed against the cliff edge underneath us. We also had a champagne breakfast on our patio the following day. It was a very extensive package.

So in summary we basically stopped in the most amazing place not like anywhere else and all other guests on tour pickups would gasp in awe when they pulled into our hotel, definitely well worth the money!

Room Tip: Swim up room if you want direct pool access however I actually liked the ocean view room itself bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginauk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Calabash Cove on a AI staying in a Ocean View Room
We had the best time - we were given room 209 - I emailed the hotel before our arrival and asked for a vaulted ceiling room and that's what we got - the ceiling was about 16 foot high and gave the room a lovely airy feel.
THE ROOM:
Was beautiful, stocked with a fridge full of drink - gin, rum, wine, vodka, whiskey ,beer and all the mixers, and a coffee machine
There is a great hairdryer in the rooms, so no need to bring one, and bathrobes and a safe, and a huge jacuzzi bath if you need an iron and ironing board, housekeeping will deliver it to your room
Barbara kept our room lovely and dressed our bed with towel animals and flowers - she is a very nice lady and re-supplied anything that we had used - and the most beautiful views from the balcony
THE FOOD:
Fantastic - great choice everyday - and with the specials, it was always changing - if anything, the portions are a little on the large side! lovely restaurant again with breathtaking views
POOL
Stunning pool and great bar men in Jonathon and Lance - they mixed some great drinks and were a laugh around the pool
We also ate lunch a few times from the pool menu and we enjoyed them as well
STAFF
This is what makes this hotel such a great place - because of the size of it 26 rooms, the staff get to know you as well as you getting to know them, everyone knew ours names, which I really liked - and they are all really lovely genuine people
Special mention to LILY - a lovely lady and great bartender - loved a chat with Lily in the evenings around the bar
Lance and Jonathon - great banter from these two - good fun
Unita - The Manager, very likeable, makes you feel at ease - and will sort any thing out for you
To name a few more - Rohan
Randell
Chris
Had 2 Spa treatments as well which were excellent

Thank you Calabash Cove for a great holiday - "we loved it"

Room Tip: Get a Vaulted ceiling room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I honeymooned at CC for 6 nights in Oct. It was absolutely amazing! Some musts for you:
- Take the helicopter. It was a great way to start and end the trip. Yes, the roads are as bad as all of the reviews and the drivers are even worse than the reviews! It is worth the extra money to do round trip helicopter tour. We booked directly through St. Lucia Helicopters. Don't think there was much price difference so CC can set you up with everything.
- If you are planning on drinking and eating, go All Inclusive. You can not beat having any type of drink you want. When we first arrived, there were bottles (normal size, not a mini bar!) of just about every type of liquor you could want, including Champaign. Which, by the way, I would venture to say we set a CC record for more champaign bottles drank in a week! When your bottles run our, just hit 0 and it will be down. The food was very good. We had the fried goat cheese appetizer every night and even some for lunch! For all of the reviews about the food not being good, I am not sure what they are used too?? The tuna steak was unreal! The view from the restaurant is one of the most amazing views we have ever seen!
- Spend the extra for the cottage. There is nothing more romantic in the world then sitting in the private infinity pool overlooking the ocean with my new wife and a bottle of champaign! The outdoor shower (very private!) is amazing as well! The living room is separate from the bed room and has a tv with surprisingly quite a few channels. We were able to watch the World Series from the comfort of our private cottage with the doors open listening to the waves! I think there is nothing better, my wife had a different opinion! We ordered room service every morning and ate on our patio overlooking the ocean!
- Remember, you are going to a tropical rain forest! Yes, there are bugs. Yes, there are birds at all hours. Yes, it is hot! Yes, it rains every once in a while. If you don't want these things, go to Iowa, not St. Lucia! The bugs were not that bad, we took 2 cans of fogger and sprayed around the cottage every night before the sun went down. Nothing you can do about the birds, blame Mother Nature, not CC! Don't spill juices or food inside, there will be ants crawling around as soon as you spill, clean it up! Don't feed the birds and they will leave you alone. I love air conditioning just like everyone else but knew going into it that the AC could be the downfall. But to be honest, it wasn't that bad. Just crank it on low the entire time. Keep all of the doors shut in the bedroom the entire time and anytime you go out of the bedroom, shut the doors to keep the cold air in. There is not AC in the living room but with the views, we kept our doors open most of the time anyway.
Some other thoughts:
- We went scuba diving and booked through the hotel on our first day. It was good, not great.
- We took the sunset cruise. Free booze during the trip. Was quite packed but the sunset views were worth it.
- We went to the street party. Not worth it. Nothing special.
- Oct weather was great! It rained once and didn't hamper anything!
- Lance and Jonathan really are as great as all of the reviews say! We spent just about everyday with them at the swim up bar and they were a great time!
- We met about 4 other couples on their honeymoons as well which was great! We had people to share our experience with and a group to go to the street party together. Not sure we would have ventured out there alone!
- When you first get there (if all inclusive) call and get mixers for your bar.
- Call and get ice as well.
- During normal eating times, room service does take a bit longer.

We really could not have asked for anything more during out honeymoon! We will definitely be back to CC sometime and we can't wait!

Feel free to ask me any questions, I asked others before our trip and it helped a lot.

Room Tip: Go with the Cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Beautiful 5* boutique hotel set in Bonaire Bay, Marisule with stunning views over to Castries. Just the one restaurant for all your meals, but what a lovely one it is! Menu is pretty varied and there are daily specials to chose from, we holidayed for 2 weeks and didn't get bored with the choices. Whatever time of day you eat in the restaurant you cant fail to be mesmerised by the views, at night with the lights its spectacular. Service is good and the meals are cooked freshly and served hot. The little bar at the end of the restaurant is ideal for chilling before and after the meal.

Very intimate, cosy atmosphere and this suited us perfectly, at night there is a different local musician to entertain you throughout dinner, so no noisy bands or discos. All in all its a very elegant place to stay.

Konrad, the owner, has got it completely right with this hotel; his staff mix is spot on, they are all so helpful and pleasant, with a great Lucian sense of humour. Unita the Hotel Manager is delightful and loves to check on you to make sure you're okay, which is a lovely touch. Front desk staff are great - Kim, Rohan and the other two ladies (sorry forgotten names!), as are the restaurant staff - take the time to interact with them, you'll have so much fun putting the world to rights. Jonathan and Lance at the Pool Bar are hysterical, I could've stayed there all day to enjoy their company.

We stayed in the Oceanview Junior Suite in the Manor House block, with wonderful views and it was so tranquil. Room facilities are excellent and room service is include in the all inclusive package. Really wanted to stay in a swim up room but none available, so we'll be getting in early for next year's booking. Our room was kept so well by Barbara our Housekeeper who kept us very well stocked up with anything needed.

Take a visit to the spa, highly recommend it, Marsha and her team are so professional. The couples massage was fab, especially when your hands are linked at the end - such a lovely touch.

Room Tip: 2nd floor in the Manor House block if you're going for an Ocean View Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
14.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
832 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
2.8 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
910 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Property: Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing