We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment!”

Big Chef Steakhouse
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A landmark in Saint Lucian dining for more than twenty years, Big Chef Steakhouse selects the best quality USA Certified Angus steak cuts and grills them to the satisfaction of local and international guests who depart happy and return often. Fish and seafood are handled with equal flair and flavour, and the menu is packed with Big Chef's unique take on Caribbean and international favourites. Ambient amber lighting, comfortable club seating and a chic piano lounge makes Big Chef perfect for that special celebration, complete with a signature cocktail and martini menu to tempt every tippler's palette. Casual elegance is the dress code, and the atmosphere is relaxed, friendly and island stylish.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were seeking a Caribbean experience and got a “wanna be” typical North American steak house as found in a small town of Montana. We wanted to dine al fresco and found the fully enclosed overly cold air conditioning restaurant had the ambiance not to our liking.
We were a large group, and 5 of us are wheat intolerant, unordered were presented before the meal with 3 plates of bruschetta. Each of us thought that someone had ordered it, only to learn after we left the restaurant that none of us had ordered them, but there was on the final bill at $35.00 ($13.00 US each) plate. We have had that trick before in Rome where they bring you a huge platter of Antipasto that you think is free only to find a huge charge on your bill and when you dispute it they say: Well you ate it didn’t you? This is known as a “sleight of hand”, so be forewarned!
They did not have several items on the menu and the service was slow and lady owner and the servers were pushing the wine and trying to get us to order more all the while we waited a long time for our food.
A not so pleasant evening at big prices, just not what we were looking for. can get that kind of food in the US at a fraction of the price and with very tender beef.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank suedegrandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review Big Chef and we are understandably unhappy to hear of your disappointment. It is our company policy to welcome larger groups with complimentary Bruschetta, but it seems that an error was made in adding yours to the bill - we will use this as a learning opportunity to re-train our staff in the practice. If guests have special dietary needs we are able to cater for them, so this should have been communicated if there were were gluten-intolerant diners in your group. Also, had you queried the bill we would have been more than happy to remove the charge for the Bruschetta and rectify the error at the time, and if you email the details to bigchefsteakhouse@gmail.com we will refund the cost. As the owner, I try to welcome every table personally, so it is unfortunate that your group did not take the opportunity to complain to me in person at the time. In regard to our location, we do not advertise Big Chef as a waterside restaurant, however are always delighted to recommend our other restaurant, Tapas on the Bay, to vacationing diners who want an outdoor experience. Our apologies for this misunderstanding and we welcome the opportunity to make it right. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

885 - 889 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived at 630pm on a monday night. Hadn't reserved and think its only as arrived so early that got a seat. Was packed when we left! Would reserve.
Great cocktails menu and cocktails.
Steak was the best I can remember eating. Great steak options on menu byt also other options. Service was polite and good. The only thing lets the place for is the atmosphere. could be anywhere in the world really, and its not cheap!
Neither would put me off going again or recommending a friend.
Great food!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kcav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Big Chef and we are grateful for the recommendation. 'Our reputation is at Steak' so 'best ever' is our goal! The recent introduction of VAT in St Lucia has raised the cost of doing business, but we hope the quality of our food, service and ambiance offers great value and happy memories. Glad to know you'll visit us again if you're back in St Lucia - looking forward to it. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

5 countries, dozens of cities, probably 40 or more different Bruschetta's and THIS WAS THE BEST WE'VE eaten. Bar none. We have spent years sampling this appetizer just for fun as a "couple thing" and this blew us away. The steak was amazing also, the service was great this is one of the best dinners we've had in many years. GO THERE.

Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Wow - what a great review and we're delighted you loved Big Chef! It's always flattering to be compared to international restaurants, and we work hard to be among the best. Thank you for taking the time to share, and we hope you'll be back in St Lucia again soon. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Six of us dined at this lovely restaurant after reading good reviews about it, and all agreed that it was well recommended. We knew it was going to be expensive (St. Lucia is a small island with high importation taxes), and as long as it lived up to its reputation for good service, nice ambience and delicious food then we were fine with the pricing.
It turns out this was an amazing dining experience, not only for the wonderful food, but for the personal touch of the chef/owner coming to each table to make sure we were enjoying our evening and dinner. When we decided to take leftovers back to our hotel, the chef insisted we take a baguette of freshly baked bread as well to enjoy with it! To me, that's excellent service.
If I had to find one small complaint, it was that our dishes never quite made it to the table all together, but the wait could not have been more than a minute at least. So that is really splitting hairs! I highly recommend Big Chef.

Thank JudymD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Guest recommendations are always appreciated at Big Chef, and we are so happy that your dining experience exceeded your expectations. It's always a pleasure to meet new friends, and go the extra mile whenever possible. Our aim is that every guest becomes a fan, so thank you for sharing your praise on Tripadvisor. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We arrived early(6pm) so fortunately didn't have to book and although we didn't have a starter, were given some bruschetta. Steak was superb, service excellent and the atmosphere warm and welcoming. A glass of house wine very palatable and bill nearly £80 (after tip), but on balance the experience was worth it. You can't put a price on memories.

Thank R0bdeBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We appreciate your kind review, and are happy to know Big Chef is part of your holiday memories! Thanks for sharing your experience and hope to welcome you back sometime. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Chef Steakhouse also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Big Chef Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing