We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired”

Memories of Hong Kong
Ranked #28 of 84 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Been to this restaurant on many occasions and it has remained consistent of food quality on each visit. The food is always served hot, with generous sized portions that leaves sufficient for doggie bags or allows you to share with fellow diners. The actual ambiance of restaurant has not changed much from its initial opening with same decor, furniture, dinner ware etc. Prices are in keeping with the majority of restaurants in the area and they are willing to allow you to substitute a dish from the set menu for another similar dish.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LucianDining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    83
    36
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
392 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Predictably Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

As we don’t have a Chinese restaurant locally at home and very much like oriental food, we always look forward to eating at ‘Memories of Hong Kong’ during our stays in St. Lucia. Whenever we have visited the restaurant it always seems to be busy and is well patronised by St. Lucians and tourists alike. The staff are welcoming, cheerful and attentive and are always eager to answer questions about the menu. We find that the service is always very good.

This visit we chose an inclusive menu. We started with a soup. I didn’t want the hot and sour soup, but was given a large choice of alternatives. This was followed by crispy duck and pancakes and then as a main course, three different wok cooked dishes and rice.

The cost of this was 195 ECs (about £47) for the two of us which is cheaper than some Chinese restaurants we have eaten at in Europe. We didn’t think this to be expensive considering the amount of food that we were served and the quality of it. There was far more food than we could eat. An inclusive menu will naturally, work out cheaper than dishes ordered ‘a la carte’. The main courses seemed to freshly cooked. For example, the prawns were not chewy and rubbery because they had been reheated. The sauces were not glutinous or too thick.

We very much enjoyed our evening at the restaurant and will certainly be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyAnn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice enough location for dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was nice enough but the food was very average. Huge portions. We definitely over ordered. They were happy enough to give us a doggy bag and it was more than enough for a light meal for the next two days.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not such value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Enjoyed the food but found it very expensive in comparrison to the other restaurants in the area. Wouldnt be my first choice to go back too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SophiaGrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The restaurant was ok. Nothing special. Typical chinese food with average taste. A bit pricey for what you get. The food was out on our table within minutes so no waiting impatiently! The Jade Emerald restaurant in town was actually much cheaper and the food tasted better.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memories of Hong Kong also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Memories of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing