We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gros Islet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Skies Apartments
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We have been coming to St Lucia for the last six years and have always stayed in hotels. This year we changed and decided to stay at Blue Skies, we could not have asked for a better stay. Francine and Simon where fantastic and even the many questions from our five year old son did not phase them.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahlawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 83 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2009

As other reviewers have stated, Francine and Simon are simply wonderful hosts. They were always willing to help out in any way that they could whether to offer advice, make arrangements for horseback riding and a restaurant or point out the best beaches. The items provided in the fridge upon arrival were much appreciated and used for breakfast the following morning. They took us on a guided tour of Gros Islet and the nearby area, pointing out the amenities and introducing us to one or two of the locals. It was a great way to gain familiarity with the region and to get to know our hosts better. Simon also arranged to have a rental "jeep" available for us upon our arrival at Hewannora Airport at the opposite end of the island at a better rate than the major rental companies.

The apartment is very modern, clean, spacious, comfortable, quiet and relaxing. We ate breakfast and supper on the covered patio and very much appreciated the large, clean swimming pool and hot tub. The air conditioning was effective and quiet - much better than in many hotels. In addition to the full modern kitchen, we had a barbeque on the patio for our use. With such amazingly wonderful weather, we didn't use the TV very much, but Francine and Simon did lend us a movie one night. They even had a good selection of DVDs available.

St. Lucia is a beautiful island and we used our jeep extensively to explore. It took me a couple of days to get comfortable with driving on the left side of the road, especially with the very winding roads with many hairpin turns. Despite the potholes in some areas, the driving was a lot of fun with amazing vistas opening up constantly, especially along the route following the west coast. The drivers were also amazingly courteous - far more so than anywhere that I've noticed in North America. We really enjoyed our tropical rainforest treck, relaxing on the beaches, the tours of tropical gardens and plantations and snorkelling among the colourful fish and reefs.

All in all, it was a great holiday and Blue Skies Apartments and especially Francine and Simon played a signicant role in the enjoyment of our time in St. Lucia. One week simply wasn't enough - I guess that means that we'll have to go back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laika_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We have arrived from cold Canada to get some break from long cold winter. In spite of our plane being late, we have arrived at 9 pm , Simon, the owner of the Blue Skies has arranged a free taxi ride for us. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprise to find juice, eggs, bread in our refrigerator, exactly what we needed after the long flight. The next day Simon and Francine took us for an hour tour around the island, showed us the places to see. Every day when we needed a ride to the beach and back they would always drive us and stop at the grocery store, when we needed. They are very nice and kind people. Accommodations were clean and spacious. I would highly recommend this place to stay while visiting Saint Lucia

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank violetta77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fortins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lingcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrLix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gros Islet hotels
2.7 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
0.8 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,189 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
943 reviews
2.3 mi away
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
#1 of 18 in Gros Islet
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Skies Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Skies Apartments

Address: P.O. Box GI 2172 | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet BS1, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range: $99 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Skies Apartments has One, Two & Three Bed Apartments with 28ft Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Luxuriously furnished with fully equipped kitchens, Comfortable living areas with Cable TV and High Speed Wireless Internet. Air-Conditioned bedrooms and Private Patios. Landscaped gardens, parking, laundry facilities, large gas grill and free use of local mobile/cell phone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Skies Apartments Hotel Gros Islet
Blue Skies Apartments St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing