We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals ever!”

Big Chef Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Chef Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A landmark in Saint Lucian dining for more than twenty years, Big Chef Steakhouse selects the best quality USA Certified Angus steak cuts and grills them to the satisfaction of local and international guests who depart happy and return often. Fish and seafood are handled with equal flair and flavour, and the menu is packed with Big Chef's unique take on Caribbean and international favourites. Ambient amber lighting, comfortable club seating and a chic piano lounge makes Big Chef perfect for that special celebration, complete with a signature cocktail and martini menu to tempt every tippler's palette. Casual elegance is the dress code, and the atmosphere is relaxed, friendly and island stylish.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Service was excellent and the food was well presented and very tasteful. I do have one exception...leave the cheese off the escargot. But, still for cheese lovers, it was divine. Garlic mashed potatoes and Dorado fish were seasoned to perfection and cooked the same. I also enjoyed the house Pinot Grigio--a winner. If you're heading to St. Lucia, this is a must! Prices are comparable to any steak house in the U.S.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Wow, best ever is our absolute favourite! Thanks for the wonderful review, and we're so happy you enjoyed (almost ;) everything about your Big Chef experience. We'll pass on the recipe advice to Chef! The entire team will be motivated by your post, so thanks for taking time out to recommend us, and hope to see you again soon. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    296
    93
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The choice of menu great, the burgers home made and delicious. They serve meals with many different sauces and chutneys. I thoroughly recommend the Nachos to share which have a lovely meat in sauce, greater cheese and sour cream on top!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigglesJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for your great recommendation and we hope to see you again at Big Chef in future! Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best Beef ever !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have eaten at this delectable restaurant several times over the years under many different visits ...couples, business, friends, and recently visited and had drinks at Tapas on the Bay...just simply divine food...ambience and not to mention service.... a must do on St. Lucia at Rodney Bay in Gros Islet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stlucianforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for this excellent review - we love to hear from our resident guests, and the more often you come back to visit our restaurants, the better we know we are doing something right! Did you know we now have Lil' Chef All Day Breakfasts at Tapas? Hope we'll see you again very soon. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place to eat on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Don't miss this for an amazing meal. The atmosphere was nice, food and service even better. My husband, another couple and myself have heard amazing things about this place and decided to leave our all inclusive resort for the evening for dinner. From appetizers, spinach salad and the steaks, the food was outstanding. The owner, Anne even spent time at our table with us. Make sure you request the server named, Six, he made the evening that much better. Six helped with suggestions, very attentive and very personable. The food was cooked to every temp requested and melted in our mouths. My husband who critiques every restaurant he goes to, had nothing but praises. If you are looking for a great dinner besides resort food, this is a do not miss!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We appreciate your excellent review of Big Chef, and are glad you ventured out of your resort to find us! At Big Chef and our other restaurant, Tapas on the Bay, we are passionate about offering unmatched food, service and atmosphere, so it is very pleasing for the team when we receive a great post like yours. Six says hi, and hope to see you again soon! Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Everything we eat was delicious and the wait staff was very attentive. Wonderfully air-conditioned as well! Beautifully decorated inside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJENorthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
What a perfect description of the Big Chef experience - if we say so ourselves! Thanks so much for posting your comments. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Chef Steakhouse also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Big Chef Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing