We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”

Big Chef Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 85 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A landmark in Saint Lucian dining for more than twenty years, Big Chef Steakhouse selects the best quality USA Certified Angus steak cuts and grills them to the satisfaction of local and international guests who depart happy and return often. Fish and seafood are handled with equal flair and flavour, and the menu is packed with Big Chef's unique take on Caribbean and international favourites. Ambient amber lighting, comfortable club seating and a chic piano lounge makes Big Chef perfect for that special celebration, complete with a signature cocktail and martini menu to tempt every tippler's palette. Casual elegance is the dress code, and the atmosphere is relaxed, friendly and island stylish.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is located in the Rodney bay area, but you wouldn't know it because everything is indoors. The atmosphere of the restaurant didn't have a beach feel. The food was terrific!! Our entire family enjoyed our room. The portions were large and well worth the money. My favorite meal in St. Lucia, well worth the visit if you are in town.

Thank UnknownPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Big Chef - we're glad that the great food more than compensated for the lack of beach, and hope the cool AC made a nice change. Our newest restaurant is Tapas on the Bay, complete with deck overlooking the water at Rodney Bay, so we hope you'll give it a try for outdoor dining. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

914 - 918 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

A warm welcome and a packed restaurant already told us that this was a good choice but nothing prepared us for the juiciest steaks we ever have eaten (and we've eaten a few..)
Beautiful cocktails, a fabulous wine list and a huge menu with both steaks and seafood in abundance..
Can't wait to return!!!

Thank BosieDuvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, and we're happy to hear you came back to Big Chef for more. 'Our Reputation is at Steak' as we like to say, and it's always good to know that we beat the competition with seasoned steak-lovers. Hope we'll welcome you again in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The steaks were good but not great. I have given an overall rating of 3 stars since I no not think the meal was good value for money. Our group of three had a main course of steak with the included accompaniment. We did not order any side dishes, starters or drinks (other than water) and we had two desserts. Our bill was £106. What was outstanding though was the Apple Strudel which was a generous portion. Delicious pastry stuffed with tasty spiced fruit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review Big Chef. We're sorry you felt your meal was overpriced, but happy to hear that the Apple Strudel was a success as it is a personal favourite. We have value priced Chef's Specials on the menu and other entrees which cost less than our Certified Angus steaks but are no less delicious, so would recommend those if you plan to visit us again. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Big chef may have slightly above average service but does have the best steak I have had in a long time and every time I have been has been cooked perfectly. That said the cost I find, as it includes a 10% service charge is way too steep and while I said the steak is great not worth the price you need to pay, and again this is mainly due to the service as everything else is spot on

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ryanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for the great review of our steak which is specially imported for Big Chef. We find that 10% Service is customary in the area, and we ensure it is part of staff remuneration. Our prices reflect the high quality of all our ingredients, as well as the experienced team it takes to satisfy Big Chef fans every night. We hope you will visit again in future and enjoy another steak! Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

There are limited fish course (as you'd expect from a Steak House - but not everyone in the family eats Steak).

Thank CanaryWharfSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

We're sorry you did not find your visit to Big Chef an enjoyable one. Our menu has a wide variety of other dishes on offer, including fish, seafood, chicken, pork, salads and vegetarian pastas, and my husband or I would have been glad to guide your choices. We hope you will visit again and allow us to help improve your dining experience. Rosie & Marc Joinville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Chef Steakhouse also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Rodney Bay, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Big Chef Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing