We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gros Islet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Skies Apartments
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed July 19, 2010

All of the reviews agree, and for good reason. Simon and Francine are wonderful and accommodating hosts. The one bedroom apartment is roomy and comfortable. While it is not located right on the beach, it is within walking distance. You can also rent bicycles from Mark at All Round Adventures, as we did. It is a great way to get around, and puts many of the local sight within easy reach of Blue Skies.

We enjoyed and appreciated the welcome grocery package, which allowed us to relax after arriving, rather than having to go straight to the grocery store. We took advantage of Simon's orientation tour and found it very informative. Simon also showed us a quiet place to snorkel, which was fantastic.

It was hot during our stay so they got us a fan to use in the living room, which was greatly appreciated. We cooked breakfast each day in the well equipped kitchen, before venturing out and enjoying the area. We also took advantage of the grill for a few lunches and dinners, though there were too many great restaurant options nearby to eat in too often.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay with easy access to the touristy areas, while still remaining relatively authentic, this is your place!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

If you're looking for a perfect place to stay, Blue Skies Apartments is it. Simon and Francine, the hosts, were approachable, delightful, and beyond helpful. I strongly suggest going on the tour offered the day after arriving. My friend and I didn’t and learned the ins and outs of the rugged, mostly undeveloped island first hand, which wasn’t pretty at times. My friend and I are vacation adventurers, but some of the out-of-the-way beaches included treacherous driving conditions to get to (sharp turns on narrow roads next to steep cliffs!). We stayed in the one bedroom suite, which is gorgeous. We cooked most of our meals in the well-equipped, new kitchen. The air conditioning in the bedroom was essential as a relief from the blistering June heat. Since Blue Skies is about a 10-minutes’ drive from the closest beach, I recommend renting an SUV. All-in-all, perfect accommodations with warm, wonderful hosts. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxfire25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I can't recommend Blue Skies highly enough. We went to St Lucia for a friend's wedding and were looking for somewhere that had a quiet location, but was near to everything that was going on and we weren't disappointed. Simon met us at the airport with cold drinks and then drove us up through the island to the apartment. We stayed in the two bed apartment and it was fantastic. We arrived late on a Saturday afternoon and were greeted with a welcome pack of food to keep us going til we got to the supermarket, and were given a lift down to the a nearby restaurant for dinner. Francine and Simon are brilliant hosts - don't miss the orientation trip that they offer and their tips on where to go as we would have missed out on some of the treasures of St Lucia, which our friends staying in hotels never got to see. Would definitely recommend Jambe du Bois at Pigeon Island, Marigot Bay and Cas en Bas.

We also rented Simon and Francine's second car for ten days and for us it meant that we saw the true St Lucia which is outstandingly beautiful. They drive on the left (so great for me being from the UK) and despite the apparent lack of road rules, driving was stress free, as the drivers are very polite and friendly and the roads in pretty good condition (although plenty of hair pin bends to keep you awake). On the couple of days that we didn't have the car though, Francine and Simon were more than happy to give us lifts down to the beach or arrange taxis.

The apartment was cleaned on a regular basis throughout our stay, Francine and Simon were on hand for any queries and helped us organise trips, and the apartment, gardens and pool at the house were in beautiful condition. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydays2682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
411 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

After reading all the reviews we booked Blue Skies Apartment for my daugher and husband for part of our stay in St Lucia. The one bedroom accomodations were perfect for us. It had everything we needed in the apartment. Simon picked us up from the airport and provided drinks (which was greatly apprecited) and talked about the areas we were driving by. He pointed out where to turn to get to the ziplining place in Demmery (which we would never have found) and it also helped us get familar with the island before we rented a SUV later that week. The breakfast items they left for us was great for our first morning and the tour of the areas was a great touch. They would drop you off or pick you up which was really a nice touch. They exchanged some money for us(just in case we needed it for the bus). The little things go a long way making your stay very memorable. It beats staying at a resort any day as the areas was very quiet at night (which you usually don't get at a resort). Thank you Francine and Simon for making our stay so memorable. We can hardly wait to return someday....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Blue Skies was the icing on the cake of a fabulous island and great trip. I booked this location because the photos looked amazing (they don't disappoint) the hosts sounded fabulous (they are better than that!) and the price/location was great. If you want to avoid the hubub of all inclusive resorts but still want to stay in a happening location, than this is the place for you!! Simon and Francine are truly wonderful people and hosts. They know just how much attention to give to make guests feel so welcome. We loved coming back to Blue Skies at the end of the day to sit by the pool at sunset and recap our highlights to them!! I highly recommend their generous offer of giving a complementary tour of the island on the first day - it's a great way to get your bearings and help you plan your trip. The accommodations for us were perfect - nice sized rooms, great kitchen, AC in the bedroom, comfy bed, BBQ, private deck, and a pool.
St. Lucia is such a beautifully wonderful unspoiled island that is brimming with local charm, music, food and great beaches. This place will always be special to me - my fiancee and I got engaged there and we loved the island so much we're considering getting married there as well! I can't say enough about this island and about the wonderful people and accommodations at Blue Skies.... you really can't go wrong!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumare80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I was in saint Lucia, covering T-20 cricket world cup and stayed at this wonderful and warm property of Simon and Francie...rooms were airy and spacious, bathrooms had everything-from cleaniness to all the modern facilities...kitchen was so well equipped that we could easily cook our Indian food (we Indians need little more then others to cook our food) and Internet was fast and we needed that as we were there for work. on top of it a very nice swimming pool to relax in the evenings...and full marks to simon and his wife francie for so much support and help..one calla and they were there with their similing faces to take us around and help us with all what we needed...simon thanks for this wonderful time and I whenever I visit saint Lucia..this is where I am gonna stay...

cheers
Nishant
India

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroranishant21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2010

That was one nugget of much useful info from Francine and Simon! They were spot on. We were welcomed at the airport with a cold beer or soft drink. Also spot on! The apartment. is large, clean and airy. Stocked fridge already so you don't have to worry about getting the basics. Lovely pool and jacuzzi, and Simon and Francine are the most helpful and welcoming hosts. There if you need them and respectful of your privacy if you don't. The apartment is close to transport links, and shops, and the area is fab, especially the Friday night jump up and Jamb Du Bois on Pigeon Island. Yum Yum! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaygrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
3.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Haven Hotel
Palm Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Gros Islet
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
853 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Skies Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Skies Apartments

Property: Blue Skies Apartments
Address: P.O. Box GI 2172 | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet BS1, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Skies Apartments has One, Two & Three Bed Apartments with 28ft Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Luxuriously furnished with fully equipped kitchens, Comfortable living areas with Cable TV and High Speed Wireless Internet. Air-Conditioned bedrooms and Private Patios. Landscaped gardens, parking, laundry facilities, large gas grill and free use of local mobile/cell phone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Skies Apartments Hotel Gros Islet
Blue Skies Apartments St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing