We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family meal for 7” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Razmataz

Razmataz
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Family meal for 7”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Indian food is a great way for a family to share time together and Razmataz is a great place to do it.
We were warmly welcomed by the owner Sue and seated quickly in a lovely spot overlooking the walkway, so we could people watch as we ate and talked.
We asked the chef Dipendra to pick enough dishes to satisfy the group that we could share. In some places this would have been an excuse to bring loads but he gauged it just right and the food was absolutely delicious. We emptied all the dishes but had all had plenty with just enough room for a dessert.
We finished off with Irish coffee each which was really good. Heather out waitress looked after us with the rest of the team throughout the meal and kept checking we were OK.
I would definitely recommend a visit to this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drugman1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swright63, Owner at Razmataz, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Your comments are very important to us! Thank You for taking time from your holiday to write the review .......it means a lot to me and all my staff! Especially Dependra! We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    154
    52
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We love Raz, the food , service, the price and everything that goes with it is amazing. Had dinner there last night and thought the selection plates were really great value for money, i had the vegi one which i got a portion of Mushrooms in a beautiful light sauce, Chick peas to die for, a potato dish which was amazing, the lentils { of which i could eat a huge bowl with a naan bread } there the best lentils i have ever had, rice and a poori all served with poppadoms and the pickle tray all for $48.00 and Patrick had the chicken { or you can have lamb } one with everything above and more, fantasic for $55.00, this selection plate is just of perfect size if you have just finished work and you dont want to cook. Cuthbert makes a mean Cosmo and we just think Sue is amazing, cant forget to say hi to Heather, see you next week guys. XX

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brizie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swright63, Owner at Razmataz, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for the great review!! We value YOU!!! We need YOU!! Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
693 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Good food at one of the more reasonably-priced Rodney Bay restaurants!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited Razmataz for a Saturday night dinner.

The staff treat you like family. Heather, one of the Managers is simply delightful! She gets to know every guest who walks in the door and makes you feel very welcomed and relaxed.
The restaurant is not pretentious. It’s quite down-to-earth with simple yet tasteful décor and an informality not expected by the outer appearance.

The service was really good. The food was served within 25 minutes of ordering which was unexpected given the number of patrons.

The food was tasty, though I am hard-pressed to consider it truly authentic Indian fare. It was missing the truly traditional flavours and appeared to be hinted with Caribbean herbs & spices.

Abit of advice when ordering your spice level: I’d suggest you ask for your curry on the ‘hot’ side. We asked for ‘medium’ and it was really more ‘mild’.

From reading other reviews, some people think it’s quite expensive but it’s actually on the cheaper side for dining in Rodney Bay. And it is probably half the price (or less) of the other Indian restaurant (Spice of India) around the corner.

Eating out in St. Lucian restaurants is generally expensive to the visitor but as price goes, Razmataz is definitely one of the more affordable options in the Rodney Bay area.

Overall, we had a lovely dining experience at Razmataz and look forward to our next visit upping the spice level to ‘’hot’!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swright63, Owner at Razmataz, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank You for Your comments....we value all you say! We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st lucia
2 reviews
“Pefect atomosphere, perfect service and perfect food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What more can i say, these are the reasons why we always go back to Razmataz everytime. The food is so fantasic, the tikka chicken, naan bread, rice is full of flavour and bursting with freshness. The prices are very reasonable , we have just returned from a trip to england and ate in an Indian Restaurant over there and beleive me the food, service and cost at Raz was far better than what we got in England. Sue and her staff { even when short staffed } work so hard to make sure the service is amazing and we have never been dissapointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilliy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swright63, Owner at Razmataz, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Your comments are very important to us! Thank You for taking time to write the review, and we look forward to seeing you again at Razmataz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“So Special!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

On my last visit to Razmataz we enjoyed the usual high standard Tandoori food prepared as usual by Dependra. We were thought it really good value and the service friendly and good. Really looking forward to our next visit soon!!!! Chris s

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swright63, Owner at Razmataz, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank You for your review! We value your comments! We too look forward to seeing YOU back in Razmataz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Razmataz also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Razmataz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing