We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THUMBS UP TO THE "NEW" BIG CHEF” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Chef Steakhouse

Big Chef Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Chef Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A landmark in Saint Lucian dining for more than twenty years, Big Chef Steakhouse selects the best quality USA Certified Angus steak cuts and grills them to the satisfaction of local and international guests who depart happy and return often. Fish and seafood are handled with equal flair and flavour, and the menu is packed with Big Chef's unique take on Caribbean and international favourites. Ambient amber lighting, comfortable club seating and a chic piano lounge makes Big Chef perfect for that special celebration, complete with a signature cocktail and martini menu to tempt every tippler's palette. Casual elegance is the dress code, and the atmosphere is relaxed, friendly and island stylish.
Inverness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THUMBS UP TO THE "NEW" BIG CHEF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a difference a few years makes. Visited Big Chef 5 years ago and swore never to return. Saw the reviews this time and thought we NEED to go back - wow, what superb food - the calamari starter was to die for, the BB ribs mmm, the steak - fabulous...but beware, starve yourself before you go because you don't leave hungry. Brilliant restaurant and highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TopCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review Big Chef, and what glowing praise! We are so happy you came back and had a wonderful dining experience - things certainly have changed since five years ago when we had just taken over the restaurant. After this experience, we hope to welcome you back often! Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    293
    92
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We happened to pop in here during a rain storm, and were pleasantly surprised with our luck. The prices are indeed a bit steep, but the service is really great (like really great), and food was wonderful. I had ordered a steak which ended up being quite tough, and after i mentioned it briefly when they came and checked at our table, without a question they grabbed my plate and made me a new one that was fantastic. Desserts were also delicious (get the bread pudding!). Would not hesitate to recommend! Just be prepared to pay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Big Chef is a great place to shelter from St Lucian rainstorms, so we're delighted you found us! Thank you for the positive review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks also for giving us the opportunity to rectify the issue with your steak - we will always replace a guests meal if we are made aware of the problem, and in this case are happy to have served a 'fantastic' steak on the second go. Hope we'll meet you again at Big Chef. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exceptional Steak but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner for our anniversary at Big Chef and the reviews were correct. The steak we had there was absolutely "to die for"!!!!! Also, I had the escargot appetizer and it was one of the best I have EVER had in the world. The restaurant was very nice and the service was 1st class. I would most definitely eat here again, just be prepared that the prices are along the lines with a TOP steak house in the states. Plan to pay around $200 for 2 people with drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJohnson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks for sharing this wonderful review and we're so happy you had a memorable anniversary celebration at Big Chef. It's always great to be compared to international steakhouses, and we work very hard to maintain standards above and beyond the usual. Hope we will welcome you again to Big Chef in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very very pricey but steak was excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Service was very slow we didnt have any starters and we waited for about 35 mins at least. Steaks came and they were fab. Pity about the service (although they were very busy to be fair.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aughrimhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We're happy that you enjoyed your steaks at Big Chef, and apologise for the lapse in service during your visit. The team works very hard to maintain consistent, top quality service, but in this case it seems we fell short. However, we hope you'll come back and give Big Chef another try in future, and please make sure to say hello. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Ate here during a family trip to St. Lucia. The food was very good. I ordered the Surf and Turf with the short ribs and the mahi mahi. The portions were huge compared to what I've ordered at other restaurants in St. Lucia. The mahi mahi was excellent and the short ribs were flavourful and fall of the bone. Overall, I had a great night at Big Chef!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NGore88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to Big Chef, and appreciate the time taken to post on Tripadvisor. The Big Chef twist on Surf & Turf is one of our favourite dishes, and we are so glad you enjoyed the short ribs & mahi mahi. Thanks for your positive review and hope we'll welcome you again in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Chef Steakhouse also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Big Chef Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing